We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, acceptable backpackers lodge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Adventure Lodge to your Saves list
Adventure Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   954 Spencer Rd | Chinotimba, Victoria Falls 263, Zimbabwe (Formerly Savanna Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice staff, acceptable backpackers lodge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The staff here was exceptionally nice!! They were some of the best interactions we have had in all of Southern Africa. The place was clean and the beers are cold. Food is tasty, convienient, and cheap. The only complaints are that the rooms are small and we didn't pay extra for the AC room--which in retrospect is worth it! Otherwise enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    18
    12
    7
See reviews for
7
16
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very basic rooms with bathrooms that require renovation. The shower didn't work properly and there was a small stream of water - very frustrating and took me ages to have a shower. Although the room was clean, the bedding didn't smell too well. You will have to take your own, hairdryer, shampoo, etc. Don't count on watching any TV either. Although most staff were friendly, it was frowned upon if you asked for extra ice! The pool needs renovation as well. There isn't AC in all rooms, so i didn't get much sleep as well. Not a really good stay. It is well located however, and Reliable, the support manager is really helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights during the week. The rooms resemble varsity/college rooms. Sparsely furnished and small but clean. Definitely not a luxury destination. Food is not great. Service was excellent though. Friendly staff who speak excellent English and very helpful. No room service.
Experienced a country wide blackout that started one afternoon and went into the evening. This lodge does not have a generator, but dinner was provided by candlelight. Unforturnately, this meant no aircon in the room that night.
Quite close to the falls (2.5km) from falls and close to Vic Falls Town centre.

Room Tip: Opt to upgrade to a room with aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for a night before starting off on our tour of the Falls and Botswana. We did not have an A/C room and there was some confusion on the booking. The staff called the owner Brent and he immediately accommodated us at no extra cost. Breakfast is included in the the room rate and was a full-on English breakfast. The place was close enough to town and we walked without any problem. The rooms are arranged in a straight line and were made of concrete block - so we did not hear any outside noise. Basic but fitted our purpose and had an attached bath. Do the sunset train side. It is great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived during a city-wide power blackout and the staff bent over backwards to ensure that everything was to our satisfaction. When power was restored, they checked back in again. Food was average, prices fair, location is a bit from town, but still a safe 10-minute walk. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was in there due to my friend recommendation and it was me who requested him to book by such a price limitation.Electricity as usual had so many disconnections and rooms were very basic.But u feel realy u r in a jingle base cottage.Becarefull not to walk in around this hotel area especially after 05:00 pm.Meanwhile I loved the smell of nature down there.Try to hire a cab while u r in there.For dinners try to go Nearby Hotels which have African Dance Show.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voss Municipality, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Adventure Lodge for 20 days in November last year and it is a highly recomendable place to stay for anyone going to Vic Falls.

The friendliness of the staff made my stay very, very pleasent. Always 1st in line to give customers their best service.

The garden and outdoor areas was always clean and tidy. Im not sure of the standard on the other rooms of this lodge but the one i got was great.

The only 2 minus to my stay was that using the internet was expensive ($4,- pr hour is expensive to be Africa) .  Especially when a guest is staying 20 days. Would have been polite to give him some discount.

The other thing was that the staff never had change. Why? It is very annoying and so unnescessary. It doesnt matter how much $1.- bills I brought to the lodge. They never had change. What are you guys doing with the money? I would probably give someone a heartattack if wanted to pay with a $100,- bill. This "change-problem" is the same wherever you go in Vic Falls.

But overall: the Adventure Lodge is one of the best places i've been too. It is most recomendable and I will book there next time i go to Victoria Falls. For sure. :)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventure Lodge

Address: 954 Spencer Rd | Chinotimba, Victoria Falls 263, Zimbabwe (Formerly Savanna Lodge)
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Victoria Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adventure Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure Lodge is centrally located between the high density suburbs of Victoria falls and the Industrial area, and its very close to town (about 5 minutes walk) and the falls itself (about 15minutes walk). We are a Budget Hotel, the rooms are small and all en suite with built in cupboards and a centrally located restaurant, bar and pool area. There are air conditioned rooms available and these are recommended during the summer season. The other rooms do have fans but the ones with lights fitted and these are not very strong but help to circulate the air.We also have 5000 m2 camping area adjacent to the Hotel.We can organize any activities you would like to do while staying in the adventure capital of Africa. Activities available are as follows Tour of the Victoria Falls, white water rafting, elephant back safaris, canoeing, bungee jumping, chobe day trips (Botswana), Hwange day trips, Livingstone day trip (Zambia), lion walks, tour of the falls,sunset cruise, helicopter flight of angels, game drives and cultural village tours. We also have a Tour operator division which can handle any queries for this region and can provide all Destination Management services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.