We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Elephant Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Victoria Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Elephant Camp
Save
You added The Elephant Camp to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Affiliate website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Victoria Falls
Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Our group of six descended on The Elephant Camp in mid November 2012. We all experienced the very best of service. Amazing meals created by a terrific chef, all served on a beautiful deck overlooking grasslands and watering holes where we often seen animals. Our "tents" were beyond extravagant, every conceivable amenity, outdoor shower, our own plunge pool and private deck. The entire staff were also fantastic, always ready to help us in anyway they could. We had a great time touring Victoria Falls and going for a ride on an elephant. We also got to meet Sylvester the Cheetah and even go for a late afternoon walk with him!

Our entire experience exceeded anything we could have imagined!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    19
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
60
186
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights following our Namibia-Botswana time. The rooms and the main area were beautiful but the place just lacked the warmth we experienced at the 4 other camps we stayed out. The place is run more like a hotel, the service and food were ok....I guess it's the little things like not refilling the water/wine and not preparing enough food at breakfast. But if you are just staying a few days to do the Vic Falls things, it's an ok place to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildHorizons, Director of Sales at The Elephant Camp, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
It is with great dismay that I read your review. We pride ourselves on the level of service that we provide at The Elephant Camp and at Wild Horizons in general and to receive feedback such as yours is very disappointing. Can you please send me the exact dates of your stay with us? We would like to follow up with the staff on duty at the time. Best regards, Shane White
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Elephant Camp was included in our Botswana-Zambia trip so we could 'check off' Victoria Falls. I didn't expect much, frankly there website pics need to be updated
- the place was excellent. The GM and ALL the rest of the staff were polite, informed, accommodating.Extremely clean rooms, main area, grounds.
The location was a 10-15 minute drive from the Falls but in a private concession. Must be 7-8 miles distant from the falls but even in the end of the dry season you could see the mist and hear the water
The room was immense, large 'tent, with some minimal air conditioning (it was 90+ degrees first week September). King bed, living room, full bath with shower and tub, plus an outdoor shower, deck and small (very cold) plunge pool.
100 yard walk to main 'tent' where you had a very nice formal sitting room, bar, reading area; outside a large deck with plenty of space for guests to dine and lounge. Food was excellent, seriously, excellent and varied. Fun moment was head waiter 'announces' the meal to guests before serving.
Fun #2: nearby ' elephant orphanage' brought over a rescued 2 year old Cheetah at breakfast. You can visit the rescue camp as its on the same grounds a couple miles away.
Some good game viewing from the room (monkeys, antelope) in the morning.
Falls were out of this world as expected - and, when we left to go into Zambia for Livingstone airport, we realized how much less of a hassle and time it was being in Zimbabwe vs. Zambia when trying to get to the falls. Zim customs is a nightmare and easily add an hour+ each way to get to the falls.
Dropped in at the Vic. Falls hotel after visiting the falls, the grand Dame of the area, and it has finished a nice overhaul and looks very nice - but I'll take the Elephant Camp. While not a real safari experience like all the other camps we visited on this trip it was a nice break and still made you feel you were on safari - sort of.

Room Tip: we had the room furthest from the main tent (lounge etc.), left facing the main......trail just feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Elephant Camp is Awesome. The place is very clean and tidy. he Staff is very Friendly and caring. We were welcomed with dignity. We enjoyed the healthy food and plenty cold and hot beverages and sundowners. We even celebrated a birthday for one of the guests. We had fun sight seeing, game viewing, feeding elephants, Sunset cruising. To some it up all the Place is Awesome. Thanks to Hilda, Moses and the entire Team. We are planning to go back.

Room Tip: We were in Room 9 - It was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villiersdorp, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Elephant Camp was all one could expect from a 5-star lodge. From the moment of arriving, seeing the cheetah, feeding the elephants, swimming in one's own plunge pool and having dinner - all perfect. Jonathan the best host and staff very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Our party of 4 stayed here for 2 nights after a week on safari. What a tonic. Everything was 5+ stars. The accommodation, food, service & location were all sensational. So serene & peaceful with Victoria Falls spray in the background. Jonathan was the perfect host, friendly helpful & oh so funny. A fabulous place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we stayed for two nights. Jonathan was the host in charge during our stay - and he was very personable and accommodating as was the entire staff.

the food was great....and they were very accommodating of some of my special dietetic needs. plenty of beverages in the fridges to quench the thirst inspired by the heat....

we met some really nice people from Paris and Australia.....

we both used the outdoor shower....the room amenities were very nice - we were able to charge our phones/computers and use the wifi onsite.....(have to be careful here that you don't find yourself working when you should be completely out of touch)....I did find myself uploading a picture or two to facebook!

convenient to the airport (on the way into Victoria Falls form the airport)

can't think of too many things Jonathan could or would change to make our visit any better....our transfer to our next spot was our only disappointment - as we had planned to try and walk with Sylvester - but that got vetoed by the 7am departure (major bummer)

Room Tip: we were in tent #6, which was close to the main tents and right behind the water hole.....seemed lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Elephant Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Camp

Address: Wild Horizons Wildlife Sanctuary, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria Falls
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elephant Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elephant Camp has breathtaking views of the Victoria Falls’ spray and the spectacular gorges which separate Zimbabwe and Zambia. The Elephant Camp is a luxury, intimate lodge under canvas within easy reach of Victoria Falls (approximately 10 km) and all its attractions and activities, yet secluded in its own private game reserve. The Elephant Camp offers exclusive suite accommodation for only 24 guests in 12 luxury tents. All suites are gorge facing and boast a private viewing deck and plunge pool, private lounge area, air-conditioning and fans, bath (with a view), inside and outside shower, mini bar and tea/coffee stations. All guests staying at The Elephant Camp will have an opportunity to meet the Wild Horizons elephant herd. Selected Spa Treatments are available in the privacy of your suite (subject to availability, on request at an additional charge). Access is by road transfer from Victoria Falls (15 km from Victoria Falls Airport and 10 km from Victoria Falls town), Livingstone and Kasane. Your stay at The Elephant Camp INCLUDES: Accommodation and all meals, drinks (excluding premium brands), complimentary mini bars in the rooms. Return Victoria Falls Airport transfers & two transfers to Victoria Falls town per day. Laundry & Emergency Medical Evacuation cover & Meeting the Wild Horizons elephants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Elephant Camp Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elephant Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.