We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful luxury in Victoria Falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls Safari Club

Best prices from these 5 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Victoria Falls Safari Club to your Saves list
Victoria Falls Safari Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stand 471 Squire Cummings Road | Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Luxury 3 Night Getaway
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful luxury in Victoria Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our visit to Victoria Falls Safari Club in Victoria Falls last week was a superb experience. Having travelled to the falls many times it is refreshing to find a small intimate lodge environment less than 4km from the Victoria Falls. Claire (the Manager) and her well trained team ensured that we were treated as valued friends, anticipating every little detail one might require. The luxury rooms were well appointed with glorious bathrooms that were an absolute highlight. A truly quality establishment with spectacular views over the Zambezi National park - I can't wait to return
PS. As I fell asleep on my last evening I could hear the soft rumbling of an elephant herd grazing just below m balcony - no one could ask for more!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Hello Katie
Our entire team is just so delighted with your wonderful review that does us proud...thank you! It's great that you have discovered our lodge as we set out to offer the most discerning travellers the best service and experience.

Following 18 years of experience from the main and adjacent lodge our directors learnt that open space and unfettered views are great enticements, therefore great thought was put in to the design of the bathrooms.

You certainly know you're in authentic Africa when the sounds of elephants lull you to sleep...and not the noise of traffic that I'm sure many of our guests face in big cities.

With good wishes for the festive season and the new year

Claire Wright
Club Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
64
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this property in mid-November. While the entire property is good, the Safari Club rooms and staff are second to none! These new rooms (opened 2012 I believe) all have king size beds (can be altered into 2 twins if needed) with views right out to Zimbabwe National Park and a watering hole. The bathroom area is second to none - rainfall shower, soaking tub and ample counter space. All rooms are fully air conditioned with private balconies and mosquito netting should you make the mistake of leaving any doors open at night (even for a little bit). Each day there is a breakfast buffet along with the option of almost any custom dishes. They do tea time each afternoon and a manager's reception each evening. Great times to interact with the staff and the other guests staying at the Safari Club area of the Victoria Falls Lodge. We had a wonderful stay! Make sure to meet and get to know Hugh. He took great care of us from answering questions to ensuring we got to all our scheduled activities on time.

Room Tip: Ensuring you stay at the Safari Club portion of this facility is well worth it. 6-person staff to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you Corby & Jen for such glowing praise and awarding us a full-house of 5 Stars! We only opened in August 2012 and so far just 15 Trip Advisor reviews but our dedicated little team is just so delighted that every single one has been singing our praises!

This is a great tribute to the passion and commitment from our staff to be the very best they can and to go that extra mile with an enthusiastic smile. This team spirit and determination was evident from the earliest days of their training, for new roles some had never fulfilled before,

Our guests are delighted. And so are we! Thank you and have a wonderful festive season and new year..

Claire Wright
Safari Club Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful stay at the Vic Falls Safari Club. The rooms were very clean and decorated nicely, the views were wonderful, and the staff there is top notch! The service was wonderful and everybody there made sure all of our requests and needs were taken care of. We found our stay there so relaxing and loved that it was a bit out of town, which made it very quiet and allowed us to take in the real Africa! We highly recommend the Safari Club!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hello to you in Michigan

Our entire Club team is bristling with pride over your great review - thank you for your lavish praise. I am particularly happy that you highlighted the unique benefit of touching the real Africa by being a little out of town (10 minutes by hourly complimentary shuttle). You will note that a few reviewers actually don't grasp this real positive, though if they want to be walking distance to the shops, hotels, craft market and all the bustle then, of course, they are right. B ut in our view people come to be in harmony with nature and our location is supreme in this regard.

This review is up on our staff notice board and makes everyone really happy!

Our best wishes for the festive season and for 2013
Claire Wright
Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the recently opened Safari Club rooms... very comfortable with excellent views of the waterhole. If you've spent the previous week travelling around various game lodges, the views might be a little underwhelming (not teeming with game as at Chobe or elsehwere). The service was pretty good, although again, probably not up to the perfect standards of the game lodges. The hotel runs an hourly shuttle bus into Vic Falls, via the usual tourist tat markets, which is good and efficient. All in all, pretty good, but if you want the atmosphere, go for the recently refurbished Vic Falls Hotel, which is perched directly above the Falls themselves.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello Singapore

Thanks for your kind review of our new Victoria Falls Safari Club and for choosing to stay with us. I should like to offer my own views on some of your issues in the hope of clearing what may be some misconceptions and to give “our take”.

Your headline says “.....but a bit out of town.” A valid fact, of course, but still less than 10 minutes by coach. However, you may well have preferred to be walking distance to shops, other hotels, curio sellers, street vendors, etc. From our standpoint we believe that our location is a very unique benefit to guests at Victoria Falls.

Consider, just 10 minutes to the town centre; the only hotel facing west and, perched on a hilltop, affording dramatic views of the wilderness landscape, waterhole and sunsets; the only hotel overlooking wildlife; its location provides unmatched peacefulness and a piece of authentic Africa – very few man-made objects in site as you gaze 60km into the distance towards Botswana.

Please also consider that Victoria Falls is not sold and promoted as a “big five” or major safari destination, like Chobe and Hwange. Rather the awesome Natural Wonder of the World Victoria Falls is at the centrepiece, surrounded by a vast array of soft and adrenaline activities that make it the unchallenged Adventure Capital of Africa. The animals are an added bonus, especially if you are on a canoe or boat on the legendary Zambezi; walking in the park or if you overlook our Victoria Falls Safari Lodge waterhole.

Therefore we truly believe that our vista is astonishing and many people write about that fact, as may be readily seen by TripAdvisor reviews. We don’t pretend to be like Chobe, though of the many hotels and lodges in and near Chobe precious few have outstanding (or any) views of wildlife from the property. Ngoma Safari Lodge is best; Chobe Game Lodge and Chilwero (very distant) maybe, but others........? You have to get into a 4 x 4 vehicle or boat to go and see the wildlife which, in September and October, is truly amazing on the floodplains – best in the world!

We agree, too, that the grand old colonial lady The Victoria Falls Hotel has great charm and elegance, but we’d like to debate with you your observation that “it is directly above the falls.” From the terrace, flagpole and Jungle Junction restaurant the view is, we agree, special....but you look down the gorge at the spray and the bridge with actually very little, or no, view of the actual Falls. There is absolutely nothing perched directly above the falls!

I have really enjoyed this little “repartee” with you and hope you will appreciate some of our comments. We do, however, really value and thank you for your four star review of Victoria Falls Safari Club.

Claire Wright
Club Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I'm lucky to travel the world with my job which unfortunately makes my expectations very high!
The safari club exceeded my expectations and more.. yes it maybe a 10 min drive to the Victoria falls but having the views and animals all around the entire complex makes it worth it. Free shuttle to the falls and back, happy hours with delicious canapes free mini bar and little gifts left every night not to mention the toiletries. The food is outstanding specially breakfast and don't worry about early tours as the staff are always one step ahead and arranged a packed b/f to go just for you!
If you are traveling alone like I did there is no need to worry. The happy hour felt like a family gathering, everyone sharing stories and talking about all the different tours we had all done that day. I really wanted to stay in the lodge as I was worried about the club being full of couple's and only having 20 rooms or so but wow it was better then the lodge by far. I even had views of a mini watering hole from my balcony as an extra to the main water hole.
I just want to thank all the staff from safari club once again for making my dream holiday come true!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear tjnicklin

We can guess who you are and where you come from! We know you live in a very sophisticated and majestic international destination, where diamond-quality and style dominate, and we know that you travel the world to so many places almost the year-round.

Therefore, your voice is a powerful and qualified one and your comment that our new Safari Club “exceeded expectations” is greatly appreciated and a wonderful testimonial. We’re truly delighted that you found the exclusive club to exude a happy family atmosphere when all Club guests were on the terrace together. It’s what makes Victoria Falls such a special resort destination, where our Club now exudes its own special charm.

Claire Wright
Club Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our stay in Victoria Falls did not start well as the acommodation that we had originally booked 12 months ago at the Victoria Falls Hotel now was a "problem". From what we understand, the hotel was overbooked and we now had accommodation there for the second night only of our 2 night stay. To their credit, they did book us into alternative accommodation (Safari Club) instead and we were given the option of staying there one or two nights. The staff of the Safari Club were great and very welcoming, doing their best to cheer us up as we were tired from travel and disappointed with having our original booking altered in such circumstances. The lodge is lovely, modern and peaceful. We were impressed and decided straight away to stay for both nights. Thank you to Hugh and Lloyd, you are both great guys. There is a shuttle bus to take guests into town and to the falls, so the location out of town is not a problem. If we ever return to Victoria Falls we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hello Tasmania!

What a great shock and disappointment to find, after a year, your hotel was over-booked! However, let me hasten to add that this dreadful experience happens to on occasion to all popular hotels...including us! We hold total respect for TVFH as a distinguished hotel with a top-quality management and ethic. Zimbabwe tourism has been in the doldrums for several years now so the upturn we have all been experiencing for a while is really excellent, though sadly was not to your advantage.

However (just as they would do) we were extremely happy to welcome you to experience our new Club wing and highly value your recommendations and comments – “lovely, modern, peaceful.” Hugh and Lloyd often come in for high praise as do so many of our committed and welcoming staff.

Claire Wright
Club Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Recently my dad and I had the pleasure of staying at the newly completed Vic Falls Safari lodge Club portion of the travel institutions Lodge. The service rendered by the staff was impeccable, the room was a delight and the location was ideal for easily taking advantage of the pleasures to be found in Vic. Falls. We ended up hugging the manager Claire at the end for her delightful treatment of us while we stayed at the Club. Go and love it like we did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Stephanie

Your review of our Club makes us proud and makes us shine as an exemplary option at Victoria Falls Zimbabwe. I may have got the happy hugs at the end of your experience but our whole team here has been trained to put customer service first. The smiles and friendliness is ingrained in our local people and such a great asset only needs to be refined in the quality of service. I’m delighted you found this to be “impeccable.”

Claire Wright
Club Manager
claire@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Club

Address: Stand 471 Squire Cummings Road | Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Falls Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within the magnificent grounds of Victoria Falls Safari Lodge resort comes a brand new, luxury Club. It is a place where African history and the enchanting power of nature blend with exotic modern comforts and brings and atmosphere of exclusive African distinctiveness. This is luxurious accommodation with uninterrupted views of unspoilt bushveld and spectacular African sunsets. The Safari Club is all about privacy and has it's own private club lounge for it's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls Safari Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.