We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant with a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant

Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant
Stand 471 Squire Cummings Road, Victoria Falls -, Zimbabwe
+263 13 43201-4
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Centuries past, we’re told, an inimitable Royal Drum disenchanted with its owner was lost forever when it ‘jumped’ into the Zambezi River. In honour of this legend, the award-winning Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant celebrates the richness of Africa’s heritage with fine fare and unmatched hospitality. The MaKuwa-Kuwa drumbeat is a call to partake of a royal feast.Located in the award-winning Victoria Falls Safari Lodge's central hub is the Makuwa-Kuwa Resaurant - split level and with a 270º view of the unfenced Zambezi National Park, and focusing on a central waterhole attracting year-round wildlife, the a la carte restaurant offers a wide variety of internationally styled cuisine, with a hint of African and game dishes thrown in. Diners are tempted by gourmet dishes made from the choicest selection of local and imported ingredients, and Zimbabwe’s finest winelist. Little wonder then, that this restaurant lays unchallenged claim to Zimbabwe’s top eatery title year after year…
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Although pricey for South Africans, the food was excellent and beautifully served and tastey with big portions. Salad was fresh and attractively served. Lunch is great served on a pool deck overlooking a waterhole with frequent wild visitors! All the drinks were served ice cold! A great kiddies menu is also available.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Hello Justine-Jesse
Thank you for enjoying meals with us at the Makuwa-Kuwa restaurant overlooking the waterhole at Victoria Falls Safari Lodge. This is our group's flagship restaurant and we are constantly striving to do better and better; indeed we are currently in another intensive training phase.

Yes, meals and drinks unavoidably cost a little more at Victoria Falls because we are a landlocked country and most of our food items (and many drinks) are imported, including road haulage from Bulawayo or Harare. But I hope the animals at the waterhole and the beautifully served food did justice to your experience.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine cuisine, great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

i had an amazing lunch on the deck, close to the lovely pool. spotter some impala, warthog and elephants at the water hole. the food was well presented, fresh green salad and hamburger rolls. I'LL DEFINITELY GO BACK FOR MORE :)))

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
As a Victoria Falls resident well used to the wonderful wilderness environment all around it is heartening that you came to Makuwa-Kuwa and enjoyed both the food and the vista so much. This means a lot to us and we thank you for your kind words of high praise.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“'Pipped at the post' by The Victoria Falls Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Staying for 4 nights at the new Victoria Falls Safari Club we booked a table at Makuwa-Kuwa. Although we have stayed at the Falls several times over the years this was our first time at the restaurant. WOW! The restaurant is stunning! More so i imagine if you it is a first trip to Africa. If you do go book a table as the best tables are for those that reserve. Out first meal was the Valentines meal. Amuse-bouch, Starter, Main, one dessert each and one to share! $35. Service was good, setting magnificent. The head chef came out and spoke to all the diners.
The following night we arrived without booking an inside table. A very inexperienced waitress took our orders we felt very sorry for her. Although It didn't spoil our evening, come on management give your new people a chance, train them properly don't throw them in the deep end! Food again was good excellent sized portions. Reasonable prices.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you in Bulawayo for your kind review of your two dinners at Makuwa-Kuwa. It's always the location that gets the WOW reviews and it is also good to know you thoroughly enjoyed your food.

On your second night we apologise if you were inconvenienced by being attended to by an inexperienced waitress. There are a few hotel school attaches and trainees in our system at the moment , but it is our policy that they should not "go it alone" but be tagged on to the supervisor of the day. All booked tables remain with senior waiters and duty headwaiters and all trainees are supposed to have limited direct contact with guests and that with supervision. Obviously we slipped up the night you were there and your comments have ensured that we re-visit our policies.

Victor Saurombe
Deputy General Manager (Food & Beverage)
dgmfandbmgr@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Won't Be Back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

What a pity! During January 2009 & January 2010, we dined at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant at Safari Lodge almost daily - lunch & dinner, as we were staying in self catering lodges in the vicinity. The meals were incredible!! 8 Adults. In January 2013 we could not wait for our culinary experience at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant. It was a disaster. We were not the only very disappointed diners. They were all around us and we should have left as soon as we witnessed the dissatisfaction instead of giving the Restaurant the benefit of the doubt! Roast beef fobbed off as carpaccio. Told there was no salmon, so we ordered a different starter, only to be given salmon! Main meals that tasted like they'd been cooked the previous day and re-heated. We definitely won't be back!! The entertainers are good. The view is outstanding. Been there, done that ...... What a pity.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Vivienne
We are very bleak that you were so disappointed with your dining experience at Makuwa-Kuwa, especially as you were repeat guests. We can only profusely apologise. Obviously some unexpected gremlins at work that night because, as all may see, 84% of reviewers rate Makuwa-Kuwa very highly and yours is the very first in the "Poor" category.

While we do on occasion have challenges with various products (as all come by road from Bulawayo or Harare) we have never run out of salmon and, as an a la cvarte restaurant, all meals are cooked to order with the freshest ingredients possible and nothing is ever re-heated and re-served.

We are currently in the middle of a very intense re-training and fine-tuning exercise involving all our properties and products and I can assure you that your comments have been taken very much to heart. Please, give Makuwa-Kuwa another chance when you are next in Victoria Falls - it would be good to regain your faith in us.

Jonathan Hudson
Resort General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
1,621 reviews 1,621 reviews
536 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 454 cities Reviews in 454 cities
1,534 helpful votes 1,534 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, views, food, service at this lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This restaurant in the Victoria Falls Safari Lodge has a winning combination that makes for an excellent dining experience. We were staying at the lodge and decided eat here at 7 PM one evening so we could see the sunset and animals by their watering hole. We were seated at a table for two on the balcony overlooking this great scene. Our waiter, Wayne, was a pleasant, charming young man who provided attentive service--he also had to work at the breakfast buffet in the morning setting up.

We had a platter of Zambezi Bream, a tasty local fish with a delicious combination of vegetables and potatoes and the Chef's Pasta of chicken and mushroom fricassee--this was a very large, filling, excellent platter. This came to a reasonably priced $36 dinner and was one of the best dinners we had on our trip in Africa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AfricaAlbidaTourism, General Manager at Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hello Mr Miller
As I said in my lodge response to you we must pay our respects for your pedigree as a noted hotel/lodge and food critic - reviewing 319 restaurants across the globe is a notable feat. Therefore your 5-star rating is indeed really appreciated by our team at the lodge and Wayne was particularly delighted to be mentioned in dispatches.

We're delighted you found your dinner to be one of your best during your African safari and that so enjoyed your table "overlooking the great scene." Thank you!

Jonathan Hudson
General Manager
jonathan@saflodge.co.zw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Makuwa-Kuwa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.