We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Good but fading” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Towers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rainbow Towers to your Saves list
Rainbow Towers
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pennefather Avenue, Harare, Zimbabwe (Formerly Sheraton Harare)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Harare
Gweru, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Still Good but fading”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is quite good in terms of location. It gives one a great place to do business or pleasure in Harare. But the place is in need of renovations to bring it in line with international standards. Though its marketed as 5 star, one should note that this rating is historical. On the ground the hotel is more like a Dubai 3 star. Rooms are clean but then we stayed in the executive suites. Service was good. Noise levels are low as the hotel is not in the cbd proper.
cost is ok but shud be aligned to standards.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    38
    7
    9
See reviews for
6
6
5
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

It was originally a Sheraton years ago and was probably a top hotel at that time. Although the exterior is still passable, the interior room fixtures are in need of a major overhaul, it has been a long time since I ran into old, frizzy, smelly, 80's style hotel blankets! The staff is friendly and helpful, which somewhat makes up for the rooms. In a country that had gone through decades of turmoil, I don't think one can ask for too much. Even the Vice Premier of China stayed there during his state visit. Food is inexpensive but Zimbabwe must have the toughest beef in the world, order fish, do not order beef, and never go to the tapanyaki. Next time I go, I'll try some of the higher ranking accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The food was great, the staff were very friendly and helpful- I would unreservedly recommend this to others. The staff went out of its way to ensure that we were comfortable. Our conference was a very wonderful experience.
I am planning to take my family there some time so the children can enjoy the hospitality and the good food. The fruit dessert was to die for with veru fresh fruit. I must say I was pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel staff’s are friendly, food and beverage is not too expensive. Cleaning and maintenance can do better. Most of the equipment in the gym are defective, poor pool maintenance. It took over an hour to deliver the room service. Rooms are average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel for almost 20 years. I generally stay three times per year ten nights per stay.
The Hotel is in desperate Need of renovation especially the bedrooms and restaurants. Nothing's changed in 20 years so its all looking dated and worn out.

The only reason I still stay there is the STAFF - they are absolutely first class.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better. 10th floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

From the old days of the Sheraton, this hotel has sadly gone downhill.
Staff are friendly, it's not too expensive and the bar and Teryaki Resteraunt very nice.

However he rooms let this place down. Old bathrooms and I needed to repair the wardrobe in order to remain safe every time I entered my room.

The pool are is a disgrace with leaves and dirt all over the place.

Ok for a quick stopover, but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This former Sheraton Hotel, built 30 years ago, is surprisingly still in good condition, despite the very hard economic conditions prevailing in Zimbabwe.
Food is very good, with excellent steaks prepared in front of you, breakfast is varied (though 25 USD represents something close to robbery).
Rooms are okay, quality of TV so-so, there is a shower in the bathroom, but I do not think that most of the local ladies would fit though the door.
The location is good, as it is quiet, with a huge ark around the hotel, and people are incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Towers

Address: Pennefather Avenue, Harare, Zimbabwe (Formerly Sheraton Harare)
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rainbow Towers 4.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-Star Rainbow Towers Hotel and Conference Centre is the premier choice in Harare, Zimbabwe's sunshine capital city, for major business and social events. It is located on the fringe of the vibrant city centre and regally set in spacious landscaped gardens.The 305-room Hotel, formerly Sheraton Harare, opened in 1985 and regularly hosts Heads-of-State and many other VIPs of distinction. The main auditorium holds 4,500 people for a state-of-the-art conference or live show and the whole complex has a plethora of ancillary conference, exhibition and other multi-purpose function rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Rainbow Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Towers Hotel Harare
Rainbow Hotel Harare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.