We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary setting, luxury accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Falls Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% off your stay
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leverett, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
“Extraordinary setting, luxury accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a lovely place...a gorgeous series of thatched buildings overlooking a significant watering hole (frequented by herds of elephants, buffalo, guinea fowl, baboons.. and so much more)... an architectural award-winning design and lovely and accommodating staff. As we were celebrating our anniversary they upgraded us to a deluxe suite, two floors, fabulous views, and the nicest bathroom in any hotel in Zimbabwe!

The associated restaurants (Boma and Makuwa-kuwa) are not the greatest (Boma: high tourist and all about "the show", Makuwa-kuwa: institutional food, lousy service) but this is a destination hotel - you are there for the awesome location, rooms, amenities, and service - and proximity to the area game parks and the falls.

Although it is located just outside of Vic Falls proper, they have regular and easy transport in and out of town to every attraction and possible stops. They simply make it all very easy to have an exceptional experience in Victoria Falls.

We would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone we knew coming to Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello to a fellow Zimbabwean
Thanks for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge and for your hugely complimentary five-star review. It's not often that people mention our very appealing architecture of high thatch and split-levels with all public places, and many of the rooms, affording a splendid view of the prolific waterhole. We're glad it caught your eye as it is part of the overall ambiance of the African Experience in authentic bush surroundings.

Apologies for the slow service at the Makuwa-Kuwa when you visited. We do hit busy periods when everyone is scurrying, but we are also in the middle of an intensive training period now that is strongly incorporating this aspect.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    255
    68
    14
    4
See reviews for
162
331
70
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherstburg, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very nice place with exceptional service. Restaurants were very good but at times, very busy. The property is beautiful and it is on a watering hole. Only disappointment was that we had a room booked that was supposed to be on the waterhole and two floors. We actually had a very nice room but without the view of waterhole. Of course there were dozens of warthogs and baboons to enjoy watching all around us.

Room Tip: Make sure your assigned lodge suits your ability to use stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hello to you in Canada
Thank you for your very matter-of-fact four-star review of your stay with us that highlights the many positives you enjoyed. You obviously hit a very busy time and I am very sorry you did not get the room you wanted with the best views of the waterhole. However, it is very pleasing to know that you still saw some wildlife from your room and that you enjoyed the main waterhole when you were in the main lodge.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in mid April. After two days of traveling to reach Victoria Falls, the Safari Lodge was an amazing place to land. From the welcome juice to the landscape, warthogs munching on grass and the waterhole from balcony. It was like a parade of animals outside the entire time. Always a exciting surprise to look out and see what had arrived. Breakfast was delicious from the fruit and juices to omelets. And the shuttle was convenient going out and returning. And, of course, Victoria Falls was an incredible experience. A great way to kick off a month long trip though Africa.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello to you in LA. Your succinct review says it all with such enthusiasm, so thank you for the compliments that help to keep us inspired and in the top 10% of the world's properties reviewed on Trip Advisor - proudly we have just achieved the 2013 Certificate of Excellence.

I hope your month-long safari through Africa was exciting and life-enriching, but thank you for concluding that Victoria Falls Safari Lodge was a real highpoint.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have just enjoyed a very pleasant stay at the Lodge which gives excellent value for money with comfortable accommodation, great food with views of a stunning waterhole from both our room balcony or the bar and restaurant. In the distance is the spray of Victoria Falls, only 10 minutes away. At the lodge, you don't hear the noise of helicopters on scenic trips which is very dominant when staying nearer to the Falls. All the staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Dinner at the Boma is highly recommended as well. I look forward to a return visit to the lodge one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your generous review and for emphasising our sublime location that "takes the biscuit" at Victoria Falls. You make a very interesting observation that we had not added to our "list of benefits" for our guests - so little or no noise from pesky helicopters as opposed to all the lodges in or near the town. It is a real benefit indeed to be in such harmony with nature and yet just 10 minutes away from the town and the Falls in our complimentary on-the-hour shuttle coach service.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenfell
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at this very luxury lodge and it is truely a safari style experience without the campsite!
If you have extra dollars somewhere, then this is the accommodation for you, but we discovered that although the presentation of the food is very attractive, the price tags (for average income people) gives one a severe heart burn and for people with above average eating capacity, the food is not enough in relation to the price tag. That can be said for the beverages as well! Very expensive!
However, if you want to treat yourself, this is really a quality venue. First class trimmims and a great view from the dining decks. Beautiful and stylish rooms and a very smart swimming pool area! The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review of our lodge and for your very apt description that Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reflects the style without the campsite. yes, we're certainly in harmony with nature here but with inspiring vistas and a majestic piece of never-ending wilderness.

I assume that your "Brackenfell" is near Cape Town? Yes your food and drinks will be less costly there because you are fortunate to be at the coast. Zimbabwe is landlocked and we must import 90% of our food and beverage to keep up to international standards. This not only attracts duty for most items but we must also add the considerable transport costs from either Harare or Bulawayo or, indeed, from outside our borders. We keep our prices to as reasonable as possible but we're always going to be a little more expensive than South Africa.

Thank you for staying with us and for your hearty endorsement.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The lodge is located about 5-10 mins from the center of Victoria Falls town, but as the town is full of tourist shops and is not scenic, you are not missing anything by not being located in town. In fact, you probably benefit from being slightly further away and the hotel runs a free shuttle into town every hour.

The main lodge is great with a lovely, comfortable and inviting layout and decor. We spent many hours here enjoying the great views from the bar/restaurant and swimming pool. The lodge overlooks a watering hole that had a constant stream of visitors during our 2 day stay there. We were entertained for hours watching elephants, warthogs, buffalo, impala and more visiting the water for a drink.

The food was also good, breakfast was included for us and had a buffet and also a few egg dishes that could be ordered. We had dinner in the main restaurant one evening and really enjoyed it, although the prices are a bit high, especially for dessert - $12 is a lot for any dessert.

The rooms were the only disappointment as they were tired and ready to be updated, although they were clean. The rooms on the top floor of the buildings are better as they have more space and much higher ceilings. Having said that, you don't need to send much time in your room, so don't avoid this place, just know that the rooms are old. There are newer rooms as part of the safari club, and I would consider staying in those rooms on my next trip.

I would, and already have, recommend that people stay here on their trip to Vic Falls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor of the building as they have more room and higher ceilings. The oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hello Gaynor
Thank you for your very perceptive review, especially for emphasizing what we also try to get across to every potential guest - here at Victoria Falls safari Lodge you really do BENEFIT from being just out of the hurley-burly of town and in harmony with nature. As you point out you just sit and relax with that wonderful vista and the wildlife comes to you...a passing parade all day and night!

Good news! All 72 rooms are in the process of being totally refurbished and redesigned right now and all will be complete by the end of July. We're taking out the bath tubs and replacing with large walk-in rain showers; we're moving the room out 1m which we'll take out of the balcony and we're installing glass and aluminium sliding doors and curtains. Everything will be more modern and much lighter and rooms will feature top-of-the-range new beds and new luxury linen.

Thank you for recommending Victoria Falls Safari Lodge to your friends, this is greatly appreciated.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
gm@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Being fortunate enough to live in Zambia, I have had the opportunity to visit many lodges and have to admit the the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge rates highly. We dropped in for a quick lunch on the deck overlooking the patio and ended up staying much longer than anticipated. It is no wonder that the Lodge is reknown for the viewing deck and I also believe, one of the few Lodges that can actually add "Safari" to its name. The lunch was fantastic, the service in the deck area a little slow, but the meal prompt. The GM was very polite and gave us a run down on the lodge and happenings. The place is in 'touch' with Africa and not simply another fancy spot they may as well have been in the middle of a First World country. Plenty game to be seen at the water hole and within the confines of the lodge itself. Certainly next on our list of lodges to try!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you Mark, you make some interesting observations. We are also aware of quite a number of lodges that really should not use the word "safari" in their names. They do so, of course, to entice visitors when they don't actually provide the "safari" experience.

We are enormously privileged to be just 4 kms out of the buzz of the Victoria Falls town and yet offer such an evocative and authentically African vista of wildlife and wilderness. You are the first to ever raise this topic and we heartily agree with your sentiments.that are of benefit to potential guests - and Trip Advisor researchers - because you are an experienced safari traveller and can therefore judge according to various benchmarks.

Thanks for dropping in for lunch, with a view of the animals and the waterhole, and we look forward to hosting you again soon after all 72 of our rooms have been refurbished and remodeled to delightful new standards.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#6 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 18 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 20th year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.