We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Victoria Falls Hotel to your Saves list
The Victoria Falls Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls PO Box 10, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Charleston, SC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location and property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We boarded our scheduled inter-Africa flight to Livingstone, Zambia which was about 2 hours. On arrival you will be met and transferred across the border to Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe and your hotel. The border transfers are just not fun. I knew this going in and warned everyone. We had to go into Zambia…out of Zambia…and into Zimbabwe. It was hot and very long lines but went through without much trouble until we entered Zimbabwe. They said we had to leave our passport. When we refused they said it would be at least a 2 hour wait. They didn’t have that many people there. I went out and got our transfer guide. We had to change buses since the Zambia driver couldn’t cross the border. Our guide came in and spoke to them and assured us that this happens all the time. He finally after much discussion convinced us to leave them….which even typing this I can’t believe we did it. Our transfer driver said he would drop us off at the hotel and go back and wait and get them and bring them to us. I had all the contact numbers of who he worked for in my packets to follow up and we got his cell number just in case. We were brought to a separate check in area at the Zimbabwe Falls Hotel for the stable rooms…..we choose this property since it was so close to the falls and we were there a very short period of time. They didn’t have our reservations correct and by the time they sorted it out….about an hour our passports were back. We had planned on having tea at 3:30pm. Our reservations were made prior to our departure….but with all the custom delays and room delays we didn’t make it down there until almost 5pm. The view from the porch (warthogs, tons of monkeys and baboons roaming around) and the treats with tea were great….but the service was soooo slow….took us over 30 minutes to get our first drink and food. Our tea was included since we were on a package….which also included a comp cocktail (found out only from a set cocktail (they use black olive juice in their dirty martinis…weird tasting) list so gave it to the kids for non-alcoholic cocktails), breakfast, separate check in area, 25 minute comp message and butler….still not sure what they mean by butler.
We had dinner at the Jungle Junction. They have entertainment and a huge buffet….which I am not a big buffet fan but they had plenty of options. It is expensive though after such deals in Cape Town. We were all tired so we turned in early.
The next night we had dinner at Livingston's and it was fabulous...great service and food
We had the buffet breakfast at Jungle Juctions the last morning it was extensive and very good...even had champagne
I would have preferred a room with a view of the bridge/falls. Some of the rooms in the stable have nice courtyard views....other side is the parking lot and front of property. Not sure if you get the package with the other rooms. The package was helpful with teenage boys that eat a lot
The food is very expensive here….NY prices……Cape Town is so reasonable. Bottled water was $3 each
Nice historic property and would have rated it higher if the service was better and it wasn't so hard to get to.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    339
    91
    47
    23
See reviews for
176
544
74
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katikati, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Our tour group from New Zealand stayed at the hotel for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed. Built in 1904 it has splendid buildings and well tended gardens. One looks up the Zambezi to the bridge and spray from the falls. The rooms are spacious and well furnished, and the public areas have lots of historic aspects, game trophies, old posters, and antique furniture. The food and bar facilities are excellent. Not to be missed if you come this way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here in June after visiting Kenya and Tanzania on safari. We found the accommodations to be lovely. The hotel is immaculate, the staff helpful and friendly. We dined in the Stanley room and found the food ,service and ambience to be excellent. This property is like taking a step back in time; there is an abundance of photographs, artwork, etc. that you do not necessarily find at more contemporarily built properties. The public areas are beautiful, and there are plenty of tucked away areas for relaxing and reading. Our room included breakfast at Jungle Junction. The buffet was outstanding and the food plentiful and beautifully presented. The hotel is within walking distance of Victoria Falls, and we also did a daytrip to Chobe National Park. Would definitely recommend, and would stay here again should the opportunity present. Very well done.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is our second visit to the hotel and 4 visit to the Falls, To experience the old Africa, i.e. British Colonial spender, this is the Hotel to stay at! Hotel is old but all amenities are working, they even have Fast internet (>5Mbps) for the modern travellers. The High Tea is a must since a visit to this Old Lady won’t be complete without a English High Tea outside on the veranda. The staff is friendly and always willing to assist. Best Rooms for view of the Bridge and the falls, I feel is the middle rooms, 2nd floor. In Victoria Falls there is a shortage of small denominations (currency) so remember to take along a sufficient amount.

Room Tip: Best Rooms for view of the Bridge and the falls, I feel is the middle rooms, 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

An historic building which overlooks one of the natural wonders of the world - fabulous stately hotel with wonderful gardens and views and 5 star service and variety of accommodation discounted for SA citizens.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with a friend. The staff were all friendly and the room and furniture were very comfortable. The grounds are also lovely with views of the falls and the bridge from the gardens. You can easily from the hotel to the falls, and there is a security guide available at start of the path to walk with any nervous or wary guests. There is a nearby spot for a gorge swing over the canyon. Great location and lovely, elegant hotel!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here in deluxe gorge facing rooms on our visit to the falls. One would do well to remember that one is visiting a poverty stricken country and therefore appreciate the hospitality and the service even more. There is a staggering contrast in income levels between the guests and the staff and in fact most people in Zimbabwe. One might therefore appreciate the fact that they graciously put up with the first world whims of guests. So the wifi does not work 24 hours a day. It is hardly the end of the world. Remember the time when this gorgeous place was built and correspondence took quite a while to arrive. So there are occasionally insects in the rooms. This is Africa, it is part of the charm. We had tea and dinner at Stanley's terrace and enjoyed both the food and the service. Everything is kept clean even though it is old. Being old is the charm of the place. It has survived for a long time and simply being there should be seen as a privilege.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victoria Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Falls Hotel

Address: 2 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls PO Box 10, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Victoria Falls Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, The Victoria Falls Hotel has been the address of choice for Royal Families, statesmen, celebrities and discerning travellers as it occupies a fine location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. From the thundering Victoria Falls at its threshold, to the big 5 that roam freely less than 5kms away, the “Grande Dame” provides an experience like no other. Less than a ten minute walk away from the Victoria Falls Rainforest, this is one hotel that can truly claim to be unique.The Victoria Falls Hotel’s grand Edwardian architecture evokes the spirit of a bygone era. The courtyard and entrance completed in 1915, with flowering shrubs, palms and stately mango trees picturesquely reflected in the water lily ponds. The chic elegance of the marble floored reception area sets the tone for the style and sophistication synonymous with The Victoria Falls Hotel. Many a guest has marveled at the magnificent views seen from The Victoria Falls Hotel and the experience begins with the sun rising beneath the mist of one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Combining old-fashioned, traditional elegance with warm and welcoming decor, the main lounge provides a perfect backdrop for relaxing with friends, whilst the Bulawayo Room offers serenity and seclusion in surroundings of exceptional comfort and luxury. There’s a well-appointed curio shop specializing in colonial memorabilia. The Palm Lounge, bright and cool, is a quiet and secluded corner in which to relax, read or write. Throughout its many corridors and alcoves, the hotel’s long and fascinating history is depicted through photographs, posters and artistic impressions, reflecting the past glories of the empire. The quaint Chapel, built in 1929, has been the venue of many weddings and The Victoria Falls Hotel remains a favourite destination for honeymooners from around the world. Echoing its glorious past, The Victoria Falls Hotel’s traditional rooms and suites are truly a 5 star experience. Style and sophistication are trademarks of the hotel’s executive suites, which are luxuriously appointed with decor being warm, inviting and rich with tradition. Deluxe guest rooms are spacious, well-appointed and furnished in traditional Edwardian style with an "out of Africa" feel. All rooms are air-conditioned with every modern amenity including digital satellite television, direct dial telephone and a personal safe. Cast-iron, roll-top bath tubs in the stables wing rooms and suites turn the bathroom into a haven of sumptuous relaxation. All three restaurants have ideal locations, making dining around the hotel a memorable experience. Lavish buffets at the casual Jungle Junction restaurant are but one of the many choices for breakfast and dinner. Stanley’s Terrace is an excellent option for light meals throughout the day and is an absolute must for the infamous High Tea served every afternoon, with spectacular views of The Victoria Falls Bridge and the Falls themselves. Later, enjoy the hotel’s legendary cocktails or a gin and tonic in Stanley’s Bar while listening to the roar of the mighty Falls. Evening dining at the open-air jungle Junction restaurant offers an unforgettable experience with a fusion of flavours of Africa. Entertainment from ethnic groups epitomises the spirit of Africa; Jungle Junction is the ideal venue for incentive groups. Enjoy dinner and dancing in the elegant, Edwardian Livingstone Room, with classic a la carte and table d’hote menus. Whilst the Livingstone Room reflects the century old hotel’s style of grandeur and opulence, the dress code has been slightly relaxed for the convenience of the guest and it is no longer essential for gentlemen to wear jacket and tie for dinner. A fine selection of wines and liqueurs are available to complement the chef’s wonderfully innovative creations. Cool off and enjoy the splendour of the glorious colonial swimming pool set amongst the beautiful landscaped gardens, overlooking the famous Victoria Falls Bridge with the Batoka Gorge below. Massage treatments are available in the airy gazebos located around the poolside or in the tranquility of the hotel’s gardens. The Pullman Suite and the Centenary Room are well-appointed with exquisite antique furnishing, adding a new dimension of sophistication to conferencing. Suitable for meetings of between 8 and 40 people, conference packages (including spouses’ programs) are available. The Victoria Falls are approximately 1,690 metres wide with an estimated 550 million litres of water per minute cascading over a 111 metre chasm. It must be highlighted that Zimbabwe has 16 out of the 19 prime viewing spots and is where you will find the "untamed" Victoria Falls Rainforest with its many winding pathways and trails. In 1855 David Livingstone, arguably the first European to see the awesome Falls, remarked "scenes so lovely must have been gazed upon by angels in their flight." The Victoria Falls have been declared a World Heritage Site and enjoy special conservation status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, LHW, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Victoria Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.