We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must on a visit to Victoria Falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Falls Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Victoria Falls Hotel to your Saves list
The Victoria Falls Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls PO Box 10, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A must on a visit to Victoria Falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

After an interval of almost 30 years, returned to this wonderful old hotel.
While we have seen some reviews mention the old fashioned rooms, we thought the original bits and pieces added to the feel of the place.
The rooms are comfortable, the service excellent as was the food. Eating on the terrace, where you can see the mist rising from the falls is just sensational. Breakfast is down past the pool in a wonderful setting.
It is all so very relaxed.
Of course, it is also just a short walk to Victoria Falls National Park and although you have to run the gambit of the locals trying to sell something, it never felt unsafe.
It is just a wonderful place to visit, that seems to have been spared the fate of some other parts of Zimbabwe.

Room Tip: Standard room is fine/
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    339
    91
    46
    23
See reviews for
175
541
74
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The ambience of this hotel makes the glitches in its system worth ignoring. Glitches: The main dining area, the buffet, is a long walk from the lobby area; the hotel is not very handicap friendly - almost every hall had steps and there were no ramps; and maintenance was slow. Even so, I would go there again in a heartbeat if I had the chance.

My 22-year-old granddaughter and I stayed there several days as part of a tour with Vantage Travel. Both of us were enchanted. We were greeted by a porter in a pith helmet and ¾-length white jacket resplendent with medals. The lobby is a step back in time and the public rooms are beautiful. Just imagine, you can stand on the porch and see the Victoria Falls Bridge or you can follow the hotel's private path to the Falls themselves. The grounds are immaculate and beautifully landscaped.The biggest danger is the animals. We saw warthogs and guina foul wandering the grounds.

We found the buffet to be worth the walk. There was a variety of food and drink to please the adventurous eater or the fussy eater. The food was beautifully presented and staff were there to assist. I did not take time to eat on the porch, but it looked very inviting, especially at High Tea. The grand piano in the lobby was played during the afternoon and again in the evening. The Bar looks as if it had not changed since it was built.

Our room was lovely. My mosquito netting fell from the ceiling one morning, and it took the intervention of our tour guide to get it back up, but it was up before bedtime. There were not enough electrical outlets conveniently place, but after all, this is a Victorian Hotel, even though it has been upgraded.

The hotel is walking distance to the little town of Victoria Falls and the train stops right across the road from its entrance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Like it for one reason: its colonial-era architecture is deeply charming.

Once arrived, you will be greeted by welcoming staff, from bellboys to managers. A written greeting card by the manager placed in the room makes you warm. British high tea still lives in the terrace restaurant.

All things here make you take the day at the kind of slow and easy-going pace that Vic Falls demands.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our last stop on a two week trip that included stays at several very nice safari camps in South Africa, Namibia and Botswana. This was a letdown. Our room reminded me of many of the chain hotels I stayed at while traveling on business. Nothing special. The shower drain in the bathtub was very slow to drain. The bathroom did not have an electrical plug and there was only one plug in the bedroom and you had to move a table to use it. And since the room was on the first floor there were privacy issues when you opened the shades/blinds. The meal and drink prices were comparable to what you would pay in any large American city. Zimbabwe is not cheap or maybe it was the hotel. And I agree that while there seemed to be sufficient staff, they didn't seem to know what to do. But the grounds were lovely and the hotel is in close proximity to the Falls.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room and a recently remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I can't recall ever staying in a nicer hotel than this grand old lady of Victoria Falls.

From the General Manager to the porters, the staff were genuinely warm and welcoming and we received smiles and cheery greetings from just about everyone we met.

Our room was a good size and the shower in the bathroom one of the best I've come across in a hotel. Toiletries were nice, insect repellent a thoughtful addition, and the chocolates that came with the turn-down service are always a nice touch. There was also a nice pool, and a number of bars and lounges so we weren't confined to our room unless we wanted to be.

The breakfast buffet was generous and extensive and included sparkling wine which was a lovely way to start the day. We were also never rushed despite being there past the 10am closing. The signature cocktails were magnificent and I'm still wondering if I'd ever be able to recreate a Stanley at home!

I got a particular kick out of the warthogs grazing on the lawns, along with the odd guinea fowl or monkey, and along the path to the Falls we had a couple of almost too close encounters with elephants, which was such a treat.

Our stay here made my first visit to Zimbabwe so very special and I can't wait to return one day. Thank you!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We experienced the most wonderful stay at this hotel. This is one of those old style hotels that take you back in time when the British were a real power.
Our room overlooked the courtyard and not the falls which was a pity. The service was excellent and the food was amazing especially the breakfasts.
I recommend this hotel to all travelling to The Victoria Falls and will be back very soon for another stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TVFH, General Manager at The Victoria Falls Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you Mandzdan for your generous comments. Since you stayed with us we have unveiled a $3.4m revitalisation and upgrade, so please do come back and see the magnificent new look. Proudly the restyled Livingstone Room has just earned the incredible accolade of featuring as #7 in the Top 100 of the World's Best Hotel Restaurants as selected by the popular global food blog, The Daily Meal. www.thedailymeal.com

With kind regards, Giulio Togni (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked ourselves just one night in the Vic Falls Hotel after four days of camping in a roof top tent and would recommend it to anyone. The hotel's faded glamour and comfort is second to none while the view of the bridge while sipping cocktails on Stanley Terrace is something you will never forget. The service was excellent and both the dinner and breakfast buffets in the Jungle Junction were delicious - look out for the sparkling wine at breakfast!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victoria Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Falls Hotel

Address: 2 Mallet Drive, Victoria Falls PO Box 10, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Victoria Falls Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than a century, The Victoria Falls Hotel has been the address of choice for Royal Families, statesmen, celebrities and discerning travellers as it occupies a fine location from which to explore the magical wonders of untamed Africa. From the thundering Victoria Falls at its threshold, to the big 5 that roam freely less than 5kms away, the “Grande Dame” provides an experience like no other. Less than a ten minute walk away from the Victoria Falls Rainforest, this is one hotel that can truly claim to be unique.The Victoria Falls Hotel’s grand Edwardian architecture evokes the spirit of a bygone era. The courtyard and entrance completed in 1915, with flowering shrubs, palms and stately mango trees picturesquely reflected in the water lily ponds. The chic elegance of the marble floored reception area sets the tone for the style and sophistication synonymous with The Victoria Falls Hotel. Many a guest has marveled at the magnificent views seen from The Victoria Falls Hotel and the experience begins with the sun rising beneath the mist of one of the seven natural wonders of the world. Combining old-fashioned, traditional elegance with warm and welcoming decor, the main lounge provides a perfect backdrop for relaxing with friends, whilst the Bulawayo Room offers serenity and seclusion in surroundings of exceptional comfort and luxury. There’s a well-appointed curio shop specializing in colonial memorabilia. The Palm Lounge, bright and cool, is a quiet and secluded corner in which to relax, read or write. Throughout its many corridors and alcoves, the hotel’s long and fascinating history is depicted through photographs, posters and artistic impressions, reflecting the past glories of the empire. The quaint Chapel, built in 1929, has been the venue of many weddings and The Victoria Falls Hotel remains a favourite destination for honeymooners from around the world. Echoing its glorious past, The Victoria Falls Hotel’s traditional rooms and suites are truly a 5 star experience. Style and sophistication are trademarks of the hotel’s executive suites, which are luxuriously appointed with decor being warm, inviting and rich with tradition. Deluxe guest rooms are spacious, well-appointed and furnished in traditional Edwardian style with an "out of Africa" feel. All rooms are air-conditioned with every modern amenity including digital satellite television, direct dial telephone and a personal safe. Cast-iron, roll-top bath tubs in the stables wing rooms and suites turn the bathroom into a haven of sumptuous relaxation. All three restaurants have ideal locations, making dining around the hotel a memorable experience. Lavish buffets at the casual Jungle Junction restaurant are but one of the many choices for breakfast and dinner. Stanley’s Terrace is an excellent option for light meals throughout the day and is an absolute must for the infamous High Tea served every afternoon, with spectacular views of The Victoria Falls Bridge and the Falls themselves. Later, enjoy the hotel’s legendary cocktails or a gin and tonic in Stanley’s Bar while listening to the roar of the mighty Falls. Evening dining at the open-air jungle Junction restaurant offers an unforgettable experience with a fusion of flavours of Africa. Entertainment from ethnic groups epitomises the spirit of Africa; Jungle Junction is the ideal venue for incentive groups. Enjoy dinner and dancing in the elegant, Edwardian Livingstone Room, with classic a la carte and table d’hote menus. Whilst the Livingstone Room reflects the century old hotel’s style of grandeur and opulence, the dress code has been slightly relaxed for the convenience of the guest and it is no longer essential for gentlemen to wear jacket and tie for dinner. A fine selection of wines and liqueurs are available to complement the chef’s wonderfully innovative creations. Cool off and enjoy the splendour of the glorious colonial swimming pool set amongst the beautiful landscaped gardens, overlooking the famous Victoria Falls Bridge with the Batoka Gorge below. Massage treatments are available in the airy gazebos located around the poolside or in the tranquility of the hotel’s gardens. The Pullman Suite and the Centenary Room are well-appointed with exquisite antique furnishing, adding a new dimension of sophistication to conferencing. Suitable for meetings of between 8 and 40 people, conference packages (including spouses’ programs) are available. The Victoria Falls are approximately 1,690 metres wide with an estimated 550 million litres of water per minute cascading over a 111 metre chasm. It must be highlighted that Zimbabwe has 16 out of the 19 prime viewing spots and is where you will find the "untamed" Victoria Falls Rainforest with its many winding pathways and trails. In 1855 David Livingstone, arguably the first European to see the awesome Falls, remarked "scenes so lovely must have been gazed upon by angels in their flight." The Victoria Falls have been declared a World Heritage Site and enjoy special conservation status. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, LHW, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Victoria Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Falls Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.