We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant Hills Resort

Save Saved
You added Elephant Hills Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elephant Hills Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
WORCESTER MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I travelled August 2012 with my husband and two kids 10yrs and 5yrs. We really had a fantastic time. The room and bathroom were clean but a little outdated. There is a refridgerator in the room.The staff was very friendly, front desk was outstanding. Thank you to the manager Mr Tymon Shumba who assisted us when we needed a safe to place our valuables.
The kids loved the pool, it was clean, the bartender and the music was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    101
    38
    11
    2
See reviews for
47
70
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A great location lovely grounds but needs to improve its rooms a lot. The decor a bit 1980's they need to revamp soon its look is old and tired . August a very busy month for conferences also certain areas of hotel should have a dress code some locals are rather precarious. Breakfast great value for money is very tasty . The pool bar is very nice but don't seem to have half the alcohol on the menu overall a bit disappointed

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Awesome place very friendly staff and couldn't so enough for us no problem in recommending them.
We didn't eat breakfast their as we were at a Cricket festival but all in all very pleasant people and switched on staff very obliging.
The pool area is beautiful and clean and the walk on the golf course amazing especially when you can see some game.
The lounge where you can have a drink and snacks and watch all the animals on the golf course was my favorite place especially early morning

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stay at the Victoria Falls Hotel. African Sun owns the 3 of the upper echelon hotels in Vic Falls, including these two and the Kingdom. The Kingdom has a small casino in the lobby and the hotel smells like moldy carpets, beer and cigarettes. As much as I feel at home in such an environment, I would never stay in that hotel, and children certainly should not. The Elephant Hills rooms are dated and run down. Bathrooms do not look bad but water pressure is terrible. Hot water was difficult to regulate in my room. Common areas are beat up. Staff is very friendly and not efficient. Breakfast buffet is barely just OK, and dinner buffet is not an option. The hotel is 4 km outside of town, which gets expensive if you have to take taxis for several days. The front desk staff is inept. The bar can get dodgy, but the bartenders are very nice. Better to go to the Imvuvu. Or the Vic Falls Hotel.
The Vic Falls Hotel merits a separate review, whenever I get to it. For the moment, let me just say everything about it is wonderful. Please just take my word. Stay at the Vic Falls Hotel.
I don't know anything about the Safari Lodge.
Try Mama Africa Eating House. The food is bland but it is a cute place, and nice for a change.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 4 days at the Elerphant Hills Hotel which was most enjoyable. Although the hotel is quite old and needs a facelift, the rooms were clean and well appointed. The staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much for them. There is also free wi-fi throughout the hotel which is a big advantage. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

What do you really want when you go to Victoria Falls? Do you want peace and tranquility with the town being just a quick free bus trip away or a hotel in the centre of town within walking distance of the falls, shops etc? If you want peace and tranquility then the Elephant Hills is the one for you. Take long lazy strolls on the golf course with Impala, Warthog etc within touching distance of you. Have a drink while looking at the Zambezi in the distance and the spray of the falls in the air. Nice spacious rooms and on the ground floor you can have your morning coffee sitting on the patio overlooking the bush and game walking in front of your unit. There are 4 restaurants and food is ok, but if you're from SA prepare to pay! Breakfast was included in our rate and that was very good. Enough to keep you going to late afternoon. Some hotel prices: Softdrinks USD2-3, Greek salad USD8, Toasted sandwiches USD8, Trout USD14. For dinner you can either do the buffet for USD27 or a la carte. Question is if I go back will I stay here again or at another hotel. Easy answer is I'll be back at the Elephant Hills.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The only downer about Elephant Hills Resort is its distance from Victoria Falls township. The place was clean, comfortable and attractive but seemed empty - was this due to its location?

Stayed here for two nights after a tour of South Africa, Namibia & Botswana (it was the end point and we chose to stay an extra night).

Staff were helpful. Facilities seemed underused - though looked good

Food in dining room was expensive and quite ordinary - the bar food was more eatible and reasonable priced. We actually felt trapped due to an infrequent shuttle service to VF township, perhaps if the shuttle ran more often it might attract more people.

Room Tip: A room overlooking theriver, pool or golf course would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elephant Hills Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Hills Resort

Address: 300 Park Way Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#9 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elephant Hills Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic hotel, aptly named after the gentle giant of the bush (the elephant) merges seamlessly into its natural environment. Elephant Hills Resort has 276 rooms ranging from the impressive presidential suite to cool and spacious standard rooms. All rooms are ethnically decorated creating a combination of African ambiance with comfort and elegance. Each bedroom has modern amenities including air-conditioning, digital satellite television, bar fridge and en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Elephant Hills Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Hills Hotel
Elephant Hills Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant Hills Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.