We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A'Zambezi River Lodge

Save Saved
You added A'Zambezi River Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A'Zambezi River Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Adorable Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was an adorable place to be! The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. The food is a great taste of Africa and the little cute shows that are put on at dinner make it feel very African. The service is very sweet and polite and the river nearby sets for a great peaceful tone! Highly recommend this!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view, second floor is better than first as you get your own balcony where as the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Dalia K

On behalf of the Management and Staff at A'Zambezi River Lodge we would like to thank you for highly recommending our hotel, we greatly appreciate and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    123
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
63
131
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in October. As others have written it is in a great location on the bank of the Zambezi with very well fitted out rooms and some of the friendliest staff we have had the pleasure of meeting.
On our first night we enjoyed visits in the Lodge grounds by warthogs, monkees, an elephant, 2 hippos and 3 buffalo. The lodge is a few kilometres out of town but there is a regular free shuttle to the main attractions. The breakfasts and dinners are magnificent with dinner being the highlight as you are entertained by local singers and dancers in traditional dress.
Our only regret is that we didn't spend more nights but it's definitely on the list for next time.

A few tips if you're flying into and out of Livingstone and coming to Victoria Falls across the bridge:
1) At the Livingstone Airport Immigration ask for a 2-way visa (US$80 per person) that covers you for entering Zambia twice ie, once on initial entry and again when you are leaving.
2) Prearrange across-border transfers. We used and can highly recommend Wild Horizons who from memory charged approx US$30 per person to collect us from Livingstone airport, take us through the border crossings on to A'Zambesi and then return on our departure.
3) As the Zimbabwe currency is virtually worthless due to hyper-inflation and many credit card facilities in the businesses are intermittent due to poor internet connectivity, make sure you take plenty of US$ (there are ATMs in the town but I wouldn't rely solely on them just in case).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear SCS62

Wow you were so lucky to come across our Family Hippo Sebastian and it is also good to note that you had a chance to see an elephant and buffalo at the Hotel. We hope that next time when you come you will be able to see more of the game animals.

We would also like to thank you for taking time to review our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is placed in a very quiet environment next to the Zambesi. The restaurant has some good choices of food and is very relaxing to go and have a stay in the restaurant for breakfast or lunch next to the river.
The rooms are clean and confortable.the hotel has his own boats for a sunset cruise.
Don't put your hand close to the mouth of the warthogs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Beppeamato

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time to review our hotel. We greatly appreciate the positive feedback.

Thank you for the warthog tip I am sure a lot of guests will take note.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel is the only hotel located on the Zambezi at Victoria Falls but requires a shuttle or taxi to get to the Falls themselves which I found a drawback. The hotel rooms are on the small side but very clean and well designed. The lack of hangers needs sorting as does the failure to replace toiletries like with like. Food is excellent and authentic but would get boring for a long stay ( 4 nights or more).I recommend the warthog! Staff are very helpful but I think inexperience shows. Trips are easy to arrange via the hotel. The pool area lacks seating and despite requests more chairs were not provided which is disappointing as the pool area was popular. Some river cruises go from the hotel so large groups of tourists walking by the pool was disconcerting and intrusive. They also came to the evening 'shows'. The repeat of the show every evening we were there was tedious and unavoidable. The a la carte restaurant - Sebastian - has still not opened despite being shown on the website. Nice hotel but not overwhelmed. Ensure you get a room with river view.

Room Tip: The rooms are set out in two curved rows. Ensure room in front row with river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Packyderm

On behalf of the A'Zambezi Team we would like to thank you for taking time to review our Hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay here with us. We have taken note of all the issues that you raised and we are working on improving the standards and systems to make sure our guests will have a pleasant and unforgettable experience at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and we promise, you will note a great improvement on issues that you highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After a long and frustrating ride through customs to get here, we were welcomed to clean, updated and comfortable accommodations in this recently renovated hotel. I found the staff friendly and accommodating to all of our groups needs. Breakfast was buffet style with made to order eggs, but the rest of the lunch and dinner menu items were very limited. I would recommend seeking out dinner at other locales. All said, it was a very relaxing time and a great place to stay and view the Falls.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Zek7717

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we the A'Zambezi Team greatly appreciate.

We will definitely look into improving our dinner menu.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My first visit to this property was way back in the 1980's. Returning here after an absence of five years brought to mind the adage that to keep 'em coming back you have to make yourself attractive. As sure as this is true so is their current overall presentation level ! The Rainbow Tourism Group ( RTG ) has travelled a tough road over the last five to seven years within a country beset with mostly externally created image challenges. Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe is a worldwide iconic destination and listening to my co dinner revealers on our first night here ( we stayed three nights ) they are still coming from Europe, South Korea, China, South America and a few from ' down south ' ( South Africa ).

Positioned on the banks of the upper Zambezi ( upper 'cause it is before the actual Victoria Falls where the river becomes the Lower Zambezi ) adds to the environmental attractiveness of this property. My room was immaculate ! So it should be, it was brand new.... This property comprises of two bands of rooms in a curve design, One close to the river with direct access and the second curve of rooms directly behind. My room ( 210 ) was a fair walk to their dinning room/bar facility but through such beautiful gardens it really was a pleasure to absorb such delights.

I have to make special note of their culinary prowess. Wow, the Chefs really do try hard to ensure their offerings at buffet dinners and lunches is of the freshest and not over cooked. Their range of foods at all three meals is not just excellent but imaginative, wholesome and divergent. Service was nothing short of entertaining ! I ask for a beer and presto it arrives less than a minute later. Real attractive combination to wow their guests.

A note should be made of their GM Titch SHUMBA. A stalwart of our travel & tourism industry, Tich epitomises a man on a mission. Mission is: To get it right FIRST TIME..... Known Titch for over ten years now & would classify him & his prowess as the ' hit ' man. You have a property with challenges ? Get Tich to sort it out and bring an air of exclusivity, hospitality and manners all with a big HEART. His attention to detail, willingness to share his passion with all and very obvious respect from his colleagues makes for me the choosing of this property for your Falls, Zimbabwe visit a natural choice.

Room Tip: This property is a seven minute drive from Victoria Falls Town centre. Use it and share in the sceni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Smoothafrica

On behalf of the Management and Staff at A'Zambezi we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the positive feedback. We greatly appreciate for the time you took to review our hotel and I am sure you will enjoy your next visit here at the A'Zambezi River Lodge.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A'Zambezi has beautiful grounds right on the river. The rooms were clean, and nicely decorated. The only down side was we felt the restaurant (for dinner) was a bit overpriced. They offered a buffet at night, but we found room service to be a better option for us - both in price and in quality.

The hotel is a short trip out of town, but the shuttle was convenient, and was always on time for us. Overall, we were happy with our stay. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the view was beautiful, and the rooms were great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azambeziriverlodge, Guest Relations Manager at A'Zambezi River Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear bo907rn

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and we greatly appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. Thank you also for commending our rooms.

Our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards,

A'Zambezi Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A'Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Zambezi River Lodge

Address: 308 Parkway Drive | P O Box 150, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — A'Zambezi River Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A'Zambezi River Lodge, is a recently refurbished 4 star Hotel situated on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, 5km upstream from the magnificent Victoria Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your A'Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a`Zambezi River Hotel Victoria Falls
Mercure Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A'Zambezi River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.