We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best four days of my life.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Falls Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20th Anniversary Special
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Lusaka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best four days of my life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The service was just ace, the ambience is out of this world, the lunchtime feeding of the vultures is a magical experience that the whole family can get involved in. The poolside is by far my favourite part of this establishment. Its actually a very lovely place to stay and i look forward to my next trip there. I highly recommend the place to anyone who would like to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hi there in Lusaka,

Thanks for your review. Indeed, the pool is one of the best places to spend the afternoon... you can laze on the loungers, dip in the water, and watch the wildlife coming down to the water to drink. Safari Lodge is a wonderful place for families - so I'm glad you got the most out of it.

See you back soon,

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    225
    65
    13
    2
See reviews for
138
284
58
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Excellent choice if you wish to be out of town (but close to Falls) and to experience wildlife of Africa. Away from large groups on package trips. Mostly independent travellers/ small groups.
Helpful staff- all visits can be arranged from hotel. Wonderful setting for enjoying the bar and restaurant overlooking water hole where whole range of animals come for water. Particularly evening.
Service is long so be patient. Try to be in a holiday mood.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi Michael,

Thanks very much for the feedback.

It seems like you had a very relaxing time at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, and I'm glad you particularly enjoyed the food. "The taste of Zimbabwe" is a good way of describing our cuisine!

Hope to see you back again soon,

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay while you are at vic falls, if you can afford it. Overlooking the waterhole there is no shortage of animals to watch day or night. We saw elephants, kudu, buffalo, warthog, mongoose, impala, hyenas and a multitude of bird life all from the comfort of our room.

The rooms are lovely (we stayed in the mopani suite) with comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and air conditioning (all luxuries that can be hard to find in Africa).

The staff were mostly friendly and helpful, though the waiters could use a little more training.

The free shuttle makes getting around so very easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi Georgia,

Thanks for the feedback. Very happy that it turned out so well. yes, we are perfectly positioned to explore the Falls and enjoy all the activities... and there's just no location in the area like ours.

Looking forward to having you back soon,

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

A great place to base yourself for a few days at Victoria Falls. The view from the bar/pool/dinning room is a great spot to watch for animals day or night. The rooms have a great balcony and the food is fantastic. The free shuttle into town worked well even though your companies will pick you up direct.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a small group tour from Cape Town.The Lodge in general was good particularly the bar which overlooked the wonderful waterhole. Breakfast was good if a bit slow at times. We were a bit disappointed by our room. Most of our group got a room with a view of the waterhole whereas we did not. The room itself could have done with a bit more attention to detail. The sheets were a bit grey.The mosquito net was dirty at the bottom and one lampshade was all broken. We would have expected better from a hotel of this price, probably the most expensive of our trip.

However we were most impressed by Lyn on guest services desk as she was very quick and efficient at sorting out all problems we had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights during our visit to Victoria Falls and we loved the hotel from the moment we arrived. The hotel overlooks a beautiful plain with a waterhole where we saw wildlife on a daily basis (impalas, water buffaloes, elephants, etc). They also have beautiful rooms with private decks and a very relaxing pool and deck chairs. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating and were always willing to book excursions for us. The two restaurants offered are delicious, one is upstairs in the hotel overlooking the waterhole and the other is the boma, an outdoor buffet with various game meats and a drum show!

The only reason I didn't give them an excellent was because of our only two complaints our whole stay. 1) prices: although the food was delicious, both restaurants were extremely expensive (average entree at the upstairs restaurant was $20 and the boma was $40 per person). We were a little stressed there wasn't a more affordable option for us for dinner. We also thought the drinks at the bar were comparable to NY prices. I was particularly surprised when I tried to get a seltzer water and was charged $4! 2) the service was very slow, particularly at breakfast. We sat in the restaurant for 30 minutes, thinking it was enough time for us to eat before heading off on our excursion, but no one ever came to take our order. Other than those two minor complaints, we loved our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Victoria Falls has been something we've wanted to see for many years so we added 3 nights to our African oddessy and are very happy to have chose this Hotel
You need to take into account the current state of economic and social devastation this country is going through. The fact that we were the in the dry season, and damned HOT, just emphasised it probably. So amongst all that Safari Lodge was a luxurious oasis to come back to or just hang out at.
Not perfect super high end, but pretty good nonetheless.
Rooms big and nice. Great balcony and when you sit there it can be so quiet it hurts. The pool area(s) is a bit weird. There's 2 on two levels, both prety small with the main one down below mega deep apart from the edges. So not conducive for you to just bob about. But I'm splitting hairs.
Food at the restaurant at dinner is really good. Presentation and quality top notch. Our wait staff were also very friendly and added to our nights.
However our package included a "Boma night" which is kind of like a free range BBQ with some "entertainment" thrown in. They bus people in from all other resorts in for this so up to 350 there each night. A bit of a zoo, human variety, staff try hard but most of the food was rubbish and the show was basically a bunch of guys on bongos. For us it was out of kilter with the rest of the resort. We wish we had kicked back at the hotel.
All in all, if you're coming to VF you won't do better than the Safari Lodge. Manager Jonathan and his staff do work hard to make sure you enjoy your time there, and it was appreciated by us both.

Room Tip: Go for an afternoon tea, or drinks, at the old Victoria Falls Hotel. Very old world and atmospheric
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superb Victoria Falls Safari Lodge is the destination of choice at the Natural Wonder of the Victoria Falls. Just four kilometers from the thundering splendor of Victoria Falls and the spectacular Zambezi River, the lodge sits high on a plateau bordering the Zambezi National Park. The lodge is created to give the impression of an open-plan tree-house, built on seven levels rising above the pristine gusu bushveld and offering guests views of brilliant sunsets. The resort’s focal feature is a central waterhole which attracts an endless parade of wildlife all year round.Voted Zimbabwe’s Best Safari Lodge of the Year for 16 consecutive years by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA), and boasting two of the country’s top restaurants, The Boma – Place of Eating and the a la carte MaKuwa-Kuwa, Victoria Falls Safari Lodge is a proud Zimbabwean icon and is the flagship property of the regional hospitality group, Africa Albida Tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.