We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hills Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Elephant Hills Resort to your Saves list
Elephant Hills Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
1 review
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Celebrated our first anniversary at Elephants hills and we must admit the service was totally amazing. From the moment we arrived the staff was very friendly and made sure that we felt at home. We were treated like royalty and enjoyed every little bit of our stay here. Many thanks to the general manager and his entire staff for making our stay a wonderful and memorable one. Will gladly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Victoria falls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    120
    47
    13
    4
See reviews for
50
83
18
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I traveled from Durban - South Africa to Zimbabwe and stayed at the EHR for 3 nights (22/02/2013 to 24/02/2013) to celebrate our 33rd wedding anniversary.

On arrival at the EH Resort we were welcomed with cocktail drinks at the check-in counter and escorted to our room. The front office staff were very warm & friendly, and made us feel most welcome. Little did my wife and I realise at that time that this was just a taste of the wonderful hospitality we were going to experience during our stay there. The Front Office Supervisor (Mr Taurai) then took the responsibility to check that we were comfortable and that everything in our room was to our satisfaction. He then showed us how everything worked in the room. Thereafter he showed us around the hotel and its facilities. He was kind enough to explain the activities that were available and did not mind making the bookings on our behalf when I asked if he could do so.

That evening we went to have a light supper at the bar area. Whist we were waiting for our order to arrive, the restaurant manager arrived at our table and asked us to move the more formal dining area. We explained that we were fine we we were seated, but he mentioned that since it was our wedding anniversary, we should move, which we did. A little later, our meals arrived. Whist we were having our meals, a waiter arrived with a bottle of champagne much to our surprise. After our meals, the brought us a specially baked cake. He told us that it was with their compliments. The staff treated us like Royalty. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening - thanks to the hotel staff that made it all happen. Mr Taurai must be complimented for being the catalyst in putting everything together in his own quiet way (completely unbeknown to us) and making our stay a memorable one. My compliments to every staff member from the Janitor, reception desk, waiters, housekeeping, shuttle service and ground staff. I will highly recommend this resort to anyone that one that wants to be made to feel at home.
Krish Naidoo

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

It was a really great getaway. A new experience for us to visit Zimbabwe. Knowing the country's history and financial situation, I thought we got a great deal! The hotel itself wasn't bad at all considering. The service was one of the best we have EVER experienced - from our waitress at dinner, to our tour guide at the falls - (independent from the hotel). I think the locals in general are just very friendly and welcoming people! It was really such a pleasure!

We live in South Africa so we are used to the big 5 and wild animals, but seeing the baboons and elephants roaming free on the streets was just an incredible experience! Baboons sitting on the tops of cars minding their own business! The room in the hotel was very basic, but like I said, for a country that isn't doing so well financially, there was nothing wrong!

The falls are a spectacular sight - I heard it is safer to go to the Zambia side, but personally I would say go to the Zimbabwe side to view the falls - you see so much more of it and we had no problems with feeling unsafe at any time of our stay. We even caught a cab back to our hotel and I'm still here ;) The hotel offers bicycle excursions where you can take the bike onto the golf course and that was also really great! We saw a variety of buck on the course.

We also had a lovely few of the mist of the falls from the hotel - "The smoke that thunders". I must say though, the helicopter flip outside of the hotel (independent from the hotel I think) was quite pricy... But it was SOOOOO worth it to see a view like that!

We also went on the sunset cruise everyday which was great, the bar men on board with us were very friendly and entertaining! We also saw hippo and elephant alongside the Zambezi River :)

The food was also amazing and the local beers and cocktails were a treat too!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Out of date rooms and everything is badly in need of repair. They charge top dollar for all things from laundry to drinks and food - sadly the quality isn't comparable to what they are charging. I must say the grounds are amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

As per previous reviews, I agree, the rooms are outdated and require refurbishment. They contained everything you'd expect from quality accommodation - a tv, safe, kettle etc. but the shower leaked, the balcony doors were hard to open and the air-conditioning had a mind of its own and turned on and off as it pleased. But what EHH lacked in their room facilities, they made up for in their service. The staff were amazingly friendly and were very informative. When we were experiencing difficulties with our air-con, the maintenance guys were on it straight away and had it up and running in no time. Housekeeping came around in the morning and evening to make up your rooms! The resort is quite a distance from the main town, but the shuttle bus was very convenient and took you to your desired drop off point in town or at the falls themselves, the driver even agreed to come back for us even after his final trip for the day. Bornface and Shepherd, the guys at reception always greeted us with a 'hello' and 'how are you?' ensuring we were keeping well and if there was anything we required. Bornface also went out of his way to show us around the hotel upon our initial arrival. Breakfast had a wide selection to choose from and the wait staff were courteous and helpful. The view from the balcony was calming, you could see the spray from the falls during the day, and the lights from Livingstone at night. The setting was peaceful and relaxing, with game including Baboons, Impalas and Warthogs were easy to spot within the boundaries of the resort. I definitely recommend staying at EHH during your visit to Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtenay
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our last night on our safari and we were booked into Elephant Hills-- Room s -- Staff -- Restaurant all wre amazing and the setting is perfect. Everything you need right there; the perfect end to an amazing trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

if you want to enjoy nature but at the same time being in a good luxurious hotel, then take a trip to Vic Falls and be booked at the elephant hills hotel.
My experience
- sitting on the balcony watching the wathogs, bush bucks grazing
- if you leave the balcony doors open, some monkeys will eat some left overs in your room.
- walk up early in the morning and watch the sun rising.
- few minutes drive to the majestic victoria falls
- a helcopter nearby for a arieal tour of the victoria rainforest.

Room Tip: be sure to be booked on the Eastside....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Elephant Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Resort

Address: 300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hills Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic hotel, aptly named after the gentle giant of the bush (the elephant) merges seamlessly into its natural environment. Elephant Hills Resort has 276 rooms ranging from the impressive presidential suite to cool and spacious standard rooms. All rooms are ethnically decorated creating a combination of African ambiance with comfort and elegance. Each bedroom has modern amenities including air-conditioning, digital satellite television, bar fridge and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Elephant Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Hotel
Elephant Hills Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.