We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch service, amazing views and luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elephant Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Victoria Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Elephant Camp
Save Saved
You added The Elephant Camp to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Victoria Falls
Pretoria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top-notch service, amazing views and luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We decided to go all out and splurge on a few days at the Elephant Camp after reading the great reviews and looking for a luxurious and special experience in Vic Falls. This place was everything we could have wanted. It's out of our usual budget by far, but considering that everything is included (all meals, alcoholic beverages, transport into town, etc.) it ends up being a reasonably decent deal. Good luck trying to do Vic Falls cheaply! The food was usually quite good. We found that the lunches were the best, so don't book your schedule too full for your stay (easy to do!); make sure you spend an afternoon or two at the lodge to enjoy their delicious lunches and lounging around by the pool, or for that matter around your personal plunge pool! The service we received from ALL staff was incredibly professional! We truly enjoyed getting to know the special characters that work for this lodge, doing everything from driving to management. The friendly and competent service is perhaps what put this place over the top for us. We've never stayed any place with such great people in South Africa or the region. The whole orphaned elephants now trained for people to ride thing is a bit gimmicky and makes this place feel a bit like a circus. That experience was definitely odd for us. If we hadn't gone on the elephant ride and done the feeding experience, we wouldn't have even known about it and perhaps would have left without the odd feeling about this place we ended up with. The orphan cheetah was beautiful and fun, but also felt a bit gimmicky. What was great about that experience was being able to walk through the bush, and learning about the local flora and fauna from the highly knowledgable resident biologist/cheetah caretaker. Our favorite activity in Vic Falls was the whitewater rafting trip which we booked with the same company that runs Elephant Camp. Great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    16
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
154
13
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sopot, Poland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

The Lodge has excellent localization. Every tent is spacious and very private. Has nice bathroom with shower in and out site, bath close to the "window" with a spectacular view in the Victoria Falls National Park. Terrace with jacuzzi, bedroom and living room. Gorgeous! Very nice and calm atmosphere, nice and very friendly staff. Very good cuisine. Souvenir shop and massage service.
Everything luxurious in such an amazing remote place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We visited Elephant Camp with our 12-year old son and 14-year old daughter. All of us had an adventure of a lifetime on a daily basis thanks to the excellence of Elephant Camp and her staff.
Jonathan had the kids in stitches with his serse of humor, and they learned an incredible amount about the falls, nature, and the lovely people of Zimbabwe, while loving every moment. The food was exquisite and the service bar-none. We have been visiting a few of the &Beyond locations and are thrilled that they partnered with Wild Horizons to bring this world class facility to tourists after the closing of Matetsi.
A few things we discovered or found helpful:
- Zimbabwe, and especially the Elephant Camp is an extremely safe destination for families, don't believe the nay-sayers.
- The falls are indeed much better from the Zimbabwe side.
- Take some citronella patches with you and put it on the inside your clothes, they work!
- Make a walk with Sylvester a priority, it is something your kids won't ever forget.
- Take a ride on the elephants and buy your gifts there, the proceeds go towards caring for the elephants.
- A helicopter ride over the falls brings a whole new perspective about it's beauty.
- Buy some protective "rain gear" to cover your camera, you will need it.
- Make sure your kids have their own cameras, sometimes they take better shots than the adults and have a different perspective on what's important to them.
- Bring gifts such as a backpack from Walmart, T shirts, books and school materials. It is greatly appreciated and it teaches the kids all is not about them.
- When you buy trinkets in the village, go to the store in the front, not the traders in the back, the prices are comparable and you don't get overwhelmed by traders.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The title says it all. Great experience from start to finish. The staff could not do enough for us and the food was fantastic, love the chef coming out each night to talk through the menu. Everyone has mentioned Sylvester and he is a great part of this place. Transfers to the falls and everywhere else was well organised. The room is fabulous and huge with great air conditioning (needed it) and the plunge pool on the deck was beautiful. We had the end villa which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Great hospitality and wonderful service. I would recommend Elephant Camp to anyone who has the privilege to visit Victoria Falls. The staff makes every effort to make your stay one you will remember forever. The tents are spacious and very luxurious.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Everything that recent reviews have mentioned about The Elephant Camp are true. The aim of all the staff is to cater to the guests and make sure they have an enjoyable, stress-free time at a tented camp with a beautiful view. In fact, the goal of Jonathan Ellway, in charge at EC, is that guests have a fantastic, leisurely vacation and he and the rest of the staff try to ensure that result. The food is great and the place is lovely. The tents have plunge pools and outside showers. While there are many animal tracks, not many are seen in the flesh during the wet season. However, this is not a safari and not advertised as such. The opportunity to take a long walk with Sylvester, the rescued orphan cheetah ambassador, during which he is not on a lead (leash) to the site where the Masue Falls come down to join the Zambezi River, and then to see Sylvester at home in his spacious enclosure is something I will remember fondly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We loved our experience at the Elephant Camp!
Staff were great and on hand to assist with any request. The food served is absolutely divine and service is impeccable! Dickson was an absolute star! Though all the staff are wonderful - Hilda, Prosper, Shepard, Bornface and Johnathan we appreciate all your efforts with us!
Having Sylvester the tame cheetah on hand to see up close and personal was a highlight! Ed and Lewis were very informative and clearly passionate - the world needs more of you!
Every whim was catered to, and they all went above and beyond their duties with us!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elephant Camp 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls’ spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 guests in 12 luxury tents. All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. All guests staying at The Elephant Camp will have an opportunity to meet the Wild Horizons elephant herd. Selected Spa Treatments are available in the privacy of your suite (subject to availability, on request at an additional charge). Access is by road transfer from Victoria Falls (15 km from Victoria Falls Airport and 10 km from Victoria Falls town), Livingstone and Kasane. Your stay at The Elephant Camp INCLUDES: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover & Meeting the Wild Horizons elephants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elephant Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.