We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous staff, gorgeous setting, amazing experience! A++++++!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls Safari Club

Save Saved
You added Victoria Falls Safari Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Victoria Falls Safari Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stand 471 Squire Cummings Road | Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Night Package - Special
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff, gorgeous setting, amazing experience! A++++++!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This has to be one of the best places I have ever stayed in! The staff made our holiday truly exceptional and the lodge and setting are absolutely gorgeous. Every staff member was welcoming, polite and efficient, and made sure that we had an excellent time. The rooms and bathrooms were luxurious with private balconies overlooking the game park. The club lounge was delightful for breakfast or other meals. There was also easy access to the main lodge for dining, swimming or drinks. I loved being able to view the National Park and listen to the sounds of the bush from my balcony. We saw warthog, impala, bushbuck, vultures and more. Some interesting coffee table reading material is in the rooms, particularly "Presidential Elephants". The lodge is charmingly situated and blends right into the African landscape. It is only a short trip to town and the Falls. The shuttle service was excellent, with the driver noting the stops carefully and explaining where to meet for the return.It was easy to get a taxi to meet friends for dinner at a hotel nearby. Meals and ambience at the lodge were fabulous! An A++++++ experience. I would LOVE to return!!! Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear "Painter"
I wish I knew which country you write from as yours is the biggest RAVE review we've ever had for our prestige Club. We are very proud that, in just five months since opening, we have seen 20 reviews posted on Trip Advisor of which 17 have given us the full five-star rank!

Your high praise is deeply appreciated by our entire team who beam with pride when they learn of such accolades. It makes us aim even higher; strive harder; because we realise the immense benefits that can flow from superior service to complement our stunning lodge and wildlife location.

Claire Wright
Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
44
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Each guest is well taken care of and the accommodations are wonderful. Food provided was very tasty and the staff was very friendly. We saw quite a bit of wildlife just outside our hotel, these included an elephant, water buffalo, vultures and warthogs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello Michigan
From your big and famous city it must have been quite eerie to be at our Club where it is just so peaceful with hardly any noise...unless there is an elephant outside your room munching something in the dead of night! Thank you for staying with us and for your short but glowing review that means so much to our whole team.

You stayed in the middle of the rainy season when the wildlife tends to scatter far and wide because of the plentiful supply of water everywhere, but I can see by your TA name that you love safaris so may I strongly recommend that one day you consider returning in September as the perfect month for weather and wildlife. I recommend you twin The Club with Ngoma, our five start luxury lodge in Chobe Botswana, just a few hours drive away, This would really be the most awesome safari experience you could imagine!

With good wishes from our Club team

Claire Wright
Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My friend and I stayed here in late November 2012, and we had an amazing time. The rooms are clean with luxury accomodations. We had a king size bed with comfortable bedding. My favorite part was just sitting in the lounge that overlooked the bush, drinking coffee and talking with the staff. The staff are very warm and accomodating. They take pride in their job and are lovely to talk to. If you are going to Victoria Falls, I would strongly recommend this lodge. After our stay, we spent our last two nights in Botswana (about an hour away from Victoria Falls) because we didn't realize they provided day trips to Chobe for a safari. In hindsight, I would have stayed the extra two nights in the Victoria Falls Safari Club and done day trips to Chobe because the accomodations were so much nicer at the Club!

We also loved the lion walk excursion!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Marie
What a wonderful start to the new year you have provided for our team at The Club! Thank you for your full-house of five-star ratings that means that in our five months since opening we have attracted 17 very warm and positive reviews on Trip Advisor - not one bad one...yet! We had better stay on our toes!

Yes, our entire team is bursting with pride and tries to please every guest so that they leave with happy memories. For some this is their first job in a hotel and they spent some months before opening in excited training. The team work and spirit were fantastic at that time (we all even went on a heli flip together over the falls) and it has remained that way.

With best wishes
Claire Wright
Manager - Victoria Falls Safari Club
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our visit to Victoria Falls Safari Club in Victoria Falls last week was a superb experience. Having travelled to the falls many times it is refreshing to find a small intimate lodge environment less than 4km from the Victoria Falls. Claire (the Manager) and her well trained team ensured that we were treated as valued friends, anticipating every little detail one might require. The luxury rooms were well appointed with glorious bathrooms that were an absolute highlight. A truly quality establishment with spectacular views over the Zambezi National park - I can't wait to return
PS. As I fell asleep on my last evening I could hear the soft rumbling of an elephant herd grazing just below m balcony - no one could ask for more!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello Katie
Our entire team is just so delighted with your wonderful review that does us proud...thank you! It's great that you have discovered our lodge as we set out to offer the most discerning travellers the best service and experience.

Following 18 years of experience from the main and adjacent lodge our directors learnt that open space and unfettered views are great enticements, therefore great thought was put in to the design of the bathrooms.

You certainly know you're in authentic Africa when the sounds of elephants lull you to sleep...and not the noise of traffic that I'm sure many of our guests face in big cities.

With good wishes for the festive season and the new year

Claire Wright
Club Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this property in mid-November. While the entire property is good, the Safari Club rooms and staff are second to none! These new rooms (opened 2012 I believe) all have king size beds (can be altered into 2 twins if needed) with views right out to Zimbabwe National Park and a watering hole. The bathroom area is second to none - rainfall shower, soaking tub and ample counter space. All rooms are fully air conditioned with private balconies and mosquito netting should you make the mistake of leaving any doors open at night (even for a little bit). Each day there is a breakfast buffet along with the option of almost any custom dishes. They do tea time each afternoon and a manager's reception each evening. Great times to interact with the staff and the other guests staying at the Safari Club area of the Victoria Falls Lodge. We had a wonderful stay! Make sure to meet and get to know Hugh. He took great care of us from answering questions to ensuring we got to all our scheduled activities on time.

Room Tip: Ensuring you stay at the Safari Club portion of this facility is well worth it. 6-person staff to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Corby & Jen for such glowing praise and awarding us a full-house of 5 Stars! We only opened in August 2012 and so far just 15 Trip Advisor reviews but our dedicated little team is just so delighted that every single one has been singing our praises!

This is a great tribute to the passion and commitment from our staff to be the very best they can and to go that extra mile with an enthusiastic smile. This team spirit and determination was evident from the earliest days of their training, for new roles some had never fulfilled before,

Our guests are delighted. And so are we! Thank you and have a wonderful festive season and new year..

Claire Wright
Safari Club Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Vic Falls Safari Club. The rooms were very clean and decorated nicely, the views were wonderful, and the staff there is top notch! The service was wonderful and everybody there made sure all of our requests and needs were taken care of. We found our stay there so relaxing and loved that it was a bit out of town, which made it very quiet and allowed us to take in the real Africa! We highly recommend the Safari Club!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hello to you in Michigan

Our entire Club team is bristling with pride over your great review - thank you for your lavish praise. I am particularly happy that you highlighted the unique benefit of touching the real Africa by being a little out of town (10 minutes by hourly complimentary shuttle). You will note that a few reviewers actually don't grasp this real positive, though if they want to be walking distance to the shops, hotels, craft market and all the bustle then, of course, they are right. B ut in our view people come to be in harmony with nature and our location is supreme in this regard.

This review is up on our staff notice board and makes everyone really happy!

Our best wishes for the festive season and for 2013
Claire Wright
Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the recently opened Safari Club rooms... very comfortable with excellent views of the waterhole. If you've spent the previous week travelling around various game lodges, the views might be a little underwhelming (not teeming with game as at Chobe or elsehwere). The service was pretty good, although again, probably not up to the perfect standards of the game lodges. The hotel runs an hourly shuttle bus into Vic Falls, via the usual tourist tat markets, which is good and efficient. All in all, pretty good, but if you want the atmosphere, go for the recently refurbished Vic Falls Hotel, which is perched directly above the Falls themselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello Singapore

Thanks for your kind review of our new Victoria Falls Safari Club and for choosing to stay with us. I should like to offer my own views on some of your issues in the hope of clearing what may be some misconceptions and to give “our take”.

Your headline says “.....but a bit out of town.” A valid fact, of course, but still less than 10 minutes by coach. However, you may well have preferred to be walking distance to shops, other hotels, curio sellers, street vendors, etc. From our standpoint we believe that our location is a very unique benefit to guests at Victoria Falls.

Consider, just 10 minutes to the town centre; the only hotel facing west and, perched on a hilltop, affording dramatic views of the wilderness landscape, waterhole and sunsets; the only hotel overlooking wildlife; its location provides unmatched peacefulness and a piece of authentic Africa – very few man-made objects in site as you gaze 60km into the distance towards Botswana.

Please also consider that Victoria Falls is not sold and promoted as a “big five” or major safari destination, like Chobe and Hwange. Rather the awesome Natural Wonder of the World Victoria Falls is at the centrepiece, surrounded by a vast array of soft and adrenaline activities that make it the unchallenged Adventure Capital of Africa. The animals are an added bonus, especially if you are on a canoe or boat on the legendary Zambezi; walking in the park or if you overlook our Victoria Falls Safari Lodge waterhole.

Therefore we truly believe that our vista is astonishing and many people write about that fact, as may be readily seen by TripAdvisor reviews. We don’t pretend to be like Chobe, though of the many hotels and lodges in and near Chobe precious few have outstanding (or any) views of wildlife from the property. Ngoma Safari Lodge is best; Chobe Game Lodge and Chilwero (very distant) maybe, but others........? You have to get into a 4 x 4 vehicle or boat to go and see the wildlife which, in September and October, is truly amazing on the floodplains – best in the world!

We agree, too, that the grand old colonial lady The Victoria Falls Hotel has great charm and elegance, but we’d like to debate with you your observation that “it is directly above the falls.” From the terrace, flagpole and Jungle Junction restaurant the view is, we agree, special....but you look down the gorge at the spray and the bridge with actually very little, or no, view of the actual Falls. There is absolutely nothing perched directly above the falls!

I have really enjoyed this little “repartee” with you and hope you will appreciate some of our comments. We do, however, really value and thank you for your four star review of Victoria Falls Safari Club.

Claire Wright
Club Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Club

Address: Stand 471 Squire Cummings Road | Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the magnificent grounds of Victoria Falls Safari Lodge resort comes a brand new, luxury Club. It is a place where African history and the enchanting power of nature blend with exotic modern comforts and brings and atmosphere of exclusive African distinctiveness. This is luxurious accommodation with uninterrupted views of unspoilt bushveld and spectacular African sunsets. The Safari Club is all about privacy and has it's own private club lounge for it's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.