We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges to your Saves list
Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Parkway | Victoria Falls, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights. Our room was Ok, a bit shabby but the beds were comfortable and the bedding clean. There is an excellent swimming pool. The showers and toilet facilities were among the best we found in 5 weeks of camping through Africa. Very clean with lots of hot water. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Where this place wins over others is that it is right in the middle of Vic Falls town, you just go out of the gate and you are in the main tourist street and just a few minutes walk from the waterfall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    56
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
26
27
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We camped - and also did the overlanders. There was music until 00.30... The ablution blocks are clean, it feels safe and it is close to everything. Victoria Falls is totally different from the rest of Zim. - many tourists and consequences of that.

The lodges we didnt see from the inside but they were not looking very inviting

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property, we are delighted that you found our ablutions clean, our campsite secure and our location convenient. Due to our location, we continuously get noise off the streets and from bars in town. This is something we unfortunately do not have control over but we always encourage our guests to camp away from the main street. We hope that the noise did not spoil your stay in Victoria Falls and hope to have you back in the near future. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in the chalets for 2 nights. Downsides - there are no screens on the windows, the beds are ancient and crumbling, the linen was dirty, the mozzie nets had holes in then and there is no fan. Upsides - nice pool and cafe on site, close to town.

We stayed in much much nicer accommodation for the same price on the Zambian side of the falls.

Overpriced for what you get, even for Africa

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to note that you found our pool and cafe nice. We are also delighted that you found our location convenient. We will look into the areas you highlighted and will continuously work on improving our facilities. Thank you for staying with us and for helping us improve through your most valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This lodge was very centrally located and the pool was a very nice addition. I stayed in a single chalet which was very roomy, but there was no fan or ac and the window screens were in need of repair so mosquitoes could get in. I asked for the room to be sprayed and they said they only did that once a month..
There were bamboos playing outside in the morning - very funny!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property, we are pleased to learn that you found our accommodation affordable and our chalets very roomy. It is very unfortunate that you stayed a little early as we have just completed installing ceiling fans in all our chalets. We hope you will be back in future and be able to stay in the chalet with the ceiling fan. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Vic Falls Rest Camp was very dissapointing. There was no cleaning services, no warm water and no airconditioning (as promised on the website). Everything on their website is misleading and not there. The chalets are in a bad condition!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property, we appreciate your feedback and regret that your stay was not pleasant. I am however not too sure which website you looked at before booking as there is no mention of air-conditioned rooms on our website. We continously work on improving our facilities and will look into the areas you highlighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ad Dawha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We checked in on September 17 -18, 2013 at the Safari Luxury tent, it was amazing. The luxury tent is awesome and what a nice place to come rest after a day of excursions?
The staff were helpful especially Oscar who made sure we were informed about the stuff we wanted to do, thanks. Reception staff and cleaners were also amazing.
I will be coming back soon and cant think of any other place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you Maggie for taking time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the Luxury tent and found our staff helpful and friendly. We value your feedback and will do our best to ensure all our guest have a stay as pleasant as yours was. We hope you will be back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Location: Easily found. Right on the street with all the shops and tour companies. 15-20min easy walk to the falls.

Stay: I stayed 2nights in the dome tent. The tents are set on top of a concrete base that rises 1/2' from the ground, with a few pad locks at the zippers for added assurance of security. Simple bed & bedding, with a side table and a hanging lamp. Does the job for just a nt's stay and sleep when in Victoria Falls, and looking to reserve $$ to spend on the jumps/swing/raftings or other activities. Although I had a bad bug bite on the 2nd night, giving me a swollen eye for the day, it wasn't something to really complain about when you are sleeping semi-outdoor. I went during their winter times, so it does get quite chilly at night, so make sure you bring enough or you'll be sitting up cold all night. Washroom & shower is communal, with male/female separated. I almost always had all the slot choices to myself, which was quite liberating, as I can take as long as I wanted. Facilities are reasonably well maintained, washroom/shower/tent. I didn't feel too out of place for the 2nt's stay. Do bring your own toiletries & towel, just like at a real campsite. Although they probably lend or sell at location.

Service: Staffs are very helpful, you just need to ask. Going there, I thought I read somewhere that they had outlets to charge my electronics but they didn't. So I asked if there were anywhere I can charge my toys. Ended up, they were able to charged all my batteries in the manager's office which was locked. I felt relieved and genuinely appreciative of their efforts.

Food: In house restaurant has very good food at a good price. I remembered having a crocodile meat salad, warthog dish, and some local beers. All were very satisfying, adding the restaurant is an outdoor hut just made it even more enjoyable.

Overall: Great deal. Don't expect too much. You are in Africa after all. It's really quite reasonable what they offer for the price you pay. If you are visiting Victoria Falls, you shouldn't be sitting in the room all day anyway.

Room Tip: Lodges & chalets are available if you prefer more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed your meals and beers at our restaurant. We have noted your comment about the tents getting chilly and will ensure our guests have extra blankets next winter. With us being in the park we gets lots of small animals and bugs running around and it is quite a challenge keeping them out but we will do our best to ensure regular fumigation of our facilities. Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges

Address: Parkway | Victoria Falls, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Falls Self Catering and Camping Accommodation at the Vic Falls Restcamp is the best budget accommodation available in the Victoria Falls, ZIMBABWE. The Rest Camp is situated right in the middle of Victoria Falls town in Zimbabwe making it a perfect place to be based with all amenities within walking distance. The Restcamp is only 2km’s from the falls making it the closest campsite to the Victoria Falls. The security around the camp is a top priority with high stainless steel fences and electric fences making it first-class. The rest camp boasts numerous well maintained grass areas and an abundance of different varieties of trees making the surroundings in the camp very enjoyable. It makes this restcamp very popular for families as children have a safe and secure scenic environment to play in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Rest Camp Hotel Victoria Falls
Victoria Falls Rest Camp And Lodges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.