We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Magic of the Meikles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meikles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Meikles Hotel to your Saves list
Meikles Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Harare
Harare, Zimbabwe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Magic of the Meikles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I had the most wonderful meal at the hotel recently. The appetiser of cold tomato consomme and starter of mackeral with beetroot foam were exquisite! The main of roast beef with gnocchi was wonderful, and I finished the meal with a delectable chocolate mousse. It was fine dining with an ambiance of luxury, a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you Bevy in Harare for your generous review - fine dining with the ambiance of luxury is just such a perfect description of what we painstakingly endeavor to produce in our signature restaurants. Your headline does us proud and so do your comments - we hope to welcome you back to more mouth-watering dishes! - Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    79
    36
    13
    4
See reviews for
9
17
19
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hospitality and service in Meikles is great. I like the breakfast and also room service. Visited in Feb, 2014 and again going there next week. Close to government agencies, so easy access. I recommend my colleagues to choose Meikles.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you Rajesh for your strong endorsement of Meikles Hotel. Not only is Meikles a majestic century-old five-star hotel but we are so perfectly situated for international business travelers who visit Harare. As you so correctly advise other business people Meikles is in the very heart of the City and very close to many major companies and Government agencies. We look forward to your continued support. With very best regards, Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is clearly one of the best (if not the best) hotel in Harare. Rooms are spacious and clean, all facilities are top notch. The roof top pool adds a bit of class to this already class hotel. The food in the La Fontain restaurant is delicious: I had a steak that was almost intimidating by its size, and every mouthful was an experience. The hotel staff is the most friendly that you can think of. The drivers can take you around town and to the airport for a very reasonable price. I will definitely go back here next time I am in Harare.
If I have to find a bit of disappointment, I should say that the breakfast buffet (although delicious in every aspect) is a bit too pricey (25 USD), maybe a light breakfast option for those who don't want the buffet could be appreciated

Room Tip: The rooms in the renovated wing (where the new gym is) have a nice view on the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hello to you in the UK. I note that you have written quite a number of reviews at many places and therefore you have a clear benchmark of quality, ambiance and service. That makes us particularly honoured to have received a full-house of five stars from you in your review - thank you.

Indeed we are proud that for almost a century Meikles Hotel has earned a pedigree of distinction in welcoming guests from all over the globe. The HISTORY and HALL OF FAME tabs on our website provide a fascinating glance into the superior status that Meikles has enjoyed for so long and you will also note the distinguished list of celebrities, royalty, presidents and other VIPs who have chosen to stay with us. We have been greatly honoured to welcome such people as Nelson Mandela, King Edward VIII, the Duke of Edinburgh, Hilary Clinton, Prince Charles, Michael Jackson, Sting...and so many more.

Thank you, too, for applauding "the most friendly staff you can think of." I feel that we should start a poll to find the friendliest people on earth...I feel sure that anyone who has ever experienced genuine Zimbabwe hospitality would give our country a big thumbs up! Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Having first stayed here several years ago I was pleasantly surprised to find that the place has been refurbished, the room was excellent with good facilities and the staff members I dealt with were genuinely friendly and helpful. Will stay here again next time I am in Harare.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Pete. Thank you for your very positive review that includes, as 99.9% always do, a comment on our friendly staff. However, I am delighted that you carefully chose to insert the word "genuine" because open friendliness is, indeed, at the very heart of the culture our local people wherever you go. They don't need to be specially trained inside a 5-star hotel for the broadest smiles and genuine welcome our guests receive.

Thanks also for placing maximum emphasis on the quality of the newly refurbished rooms and on our location in the heart of the city overlooking a park - sheer convenience for the business person. Your warm comments have added to our pedigree of distinction as we move towards our Centenary next year when we hope you will visit again. - Tinashe Munjoma (General manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Shepstone
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed at Meikles for Valentines night and the staff and room were out of this World. So much effort went into decorating the room for us. The new rooms are fantastic and the view of Harare Park is the stuff that dreams are made of. The Meikles staff are the best I have ever enjoyed anywhere. from check in to check out it is superb.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hello Chania. Your "full-house" of five stars is a powerful tribute to Meikles Hotel and particularly to our passionately committed staff. If there was an Olympiad for "world class service" I feel sure our happy team would strike the Gold! I shall share your accolade with them and know they will be delighted that their efforts are so appreciated - we know they are a critical part of our success as a luxury hotel, heading for our century in 2015. With kind regards, Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Recommedarion from some south African friends.. Thanks to everyone at the hotel... Fantastic staff from checkin to the rooftop bar/pool... Made our stay...

A great hotel in Harare to explore from with great service and nice facilities..with knowledable staff who were always willing to help.

Good to pace to chill.... With the rooftop pool. The decor is higher than I expected and reminds me of older hotels in Europe.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hello to you in the UK. Your lavish review does us proud - thank you. Helpful staff who go the extra mile with a smile are a huge asset and they are even more inspired by praise such as yours. Did you know that we celebrate our centenary next year and have many festivities planned, so I hope you will return to visit us. Our new Meikles website goes live in the next day or so and so I hope you will follow our progress there and on our social media platforms as we "head for a hundred." We hope the weather improves for you all in the UK soon and that you enjoy a glorious summer. Sahwira from Zimbabwe! Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Meikels Hotel always delivers. I have stayed at Meikels many times and always happy with the staff and service. Rooms are good, especially the newly upgraded section of the hotel. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff and you can always be assured of a friendly smile around each corner.

Internet connection is very good, although a little annoying having to re-enter a new code everyday, which can only be obtained by going to/calling the front desk. I am glad they are no longer charging for internet.

The only element of the hotel that let's it down is the food. Breakfast is not 5 star quality/variety and the meals at their main restaurant aren't either. This is rather unfortunate as this is an excellent property in Harare.

I highly recommend staying at Meikels when in Harare.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OurMarketingTeam, General Manager at Meikles Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Luan. Your review headline ALWAYS GREAT inspires us with confidence and resolve to keep on striving to do better and better. The fact that you have stayed with Meikles many times in the past and continue to rate us so highly is greatly appreciated and of high value because you are not just a one-night visitor and write objectively.

Again and again we are proud that our friendly and service-oriented staff gain high acclaim from guests from all over the world - it is a powerful and genuine asset. However, you mentioned that the food did not match your expectations on occasion. In this regard I would highly value your feedback to me personally so that I may discuss it with our development chef and our first-rate team of chefs. They are busy right now designing and creating new menus and your ideas would therefore be very timely. Our best regards to you in Dubai. Tinashe Munjoma (General Manager) generalmanager@meikles.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meikles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meikles Hotel

Address: Corner Third Street & J Moyo Ave | P O Box 594, Harare, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meikles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1915 Meikles Hotel has been regarded as Zimbabwe's premier 5-star luxury hotel. It is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World and in 2013 was voted Best City Hotel for the 19th successive year by the Association of Zimbabwe Travel Agents (AZTA). Gracious charm is the hallmark of this legendary hotel. Meikles is situated in Harare's Central Business District overlooking Africa Unity Square gardens. A majestic US$9m revitalization was completed in October 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Meikles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meikles Hotel Harare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meikles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.