We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a bit old and tired but clean comfy and with great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges to your Saves list
Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Parkway | Victoria Falls, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It's a bit old and tired but clean comfy and with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a long road trip through three countries and it was great. The grounds and facilities are great and Oscar the boss is fab. It's a bit old and tired but well worth it. The attached restaurant is excellent and the site is very secure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that your stay was great and will continue doing our best to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay in Victoria Falls. It is through your feedback that we can be able to continously improve our facilities, thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    68
    42
    14
    6
See reviews for
29
30
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here in August and upgraded to a 2-room lodge after 3 weeks camping. The room was exceptionally basic with toilet and shower facilities provided in shared blocks. It did at least give us a good night's sleep and meant we weren't pestered by monkeys. The site has the advantage of being very secure. We liked the restaurant: portions were small but food was good quality and service was prompt. I recommend the wartho schnitzel which was very tender!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property, we appreciate and value your feedback. Good to hear that you enjoyed your meals as well well at our In-Da-Belly restaurant. We hope you will return to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We camped here for one night. Around 5 pm the place is full of small monkeys who are after your food. They climb up the trees with tupperware from the guests! Camping is a large open space and large safari groups also camp here, so it can get very noisy. Ablution blocks are clean but old. Location is perfect close to the Falls.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaMutamba, General Manager at Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. We appreciate your feedback and are especially happy that you found our ablutions clean. We are unfortunately located in the middle of a Game park, as such it is difficult to keep the small animals away even though we have an electrified fence right round our property. We will do our best to ensure our guests are well informed about the monkeys so they can keep foodstuffs locked away when they leave their camping sites. Thank you once again for you valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

On arrival at approximately 11.30am, we had to wait reception for some time (the young ladies at the front desk seemed disinterested or distracted) before being attended to only to be told that we couldn't check in until 2.00pm. There was no room for compromise which was a little disappointing. Had lunch at the onsite restaurant while we waited. For the price, the portions were small but the food was fine and the service was good. Checked back in at 2.00pm and we were directed to our accommodation which was clean and well maintained. Unpacked and headed for the shower only to find that there was no soap and very little toilet paper. I had to ask one of the laundry staff to organise supply of said items which arrived over an hour later.
Had our evening meal at the restaurant and again, the portions were small but the food and service was good. Our stay included B&B so we were looking forward to breakfast next morning. A full cooked breakfast was most welcome but to be charged for an extra cup of coffee? Disappointing to say the least. We decided to again give the restaurant a try for dinner. Same problem with the portion sizes but the clincher came when our waiter brought the main course to the table before we had finished our starters. Fortunately I was able to report this to the lady Manageress who assured me she would speak to the staff member.
Lots of 'average' experiences during our stay, hence the rating. I would think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having first visited Vic Falls back in 1975, it is good to see that VF Rest Camp cottages have been well maintained over all these years. I was travelling with 3 friends, and we had a lot to do in 4 days, so we just wanted a place to sleep, shower and snack. The cottages are very good value for money, clean, super hot water, and well positioned smack in the middle of VF. It was good to have the Wi-Fi and I have no complaints about the "In da Belly Restaurant" situated within the Camp. If you don't need the comforts of a hotel, and would rather use your money on VF activities, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Spend 3 nights here in June. Stayed in the lodges which are 'old colonial style cottages'. We were upgrading at the end of a 22 day camping trip and was keen for civilisation! The receptionists were cool and disinterested but provided us with key to check out the lodges before booking. Our first lodge didn't have any hot water, so we walked down to the shared amenities for a hot shower. They were unable to find a reason so we moved to another lodge at 9pm. The next night when we went to have a bath (no shower option in our lodges), lukewarm water again! So down to the shared amenities again! Restaurant- we had our group trip dinner here and the food was reasonable with basic sized main meal at $15US! Very basic wine list with 1 white and 1 red wine at $15US!! Forget the white.

Room Tip: Try and find a lodge that has hot water- good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Old colonial style cottages set within a spacious compound with a pool and restaurant, this was a haven from the hustle and bustle of Vic Falls town. Laundry can be done on site. You can buy a ticket for WiFi and hotspots are the reception area and bar, but mine worked in our cottage. Cottages have 2 bedrooms each containing 2 single beds. There is a bathroom with toilet and either bath or shower. A small but adequate kitchen has an electric 2 ringed stove, microwave, kettle toaster and basic equipment. The small dining area opens out onto lawn with BBQ facilities. Beware leaving the door open as monkeys dash in and grab whatever takes their fancy! The cottages are basic, clean and comfortable and serviced each day if you choose. We stayed for 3 nights, which was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges

Address: Parkway | Victoria Falls, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Falls Self Catering and Camping Accommodation at the Vic Falls Restcamp is the best budget accommodation available in the Victoria Falls, ZIMBABWE. The Rest Camp is situated right in the middle of Victoria Falls town in Zimbabwe making it a perfect place to be based with all amenities within walking distance. The Restcamp is only 2km’s from the falls making it the closest campsite to the Victoria Falls. The security around the camp is a top priority with high stainless steel fences and electric fences making it first-class. The rest camp boasts numerous well maintained grass areas and an abundance of different varieties of trees making the surroundings in the camp very enjoyable. It makes this restcamp very popular for families as children have a safe and secure scenic environment to play in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Falls Rest Camp Hotel Victoria Falls
Victoria Falls Rest Camp And Lodges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls Rest Camp & Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.