We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tram trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Falls Steam Train

Victoria Falls Steam Train
Old Customs House | Victoria Falls Station, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
+2631342912
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great tram trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Unfortunately the steam train wasn't running but I'm glad someone recommended the tram to me. The trip was great - I did the daytime trip and loved going through the national park and over the bridge. The bridge walk on the catwalk was great - what a unique way to see the falls and learn the history. And a bonus on the journey back was the elephants next to the track. Great trip!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    25
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dont Miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It run's on certain night;s so be sure to book a seat. There is also a tram if the train is not running. Nice snack's and sundowners on the bridge. We also spotted elephant on the way back

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely way to spend an evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A beautiful old Garret engine and a collection of 50+ year old carriages rolled u to take us on a sunset journey to Victoria Falls bridge. Liveried staff served snacks and complementary drinks throughout and we had sparkling wine strolling about on the bridge over the Zambezi while watching the sunset. What more could you wish for.
An excellent excursion and a great way to enjoy the highlife. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Vic Falls Steam Train - Sunset Bridge Run”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had one evening, one full day, and one morning in Victoria Falls and opted to go on the Sunset Bridge Run immediately upon our arrival the first evening. After reading many wonderful things about the trip, we were very underwhelmed. While the ride was pleasant, the drinks endless, and the views gorgeous, we really expected more. The hors d'oeuvres were only served once, and an incredibly minimal amount was available. We were also surprised that the trip was so short - really a few minutes to the bridge, then the bulk of the "trip" you are sitting on the bridge, not moving. You are free to walk around or stay on the train. And we arrived back at the hotel BEFORE SUNSET (on a Sunset Bridge Run).

That said, it was a very relaxing evening, and wonderful to step off the train onto the bridge and be greeted with champagne. And you can't complain about the views.

I would recommend this trip if you have more time in Vic Falls, but if you are on a short few days, as we were, there are other excursions that should take priority.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Lancs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

A ride on a steam train followed by champagne on the bridge overlooking the Falls. What could be better? Probably a once in a lifetime experience.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Falls Steam Train also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Victoria Falls Steam Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Falls Steam Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.