We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls

Save Saved
You added Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   278 Parkway Drive | Selous Crescent, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
toronto ontario canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

While on holdiay with my adult daughter we stayed at the hotel for two days, we new it was a budget hotel and did not expect such a nice surprise. The evening meals were great we had local game and it was so good and we were entertained by Umbane We Zulu dancers and music just wonderful. Our breakfast was good, the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms clean and comfortable. The mosquito nets in good condition.(not like the ones in Spirwing Island resort poor resort by the way) I would recomment it and not expensive, close to everything.

Room Tip: keep away from the dining area lots of rooms to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhotelvicfalls, General Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Darice d,
Thank you for your most valuable feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the local game cuisine and entertainment from the Umbane group during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    58
    46
    15
    1
See reviews for
34
46
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I spent a couple nights here in July 2012 and found it absolutely delightful--once I got past the fact that they had me checking in the day I was due to check out. Problem easily resolved and I actually paid a cheaper rate than what my travel agent had quoted. The staff were very attentive and help with accommodations and advising and arranging activities during my short stay in Victoria Falls. One evening I wanted to eat outside because the weather was delightful. The staff set up a table for me under the stars. Each evening I was there, I we were entertained by a troupe performing native dances. My room/bathroom was clean. Bed was very comfortable. I liked sitting on my patio in the morning with coffee watching the monkeys play. I did miss having a hair dryer and personal safe in the room--the only drawbacks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Guest Relations Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on Rainbow Hotel. We appreciate your comments and management are working on the issues highlighted. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return to Rainbow Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Rainbow hotel. We had mentioned to the bartender we were wanting to try Crocodile while we were in Vic Falls, so he spoke to the Cook and he made arrangements to have some Croc meat brought in, and made us an amazing meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your much appreciated feedback. We look forward to hosting you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

An overprice hotel with poor hygine standard flies all over the food .they could not just get a net or something to cover it up since buffet is on an open room.the tiles are falling of the in the bathroom.the the bath tub had a masive crack on it.i tried to make a cup of tea in my room only to find the kettles cable is too short to reach the socket on the wall so i place the kettle on the floor and tried to plug it only to realise that i need an adptor since the kettle is a two pin while the wall takes three pin plug,so i abandoned making tea becoz it was now like acting a film.
the airconditioning make noise like a spining washing machine
so dont be fooled by the price becoz its not worth the money
the front area is nice and love but when it come to the rooms where it matter most it seems they have just abandoned it .
i will rather pay more that to stay in this hotel
the staff was hard working but can do when there is no money put on
i have stay in 2 star in south africa but will rate it 5 star while in this hotel is ment to 3 star but will rate it at half a star
this hotel should charge at least 20 usd a nite
then that can be justified.
I SPENT A NITE ON 17 NOVEMBER 2011

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africa71, Marketing at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you very much for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

As a family we stayed at the rainbow hotel 25-29 Dec 12. This hotel has all that you need if you are happy to accept that everything is faded, torn, does not work and is falling apart. There are 2 good things about this hotel, one there is water in the pool and two, wifi works in some of the rooms. Do not expect anything else and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room close to reception to have wifi access, also the rooms closer to the road are noisier due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone, Zambia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Rainbow Hotel is situated close to the town center and it is so easy to get to all the attractions. The hotel is excellent value for money, and the rooms are airy, spacious and have all the modern amenities. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africa71, Marketing at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Bravo ! thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
191 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
406 helpful votes 406 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

This Hotel appears to do most of its business through package tour bookings. A good strategy, since no one in their right mind travels to the other side of the world for a once in a lifetime vacation to stay here. Even when the Sun was in its prime, back when the country was called Rhodesia, this must have still been a dreary place. And since then, the ownership hasn't put a shekel into the facility: worn out beds, broken down old TV's and air conditioners. Check the holes in the mosquito nets closely or you'll be spending the night bugbit. Bland, over-priced food. Staff can't do more than offer to call a cab or promise the electricity or internet will be back on again soon. Located on the periphery of town, near nothing, it is a nasty walk to anything at any time of the day. But, they'll call a cab for you. $130 a night for this.

Room Tip: loud air conditioner or loud street noise. take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbowhotelvicfalls, Resident Manager at Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Thank you for taking time to give us your valued feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you suffered during your stay. We assure you that all the matters you have raised have been looked into. We would like to thank you for highlighting these concerns. It is through feedback from guests like you that we can continually improve our product.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls

Address: 278 Parkway Drive | Selous Crescent, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique property of Moorish architecture conveniently located near town and 2km from the Victoria Falls. The Victoria Falls Rainbow Hotel offers a spectacular view of the rumbling mist, mosi-oa-tunya, meaning "the smoke that thunders". Enjoy a cocktail at the only Swim and Sip bar in town and efficient and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.