We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Armadale Boutique Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Armadale Boutique Lodge to your Saves list
Armadale Boutique Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   9 Armadale Road | Borrowdale, Harare Mashonaland, Zimbabwe   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Harare
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I had to switch guesthouses after 3 nights in Harare to the Armadale. What a pleasant experience. The house had a lot of character, the staff was extremely helpful and nice and the dinner was the best food we had while in Harare. The free laundry service was a great bonus after traveling for a couple of weeks. The pool and grounds are beautiful. The neighborhood is great for running or walking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mahebourg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Beautifully decorated old world house. We booked late so did not manage to stay in the main house, but were in the garden cottage. I would recommend the rooms in the main house. Despite being in the cottage, the wifi worked brilliantly and we had the full satellite TV etc. Cottage is suited for longer stays and has its own kitchen etc. The staff were great and very flexible. You feel really at home at this lodge and everything you ask is done with a smile. We felt very attended to all the time. Special thanks for organizing our cocktail party for 40 people, this was done with great expertise and turned out to be super.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house are all very nice. I would choose the cottage only for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I couldn't recommend this lodge more highly. Easily the best in Harare. Perfect location, very private and relaxing. Feels like having your own country house. Close to cities. Perfect for work or holiday. Very private, friendly, delicious food, beautiful decor, full honesty bar, excellent free wifi, full cable tv etc. Great verandah and beautiful garden. Very reasonable price and so central. Armadale is a winner.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great - mine had a private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimbabwe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We use Armadale Lodge for all of our overseas guests and they just love it. Lovely rooms and garden, nice and secure and quiet. It is also close to all the lovely restaurants and the Lodge just has a lovely cosy warm and friendly feeling... It has a heart!!

Room Tip: They have all sorts of rooms.... King beds, baths, showers..... double beds... rooms with views. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

After three stays as Armanzi, my colleagues booked me at Armadale because I wanted a change. It is a more than reasonable facsimile. I prefer a hotel close to a town where one can walk around. But apparently lodges (which do give me the aura of a prison because of the security and accessibility issues) are better in Harare. Armadale is quaint, with a nice garden, nice rooms, working amenities, good breakfast, good WIFI, good TV options, safe, and not far from supermarkets etc...and very pleasant and friendly staff. It is lower cost than some of the competitors but certainly not cheap by US standards. Worth it. No bad experience to report. And it will cater to whatever you need.

Room Tip: Apparently there are two sides to the lodge...look at rooms on both before selecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Tranquil, tasteful, set in beautiful surrounds, every need catered for, convenient for business and pleasure stay. Definitely a place to return each time you visit Harare.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice and have a very good feel of this place. In one occasion it was for a month. As I generally do, my reviews are from the view point of business traveller.

1. Ambience: The place makes you feel very good, because of the lush green garden, the well maintained lawn and small sit out next to the small pool where you may choose to have a meeting of 4-6 people. The place is just outside the hustle and bustle of the city, especially after a long day at work the peacefulness gives you the much needed relaxation. Nobody is in a hurry things go on smoothly. As it is a small place you get to meet other guests and know a bit about each other, you can find some good company in here. Score: 4.5 on 5.

2. Rooms: There are 9 rooms as a whole, some of them may be smaller than the others but neatly maintained with room heaters for the cold winter which can go down to 10*C. Some rooms have old style CRT TVs which is not so encouraging, but all of them have cable connection with most TV channels. There is also a 2 bed room - cottage with a private garden for people who want stay for longer tenure. Score 3.5 on 5.

3. Food: This is one area where veggies like me find it a bit difficult, it is not because of the quality or the quantity but the choice one would have is less, otherwise my colleagues who were animal lovers were enjoying, and not to forget the complimentary breakfast, that is good and the hotel gives you options. The breakfast is ready at the time you like even at 7 am but the food; I find it to be priced on the higher side. There are also couple of good places near the lodge for good dining with sufficient options. Score 3.5 on 5.

4. Service: This is one area where there is absolutely nothing to complain the people are very friendly and warm, will attend to you. The cook will prepare the food you ask and the way you want it. Coffee & Tea is unlimited. The managers at the hotel are very helpful and ensure your stay is comfortable. The laundry is taken care very well even though it is a bit expensive from the stand point of this place not being a star hotel. Score 4.5 on 5.

5. Amenities: This is one area where things can be much better, internet was very slow and expensive, but the latest update is that it is free but the speed still needs to be tested. There is no gym so the health freaks are disappointed. The pool is small, probably useful, even though I could not get a chance to swim as I stayed during the winter. The library has small collection of the books, and a cosy reading room with a music player and a small good old CRT TV. There is a good collection of wine and drinks. The compound has electric fence as all others have in Harare. There is also the services of chauffer incase you decide on short visits around Harare. Score 3 on 5.

Overall this place offers an experience of staying in cosy, quite, peaceful place amidst rich greenery. The above ratings are purely on the basis of my personal experience during my stay and is unbiased.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Armadale Boutique Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armadale Boutique Lodge

Address: 9 Armadale Road | Borrowdale, Harare Mashonaland, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Armadale Boutique Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armadale Boutique Lodge is centrally located in the leafy northern suburb of Borrowdale, close to Borrowdale Village where you will find shops, gyms, spas, restaurants and pubs! Armadale has a luxurious residential feel with established gardens, sprawling lawns and ten well appointed suites. Private gardens offer guests total privacy and total relaxation. Meals can be taken in the garden, on the verandas, by the poolside, in the privacy of your suite or in the main dining room. Spa treatments and private gym instructors can be arranged. Our kitchen is open daily from 6am-9pm and our chef is in attendance. Our 24 hour management team will ensure that your stay with us is personalised, comfortable and most enjoyable. We are totally dedicated to customer service. Be our guest - anytime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Armadale Boutique Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armadale Boutique Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.