We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of Our Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorries Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lorries Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Lorries Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
397 Reynard Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Highlight of Our Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Lorrie's Bnb made our trip. I stayed there for several weeks and could not have been happier. It really became my home away from home. The food is great, the staff is so kind and helpful, the rooms are spotless and very comfortable, and the bar is excellent. Lorrie, Clive, and George are some of the best people you'll meet-they became our family in Zim, and we will be back again just to stay there. Lorrie helped arrange weekend trips for us and told us all the great places to go in the Falls. We could not have found another place like it in the Falls, it is a truly special place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
17
11
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We really liked this place and felt very comfortable here. Lorrie is very friendly and welcoming, and goes out of her way to help – a wonderful host. She’s always there when you need her (but knows when to leave you in peace) and she is a mine of information about Vic Falls.

We really liked our room – we are a mother and daughter, and the room was set up so that we had our own separate sleeping spaces. Our room had two single beds and a double bed, a living area, bathroom and outdoor verandah. It was nicely decorated and perfectly comfortable. There is also a pool, but it was too cold to swim while we were there. The only downside was that our toilet took forever to fill up.

The breakfast is mostly do-it-yourself cereals and toast, with a simple cooked portion. We didn’t have dinner there – there are so many great options in town. The dining and bar areas could do with a revamp.

It was no problem that this place is out of town, as taxis are plentiful and only $3 to/from town.

Lorrie can book all of your activities for you, for the same price as if you ran around town booking them yourself. She is full of ideas and info. about what is good to do and what isn’t, which is very useful if you’re unsure of which ones of the many activities available you want to do.

If we ever go back to Vic Falls, we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This was the best value B&B in Vic Fall. After traveling by Pathfinder Coaches from Bulawayo over a 6 hour journey we arrived at 8.45 and Lorrie was kind enough to make us up some food which we were very thankful to have had after such a long trip. She was an Angel, bless her.
Next morning she arranged a cheap taxi to take us to the falls and the driver even understood my Welsh Accent.In fact he took us everywhere, to the falls, Vic Falls hotel, Big tree and the interesting Crocodile Farm.
Lorrie also organised for us to go on the Sunset cruise on the Zambezi river which she recommended, we saw the hippopotamus's in the water, had a lovely meal and sat and watched the sun go down. A lovely couple and George was such a character for a 82 year old, looked fit as a fiddle!! I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if you want a bath in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We began our Southern Africa adventure in Zimbabwe. Lorries B&B was our first stop where we stayed two nights and it was like staying with that family member you love who always makes room for you. Very comfortable and safe (gated).

Like the other reviews say, Lorrie, Clive and George are so real and welcoming...full of advice and patience if you can't make up your mind about what to do. Lorrie arranged several last minute adventures for us that turned out VERY well. They arranged for Paul (a taxi driver) to pick us up and take us various places. His prices seemed fair and he was prompt.

The bar/cafe is a great place to hang out and tell stories about the day's adventures. You will be way better off here than wandering in to town to find a drink.

Our adventures required us to get up very early so we never had the breakfasts.

The rooms are older and could use some maintenance, especially the bathrooms (however, construction endeavors are difficult in Zimbabwe). Everything worked and was clean and spacious with mosquito nets on the beds and fans overhead.

One note - WiFi only worked in the bar/lobby area.

Likes:
- The location
- The hosts
- The bar

Dislikes:
- Heat: Unfortunately it was very hot when we were there and no fan would have kept us cool. Not something our hosts could've controlled.

Bottom Line: For the price, location and hospitality I would stay at Lorrie's again. We couldn't have had a better start to our adventure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We recently stayed at lorries b&b for 3 nights although the facilities are a bit old they are comfortable and clean .Lorrie ,Clive and George are very friendly , and are very helpful in there local knowledge .The meals were very good home cooked style, and the bar was well stocked .Lorrie is able to arrange local tours , and transport ,and has good hints on the local taxi service. As lorries is about 2km for town ,it is a nice walk in the morning ,but after all day walking around the falls and town ,you may need a taxi ride back to Lorries in the evening.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom cottage is ideal for 2 couples or a family it is separated from the main building so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place! Lorrie did up a fantastic itinerary for us that made sure we got the experience we wanted in the time we were there. The rooms were comfortable and the banter from George you won't find at a hotel! Lorrie, Clive and George all became good friends - such is the experience at lorries. Stay for dinner and request the crocodile tail! town is a short taxi and places to eat like Boma a short walk. Lorries comes highly recommended, we have brought home unforgettable memories. Be sure to bring a spare hat to hang on the bar wall!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Lorrie and Clive are pleasant and friendly but the accommodation is not what we expected. The towels are thin, the ceilings patched, the mosquito nets dirty, there is no aircon despite the heat and everything is old.The accommodation needs a complete revamp and upgrade.
I take into account that it can't be easy running a business as an individual in Zimbabwe and this has moderated my comments.

Room Tip: can't help because we only saw the accommodation allocated to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lorries Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorries Bed and Breakfast

Address: 397 Reynard Road, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorries Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.