We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Falls Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 20% off your stay
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have been coming to this Lodge for the sixth time and it never varies in service and pleasure ,a wonderful place for a few days stay and the Boma dinner,Vulture feedings scheme and the waterhole view.

Room Tip: no spa or gym i know of and the rooms on the right of the lodge reception have a better view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Greetings Carol

How remarkable that you have stayed at our lodge six times and still retain the same real pleasure at our incredible location, friendly staff and general experience. This makes your review all the more unique and meaningful and we know it will inspire others who are considering a visit to Victoria Falls. Thank you very much and best wishes for the year ahead.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    254
    68
    14
    4
See reviews for
160
329
70
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Have travelled a lot. Have been in many hotels (different categories and standards), but Victoria Falls Lodge falls in the very special category of hotels in my heart. So close to nature, very helpful staff and its signature feature - the water hole (or as we call it in Australia - billabong). It was attracting the animals from dawn to dusk and one could not stop watching changing the scenery every so often.. just like in a movie.. first a herd of elephants, then making space for monkeys, then cudos, hyppos..... One has to be there to appreciate the magic of the place. I still haven;t seen a photo that can reflect the mystery of the place.. And not to forget - one of the best coffees that you can have in Africa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view to the "billabong"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Australia
As a seasoned traveller we deeply appreciate the value of the glittering review you have afforded VFSL. We agree, it's like the Victoria Falls themselves - impossible for a photo to portray this masterpiece of nature.

When it comes to nature and a glorious vista over our "billabong" and a vast tract of African bush then our lodge indeed reigns supreme at Victoria Falls and we're delighted you enjoyed our "movie."

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge Resort
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always have such a great stay at the Victoria Falls Safari lodge, the rooms are so clean, the staff are wonderful and the food excellent. I stay there often as I have to travel to the Victoria Falls often, I have business to do there but always retreat back to the lodge, have a relaxing drink whilst watching the animals slowly moving around the water hole. Great view and experience right in front of you every evening.

Room Tip: You don't have TV in your room but it adds to the safari lodge atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello Phil

When other potential guests are evaluating which hotel to stay at I think the one word you use will be the critical factor - EXPERIENCE. Because of our supreme hilltop location overlooking a wildlife waterhole it is indeed an experience that unfolds in front of you every evening.

Our genuine usp is that we are the ONLY hotel or lodge in the area that commands such a vista and that faces west and therefore the sunset at what is always a very special cocktail hour! Indeed it's our well-acclaimed signature feature that may be viewed from the deck, the Buffalo Bar, the Makuwa-Kuwa dining room, most of the 72 rooms, the pool deck, the boardroom, the library.

Jonathan Hudson
General manager: Victoria Falls Safari Lodge Resort
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
1,681 reviews 1,681 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 460 cities Reviews in 460 cities
1,656 helpful votes 1,656 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed 3 days on a tour at this unusual hotel about 4 kilomters outside of town. The biggest attraction is the wonderful scenery and views you get from the rooms and open air restaurant and bar. You can sit and marvel at the variety of animals that are attracted to their waterhole. At 1PM every day you can watch up close or from a distance the feeding of the vultures.

Rooms have balconies where you can sit outside and shutters and quaint mosquito netting over the beds to protect against bugs (there are a few which is to be expected since you are right by a jungle area). The rooms are a little tight, have no TV, but do have a safe and a coffee maker. Buffet breakfast is adequate--go early since it gets crowded and they do not restock some items once they run out. Dinner in the restaurant is good and moderately priced with a charming waiter named Wayne. The whole staff are pleasant and helpful especially Gibson, one of the desk clerks.

They run an hourly shuttle into town--go see the wonderful 1904 Victoria Falls Hotel with its great views also. The rest of the town turned us off because of the very aggressive vendors who try to sell anything from wooded carvings to worthless local money.

Wifi costs $5 for 80 MB--it worked well in our room but some people complained it did not work for them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Mr Miller sir!
With 950 Trip Advisor reviews under your belt you are a very prolific and vastly experienced reviewer and traveller. Therefore your four-star review of our lodge is greatly appreciated and of high value. Our location wins great acclaim from almost every guest and is certainly unmatched anywhere at the Falls when it comes to the raw, authentic African bush and the wildlife.

However, you give good advice for our guests to go and see the grandeur of the Victoria Falls Hotel and their unique view of the bridge and spray of the falls.

With warm regards
Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our initial trip to Zim was to visit the Falls & see a little bit of Zimbabwe, as my husband spent his early years at the Vic Falls Hotel. This was a great start to our trip prior to heading to Durban & Phinda Game Reserve.

Our stay was fantastic, the outlook from the decks was fabulous, as dawn & dusk the game came up to the water hole.

We also took a helicopter ride over the falls, which is another must..... so different from the air! I don't like heights and whilst very nervous about the flight, I got to sit in the front and had the best seat in my opinion!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Ann
Your description of our waterhole attracting "dawn to dusk game" conjures up the perfect vision of the reality. It is indeed a magical location that transcends everything. I'm sure your husband relished the chance to show off his old "stomping ground" and that you also relished every moment of what is a magical experience.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Like most natural beauty spots, the town around Victoria Falls is a tourist trap and a bit grubby with pushy stall holders selling identical carved giraffes to the next one (yes, I did fall victim!)

As such, the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge is a perfect retreat. The view from most of the rooms and the terraces over the watering hole is beautiful without any wildlife but once you hear the other guests whispering and camera's being retrieved you can't wait to look up and see which animal has wandered over for a drink or a frolic next. Elephants of the balcony with my evening amarula was the best moment but lots of other animals and birds had graced our presence before this.

The hotel is a few minutes on the shuttle bus or with a guide to the Falls so there's no inconvenience in being a little more remote and the rooms are well furnished and comfortable with amazing balconies.

The food in the main restaurant is excellent and the staff a little disorganised but friendly and accomodating.

The Boma is a real experience with face painting, tribal dress, dancing and drumming...less tacky than you'd expect of something so touristy and the buffet / braii food is good enough to distract those who don't like to 'join in'.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello Canada
Your five-star review is greatly appreciated and you re-enforce the views of so many that our location is supreme - the perfect retreat as you say. Most will not know what you mean by enjoying the vista with your Amarula...for those who have not tried it Amarula is a local cream liqueur made from the fruit of the Amarula berries. It's rather like Bailey's Irish Cream, really delicious!

Jonathan Hudson
General manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a fantastic property with top notch service. It is a bit outside Victoria Falls downtown area, but they make up for it with regular shuttle service. The grounds and rooms are nice and fit the surroundings. As a safari lodge it does not match a game lodge, but still offers plenty of activities to complement everything there is to see at the falls.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you Matt, you do us proud at the start of anew year - our 19th since opening.You highlight the one thing we aspire to in everything we do - service. Top-notch, you said! Thanks. You also used that word again - "fantastic" - that so many people do in their reviews, especially when talking about our supreme location and ambiance.

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Falls Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Safari Lodge

Address: 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#7 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Victoria Falls Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the best Safari Lodge in Zimbabwe for 18 years running, the world-famous Victoria Falls Safari Lodge offers easy access to the iconic Victoria Falls, coupled with a wildlife experience that is truly unrivalled. Now in its 20th year of welcoming guests, the Lodge is built on a plateau overlooking the Zambezi National Park with endless unspoilt views to the horizon, just four kilometers from the Falls. This is the only sunset facing hotel in Victoria Falls, and the newly-renovated rooms and balconies are built up above a central waterhole which attracts herds of buffalo, elephant, giraffe, zebra, as well as night-time predators, such as lion and leopard. Our warm and personable staff are our greatest pride. Past guests frequently comment on our team's sublime hospitality and seamless delivery. The main areas of the lodge, such as the MaKuwa-Kuwa restaurant and the homely Buffalo Bar, are rich in ambience and also overlook the central waterhole, where drinks and dinners are often shared with wildlife meandering down to the water each day to quench their thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Victoria Falls Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Safari Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.