We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME TO VISIT THIS PLACE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Africa Eating House

Mama Africa Eating House
Victoria Falls Road, Victoria Falls zw, Zimbabwe
(013) 41725
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brits
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME TO VISIT THIS PLACE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We visit the Restaurant twice. The first time for a lunch and the second time for a take away
The menu looks ok--But once you start ordering -They did not got this and they did not got that. .That leaves you with two choices --Chicken or Beef. The service is also poor with a long waiting time.In the mean time you are forced to eat baked peanuts to keep you busy.
The second visit made me decide to write a review .Again the options were limited due to no stock ??? .This was three days later.Your choices to select a Restaurant in town are very limited. You could visit the Hotels and Lodges but limited in town.The take away was the worst that i ever seen. I spoon of burnt meat on top of rice. Be warned and stay away from this place and rather visit the Boma

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    88
    69
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and dancers a real treat...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We ate here one night and had a lovely evening meeting other tourists and hadn't realized we were going to have entertainment with African dancers and band. Very well done .

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTown
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

What fun and so unexpected !!!!
We were treated to traditional dancing where we were invited to join the dancers. Ha ha haaa, lots of laughs for all of us watching and then some local jazz musicians kept us entertained. Considering there was a power outage on that evening and the generators were working overtime, we SO enjoyed ourselves.
The food was traditional fare served in black cast iron pots with sadza. Absolutely delicious and excellent service too !!!! Lots of locals popped in too which was a good sign of a good place to enjoy our evening.
The whole evening including drinks for our table of 3 was $60 ... true value for money I would say.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Traditional African cuisine at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We loved our dinner at Mama Africa and would recommend it to anyone visiting Victoria Falls. The restaurant features several traditional African dishes that were fun to try . A lot of the options are beef, lamb, or chicken stews that are served in individual cast iron pots at the table. The stews come with the traditional "sadza", which is firm cornmeal-like grits, or polenta. The meals also include stewed greens and potatoes. There is a great atmosphere here, and there is a short show that is a little touristy, but fun. The restaurant offers indoor or outdoor seating, and is located in downtown Vic Falls. We felt very safe walking from our hotel (Ilala Lodge) to the restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We found this place on our 2nd day and ate there every night. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. Everything we tried was delicious. The chicken cordon bleu was the best ever. Yummy. Wish I could eat there again. The prices are very reasonable for the quality of the restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Africa Eating House also viewed

Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
Victoria Falls, Matabeleland North Province
 

Been to Mama Africa Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Africa Eating House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.