We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Vic falls.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A'Zambezi River Lodge

Save Saved
You added A'Zambezi River Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
A'Zambezi River Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for Vic falls.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. We liked the location at the Zambezi, hearing the hippos enjoying themselves only a few meters away from our breakfast-table. The rooms were very comfortable! The hotel is something like a 10min drive from Vic falls town, but there's a shuttles service a few times a day that will take you to the entrance of the National parc as well. The hotel dinner was alright- we had a buffet with entertainment.. But we wouldn't eat here several nights. The hotel can assist you in making arrangements for transfers and tours of the sight around the area. (But both we and a few other guests had some troubles with the tour-provider not having registered our bookings, so I'd double-check that everything is in order..) We wouldn't stay anywhere else if we are to return to the area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear IENF

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking your time to review our Hotel. Our staff are always there to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable.

We greatly appreciate and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,

A'Zambezi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    113
    17
    7
    2
See reviews for
58
116
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tete
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at A'Zambezi,everyone was courteous and helpful. Enjoyed the entertainment at dinner and meals. Was disappointed by the shuttle though. It mixed guests and workers. On several occassions the shuttle was full and we the guests were standing while A'Zambezi stuff were sitted. They only rose for whites. We are a black family. Was a little offended. All in all it was wonderful

Room Tip: Family rooms are great for people with young kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Eleanor

Thank you for taking your time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your comments and management are working on the issues highlighted. We also look to staying with you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been nicely renovated, with very well appointed small rooms. The location on the river is great to relax but a little complex to get to Victoria Falls. There is a shuttle (which is actually the staff bus) which runs a few times a day with very courteous and helpful drivers.

The restaurant is very nice, gorgeous view on the mighty Zambezi river, HOWEVER, the food is really not good.

For a 4-star hotel, one would expect more..especially considering its high volume of guests.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Travel_Vita

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel and we greatly appreciate the positive comments and we are looking forward to staying with you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

2 Years ago (early Jan 2011) we spent 4 nights at A'Zambezi River Lodge in one of the newly renovated rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This year, early Jan 2013, we needed accommodation for 1 night only. The gardens, reception, pool area, dining area has all been modernized and up graded beautifully. The rooms were as lovely as we re-called, the food of a high standard, friendly & efficient staff. The Zambezi River flows majestically and the views are relaxing and peaceful.

Room Tip: Front rooms on the upper level give stunning views of the Zambezi River and overlook the swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Vivienne L

On behalf of the Management and Staff of Azambezi River Lodge we would like to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate the positive comments and are looking forward to staying with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Overall, A'Zambezi was a great choice for our second trip to Vic Falls.

Rooms
The rooms are small, but are very nice and comfortable. The bed has nice sheets, the mattress is comfortable, and they have a really nice mosquito net on tracks that works very well. The bathrooms are updated and have a nice tub with a padded head rest. There are signs of wear, but not enough to detract from the overall feeling. The balcony has chairs where you can enjoy morning coffee while watching the monkeys jump from tree to tree. We did not spend much time in the room since there is so much to do around the town, but it was nice to have a modern and comfortable place to recharge.

Restaurant
The restaurant was clean and decent. The breakfast buffet (included) was OK...but nothing special. They had an egg station, some hot options (sausage, beans, tomatoes, bacon, etc...but it rotated. You could not get the same items on different days). We really enjoyed the bar appetizers for lunch and snacks. They were unique and very tasty. We only had dinner there one night and it was nice (we did not do the buffet).

Location
The resort is located about 5 minutes outside of town. We had our own car, but I think they offer a scheduled shuttle service, and taxis are available. Most tours will also pick you up where ever you are staying. A'Zambezi is located right on the river. While this seems kind of glamorous, the shore is covered with all the dinner cruise boats, which disrupt part of the view, and the shore is not accessible. If you are going on a dinner/booze cruise...it is nice and convenient.

Overall
Overall we had a nice time at A'Zambezi. The rooms were computable, the food was good, the service was very good, and we left there wanting to go back. I thought I would be disappointed after a great stay at Illala Lodge on my last trip, but I was wrong. A'Zambezi was better. It is a great option if you are planning a trip to Vic Falls. They also have free Wi-Fi and an activities coordinator get you out and enjoying what Vic Falls has to offer.

Room Tip: I would get a top floor room...better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear JKlancke

Thank you for your most valuable feedback and taking time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Time has flown so quickly since getting back from our holiday. We stayed at A'Zambezi River lodge in October and loved every minute we were there. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening shows at dinner were a nice bonus. We really enjoyed the food, especially the steak and fresh bream. The room was very modern with excellent wifi and A/C. It is a bit of a drive out of the town but we did not find this an issue, the location of the hotel is worth it. It was awesome having breakfast by the river. I would definitely recommend the A'Zambezi to friends and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The river facing rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Nikki H

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We value each and every comment we get from our guests. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is wonderful hotel! The staff are friendly and always ready to help. The rooms are very clean. It has very fast and efficient wifi so makes it easy to stay in touch. The breakfast is great and dinner is generally ok, I even tried buffallo and crocodile for the first time! The hotel is just by the river and there are cruise boats that leave from there. The thing that impressed me the most was the customer service..the staff are top notch!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Rumbi D

On behalf of the Management and Staff of Azambezi River Lodge i would like to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to note that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to staying with you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A'Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Zambezi River Lodge

Also Known As:
a`Zambezi River Hotel
a`Zambezi River Hotel Victoria Falls
Mercure Victoria Falls
Address: 308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Victoria Falls
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A'Zambezi River Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Zambezi River Lodge, is a recently refurbished 4 star Hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, 5km upstream from the magnificent Victoria Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Otel so you can book your A'Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A'Zambezi River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.