We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional customer service, rooms in need of a facelift” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hills Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Elephant Hills Resort to your Saves list
Elephant Hills Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional customer service, rooms in need of a facelift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

As per previous reviews, I agree, the rooms are outdated and require refurbishment. They contained everything you'd expect from quality accommodation - a tv, safe, kettle etc. but the shower leaked, the balcony doors were hard to open and the air-conditioning had a mind of its own and turned on and off as it pleased. But what EHH lacked in their room facilities, they made up for in their service. The staff were amazingly friendly and were very informative. When we were experiencing difficulties with our air-con, the maintenance guys were on it straight away and had it up and running in no time. Housekeeping came around in the morning and evening to make up your rooms! The resort is quite a distance from the main town, but the shuttle bus was very convenient and took you to your desired drop off point in town or at the falls themselves, the driver even agreed to come back for us even after his final trip for the day. Bornface and Shepherd, the guys at reception always greeted us with a 'hello' and 'how are you?' ensuring we were keeping well and if there was anything we required. Bornface also went out of his way to show us around the hotel upon our initial arrival. Breakfast had a wide selection to choose from and the wait staff were courteous and helpful. The view from the balcony was calming, you could see the spray from the falls during the day, and the lights from Livingstone at night. The setting was peaceful and relaxing, with game including Baboons, Impalas and Warthogs were easy to spot within the boundaries of the resort. I definitely recommend staying at EHH during your visit to Victoria Falls.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    147
    58
    16
    4
See reviews for
66
99
21
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
courtenay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our last night on our safari and we were booked into Elephant Hills-- Room s -- Staff -- Restaurant all wre amazing and the setting is perfect. Everything you need right there; the perfect end to an amazing trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

if you want to enjoy nature but at the same time being in a good luxurious hotel, then take a trip to Vic Falls and be booked at the elephant hills hotel.
My experience
- sitting on the balcony watching the wathogs, bush bucks grazing
- if you leave the balcony doors open, some monkeys will eat some left overs in your room.
- walk up early in the morning and watch the sun rising.
- few minutes drive to the majestic victoria falls
- a helcopter nearby for a arieal tour of the victoria rainforest.

Room Tip: be sure to be booked on the Eastside....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Absolutely lovely,beautiful layout and people as friendly and as helpful as can be. In fact they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable as we were travelling with 2 babies. We spent the New Years there. I would definitely recommend it as a must see or stay at while in Victorial Falls. The food was good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending New Years Eve at that hotel. I must say I was happy with what I got. The people there were lovely and the General Manager was most attentive to my family. The New Years Eve Celebration was great and family friendly.
I was with my family (my parents and Uncle, in their mid fifties, my nephew - teenager and myself, a 35 year old woman). I must stay it was a good time. The food was good, the drinks even better. Easy to get to and from the hotel.
The hotel rooms were a bit older and maybe need some updating but I didnt have any problems for the price we paid. You can see the Zambezi River and also fell the spray of the falls which is lovely on a hot hot day (and man, it was HOT when we were there). The Pool was nice, the food was OK. nothing to hate.. it was OK.. hotel food...
Besides the hotel which we didnt spend too much time, make sure you go on the Elephant Rides (right across from the hotel). Enjoy the Falls!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Interesting stay for a couple and a child of 4yrs in the middle of the festive season.Fine the building is becoming a bit dated but its in a great location with great views of the Zambezi river and the spray from the falls.The service from the staff made up for this and as they were all so eager to please.Great family hotel as there is something for everyone to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Maybe the Elephant hill was a "Resort" hotel, in the 60s or 70s.
Now is a decadent building, with rooms old fashioned, an old bruising dining room and rusty machines called "gym".
It has a good position, surruonded by the nature but it ought to be renewed completely.
Not good value for money (we spent 120 € / day)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Victoria Falls
1.4 mi away
A'Zambezi River Lodge
A'Zambezi River Lodge
#8 of 12 in Victoria Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Victoria Falls Hotel
The Victoria Falls Hotel
#6 of 12 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
#5 of 12 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
Rainbow Hotel Victoria Falls
#12 of 12 in Victoria Falls
3.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Victoria Falls Safari Club
Victoria Falls Safari Club
#2 of 12 in Victoria Falls
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ilala Lodge
Ilala Lodge
#7 of 12 in Victoria Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Resort

Address: 300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#5 Spa Hotel in Victoria Falls
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hills Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic hotel, aptly named after the gentle giant of the bush (the elephant) merges seamlessly into its natural environment. Elephant Hills Resort has 276 rooms ranging from the impressive presidential suite to cool and spacious standard rooms. All rooms are ethnically decorated creating a combination of African ambiance with comfort and elegance. Each bedroom has modern amenities including air-conditioning, digital satellite television, bar fridge and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, South African Hotels, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Elephant Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Hotel
Elephant Hills Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.