We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break from camping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn

Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn
Save
You added Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Aalst, Belgium
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice break from camping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stopped here during our Cape Town - Vic Falls - Johannesburg tour with Drifters and after camping it is always nice to sleep in a comfy bed. The mosquitonets were a definite plus because we needed them during our stay. We had a twin room with sharing bathroom and i was quite happy with that.
Food was average, honestly i enjoyed the food during our camping more than i did there...
There was a pool but you couldn't go in it, it was to dirty and so not inviting to jump in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on our Driftest Southern Circle tour. Room was nice and clean with mosquito net and a lockable box ( you need your own lock, but anyway). Nice bathroom with hot shower.
Walk to the city took 10 minutes. Manager was friendly and breakfast great. One night we had a braai (barbecue) by the pool with dancers.

Room Tip: We had our own bathroom, but some of the rooms had to use a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We stayed before and after our safari trip in Vic Falls. The place grows on you. Our room (No 5) was clean with good mosquito net. We also got a bath - I think its the only one with a bath. The chef cooks a good breakfast (bacon and eggs). The manager Bev is very helpful and gave us a lift. It's about a 15 minute walk into town with probably a further 10 minutes from there to the falls - you'll need a taxi back in the dark. We also stayed a night at the Savannah Lodge whilst in Vic Falls, which was cheaper but given the choice Drifters is the better option. Accommodation is not cheap in Vic Falls but Drifters is a good option.

The street boys are a bit of a pain at first but after first day tend to leave you alone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We were on a Drifters camping safari from Joburg up through Botswana (brilliant fun by the way!) that ended up at their Inn in Vic Falls. As Brits we were a bit unsure how Zimbabwe would welcome us. Nae worries, they were great. The place is safe enough (a few more street hassles than over the Falls on the Zambian side, but nothing to write home about). We liked the style of the Inn (and also their friendliness: two days on the trot my wife and I got a free lift into town from their people, in their own cars!). Go and have a beer on the terrace of the Victoria Falls Hotel to see what the Empire was all about...fantastic place! All in all we loved Vic Falls and Drifters are a great team.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn

Address: Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Victoria Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria Falls
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Drifters` Victoria Falls Hotel Victoria Falls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drifters' Victoria Falls Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.