We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo's Restaurant - CLOSED

Leonardo's Restaurant
Borrowdale Road | Sam Levy's Village, Upstairs from CBZ Bank, Harare, Zimbabwe
+263 48831580772247990
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wichita Falls, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I know that folks go crazy over these restaurants but this place is ordinary. Ate here twice. Not impressed with the taste of the seafood pasta. BLAND. I sampled several of my colleagues meals. Nothing impressed me. Edible but basic.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leverett, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My first weekend in Zimbabwe and my husband treated me to a dinner at Leonardo's - what a lovely place, the food was excellent (not only crunchy fresh salad greens but fresh salmon - flown in from Scotland - it was exquisite!), the atmosphere very pleasant, the staff attentive and efficient, and the manager (owner?) charming and accommodating. After eating at a few other places since then, I have discovered that our meals at Leonardo's was very reasonably priced, too (although note that they don't take credit cards). We will be returning again soon, very soon and hope to make it a regular dinner spot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Lovely family restaurant, that is perfect for a lunch or a dinner any time of the week. The staff are well trained and look after their repeat customers as well as creating a relationship with new customers. Management is very involved, helping the waiters and also creating relationships with the customers to make them feel welcome and get them to come back again. The cuisine is amazing and the kitchen has no problem in making the dishes personalised if the are allergies or dislikes. This is a restaurant I visit often!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great restauarnt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Leonardos has always maintained its good record of being a great restaurant. The owners is there most nights and he does a most excellent job.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Leonardo's is one of those restaurants that sneaks up quietly, and then blows you away. We have been there on many occasions, and keep getting surprised. The location upstairs is so-so, the decor is a bit dated and jaded, the menu interesting, but fairly predictable and safe. However, the service is brilliant, everyone from the owner to the person clearing the tables pays attention. The food is just as you expected, no disappointments as to taste, nor quantities, and the bill is just as pleasantly proportioned. Whether it's an intimate dinner date, or a celebratory shindig, there is space and selection for you.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonardo's Restaurant also viewed

Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.