We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea with a unique view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanley's Terrace

Stanley's Terrace
The Victoria Falls Hotel, 2 Mallett Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
+263 13 44751
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Tea with a unique view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We tried to have lunch here but they were supposedly fully booked - nevertheless we came back for tea. High tea was served with all the trimmings and impeccable service, and the canapés were nice enough, I've had better and worse, but that's not the point - one eats here because there is a view of the bridge over the Zambezi and the gorges below. And that is unique experience

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    60
    27
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea on the terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Well it just had to be done, the old colonial custom but with a twist as there aren't many tea rooms in the UK that can boast a small herd (pack?) of warthogs cropping the lawn unconcernedly whilst being photographed by visitors to the hotel.

The tea was a little weak but the sandwiches, scones and cakes were fine. We went back for a cocktail later and of course chose the Stanley and the Livingstone cocktails - not the best, a little too sweet for our liking and the overriding flavor was of ginger beer but select a different cocktail and drink in the atmosphere which is what you're there for!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Impressive place to have "High Tea"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our tour group of 15 people had late afternoon tea at the Victoria Fall Hotel. Terrace is outdoors and mist from distant Falls can be seen across a picturesque landscape.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“overpriced and limited menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The prices here are pretty steep and the menu pretty small but its still a nice place to have a tea in the afternoon or a drink in the evening - watching the spray from the falls

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We only had some snacks and salad, did not expect something overwhelming. But we absolutely enjoyed the nice location and the view. Staff has been very attentive and friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stanley's Terrace also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Stanley's Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanley's Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.