We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better place in Harare. Period.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amanzi Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amanzi Lodge
Save
You added Amanzi Lodge to your Saves list
1 Masasa Lane | Kambanji, Harare, Zimbabwe   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Harare
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“No better place in Harare. Period.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you in Harare for any reason, this is THE place to stay. Located in a convenient neighbourhood in East Harare, this lodge is safe and ultra comfortable offering all the amenities of a classy lodge. The setting, food, and service were simply outstanding. A free shuttle between the Amanzi Restaurant and Lodge would be a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jama24, General Manager at Amanzi Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear PinUpBoy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay at Amanzi Lodge.
Your kind words are greatly appreciated and have been a source of inspiration for the team here at the lodge.
When available, we do endeavour to provide a complimentary shuttle service to our sister property, the Amanzi Restaurant and so on your next visit to us, please don't hesitate to enquire about that service we offer.

PinUpBoy we look forward to welcoming you back to Amanzi Lodge on your next visit to Zimbabwe.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
11
2
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Amanzi for a total of 4 nights in August.

The rooms and suites are immaculate and each has a theme. We have been lucky enough to travel the world and stay in some fabulous hotels but the Seychelles suite is definitely our new favourite!

The staff at Amanzi could not have been more accommodating and really made us feel at home and welcome. Every request was met with a smile and nothing was ever to much trouble. Breakfast was always delicious and the complimentary tea, coffee and cakes throughout the day were a great touch.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Amanzi and will definitely be returning during our next stay in Harare.

A big thank you to Jonathan, Nakai, Caroline and Costa.

We hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jama24, General Manager at Amanzi Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Akhupe,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Amanzi Lodge.
We truly appreciate your kind words and I hope that Amanzi Lodge provided you with the perfect base for your travels around Zimbabwe. Your comments on the service and product were gratefully received by the staff here and we do believe that our rooms and suits here are up there with the best in the world!
Akhupe we hope it is not to long before you plan your next trip to Zimbabwe and we look forward to welcoming you back to both Amanzi Lodge and Amanzi Restaurant.
Kind regards
Jonathan Baker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Pleasantly surprised with this gem, nestled away from the hustle and bustle of the busy town centre. A very tranquil and refreshing place to stay. The staff and manager Jonathan were welcoming and professional. I'm scheduled a trip back in a couple of weeks, and will definitely pay a visit.

Luxury under the African sun........at its best.

Simply............... Thank you.

Room Tip: The Morocco Suite is my personal favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jama24, Owner at Amanzi Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Elton M
Thank you for your very positive review on Tripadvisor.
Here at Amanzi Lodge we pride ourselves on not only exceeding guests expectations but also creating memorable occasions. I am thrilled to read that you were pleasantly surprised, and that you appreciated the tranquil setting away from the chaos that is Harare city centre.
Elton M we look forwarding to welcoming you back to Amanzi Lodge in a couple of weeks where you can once again experience luxury at its best under the African sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at the lodge for 5 proper nights again , great room -Egypt, great service by the staff , wifi is super,never missed the breakfast,ate dinner at the lodge every night, menu changes every 2 days, even my clients preferred the lodge food than other places in town, Harare has quiet improved with new restaurants and lodges popping up everywhere. Am still gonna stay @ the Amani .

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jama24, Owner at Amanzi Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Dax C
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Amanzi Lodge on Tripadvisor.
I was so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you intend to continue to use Amanzi Lodge as your preferred accommodation whilst in Harare.
I have passed your very kind comments onto the team here, who were thrilled to hear such positive and encouraging feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Amanzi Lodge soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very tastefully furnished individually designed rooms displaying a great deal of style. Certainly the best boutique style hotel in Harare. The owners have very high standards and always strive to ensure that the hotel is well run and that all their guests are happy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jama24, Owner at Amanzi Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear chica0010

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We strive to ensure and maintain standards across the board, always looking to create memorable experiences for our guests, and so I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Amanzi Lodge and I appreciate your wonderful comments.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I recently stayed for nearly two weeks with a small team on a business trip. It was a comfortable stay with nice lodge-like rooms--hot showers, comfortable beds, with chocolate treats nightly. We also often ate at the restaurant, which had a limited menu but with excellent quality food. The service staff was the best part of the stay, as they were personally attentive and were pleasant to talk with. The location is the only downside, as it is a bit of a distance from town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jama24, Owner at Amanzi Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear RJSJr1954
Thank you for the fantastic review following your stay with us at Amanzi Lodge.

I was delighted to read your lovely comments about the service and facilities here at the lodge along with your words of praise which are very kind indeed. I have shared your comments with my colleagues and they are very pleased that you appreciated their attentive care so much.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to stay with us again and that your visit then will be as memorable as the last.

Thank you again for your words of encouragement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Only stayed for one night but this will now be my preferred place to stay in Harare. I stayed in the Ethiopia lodge, which was very nice. The staff were wonderful and the restaurant was great. While there are not a lot of options on the lunch or dinner menu, the food was very good (I recommend the curry!).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jama24, Manager at Amanzi Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear BenDC
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Amanzi Lodge. Your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated and will go a long way in motivating the team at the lodge. The curry you enjoyed has become a signature favourite within the Amanzi group, and so I am thrilled you enjoyed it.
BenDC we look forward to welcoming you back to Amanzi Lodge and we hope that on your next visit you may be able to spend a little more time with us and sample a different room as each one is uniquely decorated and themed.

Kind regards,
Jonathan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amanzi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amanzi Lodge

Address: 1 Masasa Lane | Kambanji, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in Amanzi Lodge, with its stunning waterfalls, spectacular landscaped gardens and rare cycad collection is truly a memorable African experience. There are 16 luxury private lodges from which to choose, each beautifully decorated in the style of a different African country with an exceptional collection of African antiquities, collectibles and contemporary art. Amanzi Lodge is one of Harare's first Boutique Hotels. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amanzi Hotel Harare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amanzi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.