We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Stay -Victoria Falls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hills Resort

Save Saved
You added Elephant Hills Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Hills Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
Bermuda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Stay -Victoria Falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Absolutely lovely,beautiful layout and people as friendly and as helpful as can be. In fact they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable as we were travelling with 2 babies. We spent the New Years there. I would definitely recommend it as a must see or stay at while in Victorial Falls. The food was good too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    100
    39
    11
    2
See reviews for
47
70
15
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending New Years Eve at that hotel. I must say I was happy with what I got. The people there were lovely and the General Manager was most attentive to my family. The New Years Eve Celebration was great and family friendly.
I was with my family (my parents and Uncle, in their mid fifties, my nephew - teenager and myself, a 35 year old woman). I must stay it was a good time. The food was good, the drinks even better. Easy to get to and from the hotel.
The hotel rooms were a bit older and maybe need some updating but I didnt have any problems for the price we paid. You can see the Zambezi River and also fell the spray of the falls which is lovely on a hot hot day (and man, it was HOT when we were there). The Pool was nice, the food was OK. nothing to hate.. it was OK.. hotel food...
Besides the hotel which we didnt spend too much time, make sure you go on the Elephant Rides (right across from the hotel). Enjoy the Falls!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Interesting stay for a couple and a child of 4yrs in the middle of the festive season.Fine the building is becoming a bit dated but its in a great location with great views of the Zambezi river and the spray from the falls.The service from the staff made up for this and as they were all so eager to please.Great family hotel as there is something for everyone to do.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Maybe the Elephant hill was a "Resort" hotel, in the 60s or 70s.
Now is a decadent building, with rooms old fashioned, an old bruising dining room and rusty machines called "gym".
It has a good position, surruonded by the nature but it ought to be renewed completely.
Not good value for money (we spent 120 € / day)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

we a family of 4 stayed at Elephant Hills from the 14 to 17 December 2012. We had a wonderful time. The hotel despite needing some refurbishment, was very comfortable and clean. the staff were extremely polite and couteous. The food was very good. There are majestic views from the rooms to the spray of the falls. The grounds are superb with impala running freely and a family of warthogs roaming around. The monkeys are very inquisitive and come right into the rooms if they are given half a chance.The stay was definitely worth it at this hotel. If it ever is upgraded, it has the potential to become a very smart and luxurious place. The pool area is excellent. A wonderful time was had by us all. Thank you.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the falls spray.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here in december 2012 with kids and had a great time. Although the hotel is not glamerous, the rooms were clean and roomy, staff exceedingly friendly and the grounds fantisstic. Great pool and a dining area with sweeping views over the Zambezi. Definately worth staying here. Its a short drive out of the main town, but there are shuttle buses going regularly.

Room Tip: If possible aske for rooms in the range of 220, 320, 420 as these have great views over the grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My first trip to Vic Falls was on a shoestring budget, so I was really excited to stay in one of the big hotels the second time around. The entrance and lobby looked modern and impressive but the room was dated and the airconditioning and fridge didn't work properly. Breakfast was an average buffet. The free wi-fi in communcal areas was a pleasant surprise. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Not a bad experience, but not great either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elephant Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Resort

Address: 300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hills Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic hotel, aptly named after the gentle giant of the bush (the elephant) merges seamlessly into its natural environment. Elephant Hills Resort has 276 rooms ranging from the impressive presidential suite to cool and spacious standard rooms. All rooms are ethnically decorated creating a combination of African ambiance with comfort and elegance. Each bedroom has modern amenities including air-conditioning, digital satellite television, bar fridge and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Elephant Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Hotel
Elephant Hills Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.