We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“accommodation on a budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Lodge

Save Saved
You added Adventure Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adventure Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   954 Spencer Rd | Chinotimba, Victoria Falls 263, Zimbabwe (Formerly Savanna Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Lusaka
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“accommodation on a budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

small but comfortable. friendly staff, good bar service. the pool a little to small though! easy going environment. Enjoyed the setup at the bar and restaurant! with great friends and company you can easily overlook the small stuff! be open and enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
6
16
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberec, Czech Republic
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is quite a happening place. The rooms are basic but the beds are comfy. A nice bar just by the pool is a great place to meet fellow travellers who are mostly backpackers. At reception they can arrange many activities for you to partake in, including white water rafting on the Zambezi which was crazy fun. It's about a 2 minute walk to the centre of town. On the down side, during my stay only 1 of the 2 computers was working and the WiFi was down. But otherwise it was all good.

Adventure Lodge is good value for money and I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel was booked for us by the overland tour company that we were using at the time - would never have stayed there otherwise. Rooms are so small staying here feels like you're in a prison. Only the bed fits and there's hardly any space to walk around it. The bathroom is even tinier and very old. Be careful taking a shower because you'll surely end up flooding the whole bathroom if not the whole room. The shower curtain is not watertight! Would have been a one star rating if it had not been for the breakfast which was quite nice. People at the reception not helpful at all, putting stuff in the safe takes an eternity so hardly anyone bothers. Leaving stuff in the rooms however is also not an option because that door doesn't really keep anybody from getting in. The bar area is quite nice but the pool is tiny and not very clean. If you want to use the laundry service it's 10 USD per bag/basket and it's wise to make a list of all the items to make sure you get everything back. No aircon in the rooms, only a fan - makes it quite difficult to sleep when it's very hot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent W, Owner at Adventure Lodge, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for this feedback, I will do my best to improve on the service supplied by our staff, specifically the front desk staff, I am aware of this problem and we have recently employed a new General Manager to focus on this aspect of our business. On the rooms, I am sorry we are not able to change them, but the bathrooms have last week received new shower curtains, so hopefully this problem of flooding will be one of the past, I also have new shower heads coming to experiment and see if that also helps.
We do have air conditioned rooms available, however they are subject to a small surcharge, and thus clients are able to upgrade. The fans and lights are one unit and I am also in the process of changing these to have a much stronger fan blowing in the rooms and the lights will be down lights seperate from the Fan.
Regarding the pools, what looks like dirt in the pool is actually discoloured sections, I am not sure why that is happenning as the pool is newly installed, so I will contact the contractor to sort that out.
Thank you for the feedback and I hope this response helps to show we are doing what we can to improve our product.
Thank you for these points.
Kind regards
Brent Williamson
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The staff here was exceptionally nice!! They were some of the best interactions we have had in all of Southern Africa. The place was clean and the beers are cold. Food is tasty, convienient, and cheap. The only complaints are that the rooms are small and we didn't pay extra for the AC room--which in retrospect is worth it! Otherwise enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very basic rooms with bathrooms that require renovation. The shower didn't work properly and there was a small stream of water - very frustrating and took me ages to have a shower. Although the room was clean, the bedding didn't smell too well. You will have to take your own, hairdryer, shampoo, etc. Don't count on watching any TV either. Although most staff were friendly, it was frowned upon if you asked for extra ice! The pool needs renovation as well. There isn't AC in all rooms, so i didn't get much sleep as well. Not a really good stay. It is well located however, and Reliable, the support manager is really helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights during the week. The rooms resemble varsity/college rooms. Sparsely furnished and small but clean. Definitely not a luxury destination. Food is not great. Service was excellent though. Friendly staff who speak excellent English and very helpful. No room service.
Experienced a country wide blackout that started one afternoon and went into the evening. This lodge does not have a generator, but dinner was provided by candlelight. Unforturnately, this meant no aircon in the room that night.
Quite close to the falls (2.5km) from falls and close to Vic Falls Town centre.

Room Tip: Opt to upgrade to a room with aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for a night before starting off on our tour of the Falls and Botswana. We did not have an A/C room and there was some confusion on the booking. The staff called the owner Brent and he immediately accommodated us at no extra cost. Breakfast is included in the the room rate and was a full-on English breakfast. The place was close enough to town and we walked without any problem. The rooms are arranged in a straight line and were made of concrete block - so we did not hear any outside noise. Basic but fitted our purpose and had an attached bath. Do the sunset train side. It is great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Lodge

Address: 954 Spencer Rd | Chinotimba, Victoria Falls 263, Zimbabwe (Formerly Savanna Lodge)
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Specialty lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventure Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Lodge is centrally located between the high density suburbs of Victoria falls and the Industrial area, and its very close to town (about 5 minutes walk) and the falls itself (about 15minutes walk). We are a Budget Hotel, the rooms are small and all en suite with built in cupboards and a centrally located restaurant, bar and pool area. There are air conditioned rooms available and these are recommended during the summer season. The other rooms do have fans but the ones with lights fitted and these are not very strong but help to circulate the air.We also have 5000 m2 camping area adjacent to the Hotel.We can organize any activities you would like to do while staying in the adventure capital of Africa. Activities available are as follows Tour of the Victoria Falls, white water rafting, elephant back safaris, canoeing, bungee jumping, chobe day trips (Botswana), Hwange day trips, Livingstone day trip (Zambia), lion walks, tour of the falls,sunset cruise, helicopter flight of angels, game drives and cultural village tours. We also have a Tour operator division which can handle any queries for this region and can provide all Destination Management services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.