We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge Hotel

Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge Hotel
411 Livingstone Way, Victoria Falls 12345, Zimbabwe
+263-13-44737
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Located at The Ilala Lodge Hotel, The Palm Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers a comprehensive wine list. Dine outside under the African night sky amidst the sound of the mighty Victoria Falls
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great service, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Ilala Lodge, where Palm restaurant is housed, is at the upper end of Vic Falls hotels. The restaurant is a quiet, elegant establishment with good food at higher than average prices. But, it is good value for money and the service matches it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    54
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Prices were reasonable with a good variety of choices. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner here over our three days. Sitting outside under the verandah or umbrella is so relaxing. The mist rising from the falls and overlooking the national park makes for a very relaxed setting.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“waiter had a attention deficiency syndrome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Four of us when last night and waited for the waiter, I only now realise that he was using his title literally. We had a table outside and when in because it was cold not that it made much difference as all the doors were open so most people wore fleeces.
Had a good bottle of Beyerskoolf Pinotage for 30 usd about 8 times the price elsewhere in Africa.
Food was average but the service was really non existent.

Really good young piano player who saved the night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Returned for the second night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Normally we try new restaurants every day while we are traveling, but the Palm was so good, with such interesting items on the menu, that we ate there both nights of our stay in Victoria Falls. Some of the items were more traditional, whereas others were more adventurous. Everything was presented elegantly.

The service was very professional and attentive, but not overly so. The atmosphere is upscale, but guests weren't dressed up. The restaurant was empty at 6:45 pm but by 8 pm it was full.

Compared to US prices, we thought it was good value. We definitely recommend this place.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our dinners here. . .good food, great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We ate at The Palm twice during our recent stay at Victoria Falls and truly enjoyed it! The staff was very friendly and the food was delicious. Each of us enjoyed our selections each time. Worth going out of your way for if you're in Victoria Falls for an extended trip.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge Hotel also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Restaurant at Ilala Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.