We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Falls Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20th Anniversary Special
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Glen Carbon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had a wonderful 2-night stay here at the end of April 2014. The staff had the best customer sevice, restaurant had excellent food, and room was very nice. Best of all was the room balcony that looked over a water hole where we saw many animals including elephants, warthhogs, giraffes, and more. Very relaxing stay. Also, even though wasn't in town, the shuttle service was excellent.

Room Tip: Get to meals early to get best seats for animal viewing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Glen,

Your review of your stay with us is inspiring and so beautifully phrased - thank you very much

Please do come back for another visit soon.

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    225
    65
    13
    2
See reviews for
138
284
58
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Even when it's far from the town and the falls, there is a constant shuttle service. The location and view are great. With a water hole in front, all the rooms have wonderful views of it. Some animals with get very close to your room. Very good food. A perfect view of the water hole while you have breakfast in the morning and a very nice bar for the afternoons. The rooms and bathrooms are clean but need some maintenance

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Kartik

Many thanks for taking your time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to hear your experience with us was the best in Southern Africa!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay, really enjoyed the location & the rooms were spotless. The suite room with a view over the waterhole was really wonderful & made waking up every morning an event in itself!
The staff were attentive and helpful. The meals were overall tasty and well presented

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Anneline.

Thank you for your generous review. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff to be attentive and helpful and that you enjoyed our meals and comfy rooms! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

All the best

Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Return visit to Victoria Falls after many years away. Was not disappointed with VFSL, although the room décor looked a little tired, it was spotlessly clean and the room service was excellent. We had been forewarned that renovations were taking place at the time of our visit, but there was no noise or disturbance from the works and the renovations looked superb. Staff are extremely attentive and the service was second to none. Food in the restaurant was good and helpings are very generous. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Dave

Thank you for your kind and positive feedback on your return trip to Victoria Falls. We are delighted that we could make your stay at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge enjoyable. Indeed all our rooms are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment, all of which should be complete by the end of July 2014.

We do hope to have you visit again, where we will ensure to exceed your expectations

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We booked 3 nights at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge (VFSL) and paid a little extra to have a deluxe room that – according to the VFSL website – has “prime views of the waterhole”. Upon arrival, I noticed on the check-in form that we were given a standard room. I signaled the error and the room was immediately changed to a deluxe room. When we got the room we were a little bit surprised that the waterhole could not be seen from this room. We did not pay further notice to this and explored the lodge. What a beautiful place ! Just outside Vic Falls (connected with a perfectly operating shuttle service) and yet offering a bush experience with a truly beautiful view over the Zambezi national park with close by waterhole (kudu, crocs, buffalo, impala, vultures, marabou storks, warthog, and so on). Breakfast, lunch and diner with such beautiful view was just what we needed to end our Botswana/Zimbabwe trip. Food by the way was without doubt the best we had on our trip. Lunch and diner, both à la carte, are of outstanding quality ! Also loved the fast internet connection. Staff is super friendly. We booked our activities at the activities desk : they have a large offer and operate very efficiently. We took some game drives, helicopter view on the falls (fantastic !). The game drives were a little disappointing; although we did a tour in the private park, we did not see that many animals; but at this time of the year (May) the bush is so thick and green that is difficult to spot them.

During our first night a very noisy guest in the room next to ours kept us awake. I signaled this to the management team (Victor) the next morning. Victor handled our concern with the utmost care and moved us to the other side of the lodge where several rooms had just been completely renovated. This room was definitely a deluxe room with indeed prime view to the waterhole. Premium service, many thanks Victor ! We loved the rest of our stay and enjoyed every moment. If ever we can, we will definitely return to VFSFL. The side of the lodge were we had our first room was closed at day 2 of our stay for renovation works… I suppose that shortly all rooms will have been completely renovated, making this place even more special. Definitely worth a visit. If you stay elsewhere in Vic Falls, make sure to book a lunch or a diner at the VFSL. Almost forgot to say that at 13:00 (every day) the local vultures are fed... you have to see this. Tip : if you don’t want to be covered by dust watching the vulture spectacle, stay on the deck above and observe the vultures from a little distance… your precious digital camera will thank you for this (unless it loves dust ☺).

Room Tip: The deluxe room - with view on the waterhole - is worth the little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Stign

Thank you so much for a wonderful review. We are pleased you had a good time and that our senior manager Victor, was able to accommodate you in a more comfortable room to your liking

We appreciate the feedback as this can only assist us in improving our service to our guests. We hope you will visit us again soon..

Kind Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed two days at this resort and enjoyed it very much we also took our meals there and they were superb with a very good service, Our room were a little downward from the rest of the place but we heard they would soon be renovated
The whole complex overlooks a water hole where wildlife roam freely and up to the base of the complex build on the hillside. We had a vulture feeding display that was amazing save the horrible smell from the rotten meat that was used.
It also offered a free hourly shuttle to Victoria Fall which was very convenient.
And to finish we were invited at the "Boma" for a great meal and entertainment involving guests who where given a cloak for the evening to blend in...We had a great time. I can't comment about value for money as it was part of our tour package.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Victoria Falls Safari Lodge on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind comments and feedback which the team and I greatly appreciate.

Indeed we are in the process of renovating all 72 rooms, being totally refurbished and redesigned right now and all will be complete by the end of July. Everything will be more modern and much lighter and rooms will feature top-of-the-range new beds and new luxury linen.

We sincerely hope you return one day to revisit and relive your wonderful memories with us.

Regards,

Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was our first stop in a dreamt of African vacation. The lodge is more like a fist class hotel. Our accommodations were excellent. On our arrival we were greeted by some wandering baboons and a warthog. Our view of the watering hole was wonderful. One evening we counted six species of mammals, and 10 different birds. One evening we dined at the Boma Restaurant. Wow. The meal was served buffet style and consisted of a variety of game: warthog, impala, buffalo, etc, etc., plus fish, chicken, salads, vegetables, and desserts. Everything was fresh and delicious. I even sampled a Mopani worm ( I received a certificate to prove it to my grandchildren). The worm was very tasty, once you got over the idea of eating a worm (a caterpillar actually). After dinner stay for the group drumming - it was a hoot. We took a Safari into one of the Falls reserves and had the unexpected pleasure of meeting a black Rhino. The Falls were gorgeous, of course, but resulted in a disquieting question. "You're from NY, aren't you? How does Victoria Falls compare to Niagara?" Gulp... We had never been. We are rectifying that omission in a few weeks. Review to follow. While in Victoria we also took a helicopter over the falls -. Breathtaking, and a Walk with Lions which was extraordinary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Mitch & Partner.

We are glad to hear that you had a great time while in Victoria Falls and thankful for your valued contribution on our hospitality, food and service. All of which we set very high standards and make every effort to maintain.

You were very lucky to have seen the rhino amongst other wildlife and bird species.

We hope to welcome you again someday

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb Victoria Falls Safari Lodge is the destination of choice at the Natural Wonder of the Victoria Falls. Just four kilometers from the thundering splendor of Victoria Falls and the spectacular Zambezi River, the lodge sits high on a plateau bordering the Zambezi National Park. The lodge is created to give the impression of an open-plan tree-house, built on seven levels rising above the pristine gusu bushveld and offering guests views of brilliant sunsets. The resort’s focal feature is a central waterhole which attracts an endless parade of wildlife all year round.Voted Zimbabwe’s Best Safari Lodge of the Year for 16 consecutive years by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA), and boasting two of the country’s top restaurants, The Boma – Place of Eating and the a la carte MaKuwa-Kuwa, Victoria Falls Safari Lodge is a proud Zimbabwean icon and is the flagship property of the regional hospitality group, Africa Albida Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.