We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant

Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant
Stand 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls -, Zimbabwe
+263 13 43201-4
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Centuries past, we’re told, an inimitable Royal Drum disenchanted with its owner was lost forever when it ‘jumped’ into the Zambezi River. In honour of this legend, the award-winning Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant celebrates the richness of Africa’s heritage with fine fare and unmatched hospitality. The MaKuwa-Kuwa drumbeat is a call to partake of a royal feast.Located in the award-winning Victoria Falls Safari Lodge's central hub is the Makuwa-Kuwa Resaurant - split level and with a 270º view of the unfenced Zambezi National Park, and focusing on a central waterhole attracting year-round wildlife, the a la carte restaurant offers a wide variety of internationally styled cuisine, with a hint of African and game dishes thrown in. Diners are tempted by gourmet dishes made from the choicest selection of local and imported ingredients, and Zimbabwe’s finest winelist. Little wonder then, that this restaurant lays unchallenged claim to Zimbabwe’s top eatery title year after year…
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Amazing place to eat. Perfect location, great people and so much fun! Thanks to the owners and people working there for the hard work!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome! Will definitely be going again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

I went there on a romantic dinner and was extremely satisfied with the food and service. I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you very much for posting your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your romantic dinner served in our restaurant.

We hope to host you again some day

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Service, Food and ambience all get 10 out of 10. The Hyena's squabbling at the Vulture Culture were an added bonus!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VFSL_Jonathan, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind and positive words. We are delighted that we could make your stay so enjoyable and that you found our food and service so favourable

Best Regards
Jonathan Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Still let down by the smaller things.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had an excellent dinner one evening, food, atmosphere and service were good. However, as on previous visits, one morning, breakfast service was horrendous. We had to wait 20 minutes before a breakfast menu eventually arrived, 40 minutes for coffee after which I eventually had to search for a waiter to take our breakfast order. The cooked breakfast eventually arrived then we had to ask for toast which took a further 10 minutes to arrive. As I have stated previously, this seems to be due to inadequate staff training. Please management help your staff to provide better service!Thank you!
Dinner tip; pre book your table to get a table with an excellent view!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our table overlooked the lake where the animals congregate. Our waitress was friendly if a little reserved but very efficient.

We started off with Smoked Crocodile Pasta Tubes that was delicious. Could have eaten more. We then tried the Tremendous Tapas which included smoked mussels in pickled calamari rings, slivers of ostrich carpaccio set on a summer vegetable salsa, coffee peppered impala and an air dried mini pizza base. The mussels in calamari rings were not very good but everything else was delicious. As an entree we ordered the Grilled "Pumba" - Flame grilled white wine and bush herb marinated warthog fillet medallions served with a sage scented potato strudel basted with homemade barbeque sauce and flamed maple glazed baby apples. While we were in Africa we tried game every chance we got. This was good but our all time favorite was eland. Dessert was a disappointment. We had a dessert selection plate including lemon meringue, chocolate mousse and Chef Leo`s torte all of which was too sweet and rich. The best of the lot was the lemon meringue. The Homemade Ice Creams - A trio of vanilla pod, sambucca and coconut snow ball ice cream was a little too different for our tastes.

The experience was great. The food very good. Great end to our evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.