We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A'Zambezi River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added A'Zambezi River Lodge to your Saves list
A'Zambezi River Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
tete
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at A'Zambezi,everyone was courteous and helpful. Enjoyed the entertainment at dinner and meals. Was disappointed by the shuttle though. It mixed guests and workers. On several occassions the shuttle was full and we the guests were standing while A'Zambezi stuff were sitted. They only rose for whites. We are a black family. Was a little offended. All in all it was wonderful

Room Tip: Family rooms are great for people with young kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Eleanor

Thank you for taking your time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your comments and management are working on the issues highlighted. We also look to staying with you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    189
    42
    14
    4
See reviews for
84
203
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has been nicely renovated, with very well appointed small rooms. The location on the river is great to relax but a little complex to get to Victoria Falls. There is a shuttle (which is actually the staff bus) which runs a few times a day with very courteous and helpful drivers.

The restaurant is very nice, gorgeous view on the mighty Zambezi river, HOWEVER, the food is really not good.

For a 4-star hotel, one would expect more..especially considering its high volume of guests.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Travel_Vita

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel and we greatly appreciate the positive comments and we are looking forward to staying with you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

2 Years ago (early Jan 2011) we spent 4 nights at A'Zambezi River Lodge in one of the newly renovated rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This year, early Jan 2013, we needed accommodation for 1 night only. The gardens, reception, pool area, dining area has all been modernized and up graded beautifully. The rooms were as lovely as we re-called, the food of a high standard, friendly & efficient staff. The Zambezi River flows majestically and the views are relaxing and peaceful.

Room Tip: Front rooms on the upper level give stunning views of the Zambezi River and overlook the swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Vivienne L

On behalf of the Management and Staff of Azambezi River Lodge we would like to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate the positive comments and are looking forward to staying with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Overall, A'Zambezi was a great choice for our second trip to Vic Falls.

Rooms
The rooms are small, but are very nice and comfortable. The bed has nice sheets, the mattress is comfortable, and they have a really nice mosquito net on tracks that works very well. The bathrooms are updated and have a nice tub with a padded head rest. There are signs of wear, but not enough to detract from the overall feeling. The balcony has chairs where you can enjoy morning coffee while watching the monkeys jump from tree to tree. We did not spend much time in the room since there is so much to do around the town, but it was nice to have a modern and comfortable place to recharge.

Restaurant
The restaurant was clean and decent. The breakfast buffet (included) was OK...but nothing special. They had an egg station, some hot options (sausage, beans, tomatoes, bacon, etc...but it rotated. You could not get the same items on different days). We really enjoyed the bar appetizers for lunch and snacks. They were unique and very tasty. We only had dinner there one night and it was nice (we did not do the buffet).

Location
The resort is located about 5 minutes outside of town. We had our own car, but I think they offer a scheduled shuttle service, and taxis are available. Most tours will also pick you up where ever you are staying. A'Zambezi is located right on the river. While this seems kind of glamorous, the shore is covered with all the dinner cruise boats, which disrupt part of the view, and the shore is not accessible. If you are going on a dinner/booze cruise...it is nice and convenient.

Overall
Overall we had a nice time at A'Zambezi. The rooms were computable, the food was good, the service was very good, and we left there wanting to go back. I thought I would be disappointed after a great stay at Illala Lodge on my last trip, but I was wrong. A'Zambezi was better. It is a great option if you are planning a trip to Vic Falls. They also have free Wi-Fi and an activities coordinator get you out and enjoying what Vic Falls has to offer.

Room Tip: I would get a top floor room...better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear JKlancke

Thank you for your most valuable feedback and taking time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Time has flown so quickly since getting back from our holiday. We stayed at A'Zambezi River lodge in October and loved every minute we were there. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening shows at dinner were a nice bonus. We really enjoyed the food, especially the steak and fresh bream. The room was very modern with excellent wifi and A/C. It is a bit of a drive out of the town but we did not find this an issue, the location of the hotel is worth it. It was awesome having breakfast by the river. I would definitely recommend the A'Zambezi to friends and would stay here again.

Room Tip: The river facing rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Nikki H

We would like to thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We value each and every comment we get from our guests. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is wonderful hotel! The staff are friendly and always ready to help. The rooms are very clean. It has very fast and efficient wifi so makes it easy to stay in touch. The breakfast is great and dinner is generally ok, I even tried buffallo and crocodile for the first time! The hotel is just by the river and there are cruise boats that leave from there. The thing that impressed me the most was the customer service..the staff are top notch!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Rumbi D

On behalf of the Management and Staff of Azambezi River Lodge i would like to thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to note that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to staying with you again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at the resort for a total of 3 nites! The facilities were recently renovated! So rooms and bathrooms are very new and modern, breakfast is extensive, and one has a great selection . The complimentary shuttle into town and the falls , works well,

The resort is situated on the river, good views of the monkeys and warthogs, every morning.

I would highly recomend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Yusuf11223

Thank you for taking your time to review Azambezi River Lodge, we greatly appreciate and we look forward to staying with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to A'Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Zambezi River Lodge

Address: 308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A'Zambezi River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Zambezi River Lodge, is a recently refurbished 4 star Hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, 5km upstream from the magnificent Victoria Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your A'Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a`Zambezi River Hotel Victoria Falls
Mercure Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A'Zambezi River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.