We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic views, but poor service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights

Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights
1 Sopers Arcade | Parkway Drive, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
+263 13 44471
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fantastic views, but poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The US$142 price for the 12-13 minute flight includes a $10 park service fee and pick-up at your hotel. There was no explanation when we arrived, and I felt like we were being pushed through the system like cattle. Memo to operator: YOU know the procedure, but we don't! I did not like the intrusive video operator who lined us up for an in - your - face comment without asking if we were comfortable with this. Then he followed us to the helicopter filming us up CLOSE .as we walked to it, climbed in and later out again. My husband chose not to fly, so I was put with a group of 4 others who did not even say hello despite my smile to them, and was made to feel I did not belong there. At least the hated middle seat was not occupied! It would have been a real squash for a third person, so I don't think they should ever try to fit in 6 passengers. Still, the experience was amazing and both sides were given equal chances to have really good looks and lots of photo opportunities. The zigzag gorges below the Falls are so rugged compared with the upper stretches which look quite peaceful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    58
    9
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Spend the money - you will definitely regret it if you don't. I have visited the falls several times and this is the first time I have opted for an aerial view. It is a must do activity - my photos are incredible!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveton Gifford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Getting the geography of it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were hesitant about taking the helicopter flight, it seemed pretty expensive, but seeing the Falls from above really helped us understand why the falls are so spectacular, and why the spray, which had hidden so much from us when we did the walk along the trail opposite them, is so impressive. There was a lot of water coming down the Zambezi on our visit, so you could only see so much. From above you could grasp that all that water was falling into a narrow gorge, the first of a series, that was at right angles to the flow from above. So the spray is really confined, hence its height. The helicopter does a full circle in both directions so all passengers get a decent view and there is plenty of time to take photos. We could also pick out the golf course, Elephant Hills resort and the Safari Lodge Hotel as well as buildings on the Zambia side. It really sorted out the geography.
The DVD on sale afterwards (we hadn't realised we were being filmed) is a nice touch as a memento of spending the kids' inheritance...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Breathtaking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Amazing experience, helicopter in good condition. Tip: the best seat is next to the pilot. A great experience all year round, however a must do- if you have to travel during wet season, as there is so much spray, the visibility is quite poor during your walking tour of the falls, seeing it from the air gives great perspective.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The Helicopter Flight is Worth Every Penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were a bit hesitant at first - 140$ per person (X 5) for a 13 minute flight.. But then we decided to go for it (YOLO and all). So so worth it. An amazing way to see Victoria Falls and the Zambezi. Simply breathtaking.
If you wish, you can also get a DVD (30$) with a short film and a CD (15$) with photos of your experience (there is a video photographer and a stills photographer that follow you around). They work real fast and 5 minutes after you land, your clip and your pics are ready.
If you go to Vic, Falls, work this into your budget. You won't regret it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shearwater Victoria Falls - Helicopter Flights, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.