We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Africa Eating House

Mama Africa Eating House
Victoria Falls Road, Victoria Falls zw, Zimbabwe
(013) 41725
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It was ok..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We went there just once and they didn't have electricity (because the train was getting fixed)...we tried the buffalo and was delicious...the service a little slow...prices a little high...nothing spectacular!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    88
    69
    25
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

But touristy prices. Good service, but a little slow. Meat was a bit dry. Peanut butter rice - a must try.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“African food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife ordered a wrap, mentioned to the waitress no lettuce and no spicy. It came with lettuce and very little vegetables. I had to five my wife my curried rice to eat with wrap. My curry rice and potatoes was very good. The place is nice, very rustic and typical.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice although a bit slow.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We came as part of a large group so service will always be a bit slow....and it was. That aside the atmosphere was great with live music as well. The staff were very friendly and quite attentive given how busy it was. The menu is not large but quite varied including local dishes. We had children with us and overall the food wasn't a great hit with them. Prices were ok.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
“Mama Africa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Offers the best traditional food in Vic Falls. The staff are very friendly. They often have entertainment in the form of traditional dancing or a band. It is so worth it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Africa Eating House also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Mama Africa Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Africa Eating House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.