We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "must do" in Tunis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bardo Museum

Bardo Museum
Le Bardo, Tunis 2000, Tunisia
216-1-513-650
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Tunis
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular Roman mosaics are the high point of this museum.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A "must do" in Tunis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hundreds of Roman mosaics, collected from all over Tunisia, displayed in a well lit museum, part of which was formerly a Bey's palace. Some mosaics are only fragments, others several metres square, are almost complete. All are well presented, many laid into the floor - as originally intended. You are given overshoes and walk over them as did the original owners over 2000 years ago.

We visited on a guided day trip from our hotel in Hammamet. If you don't travel with a knowledgable guide (as we did) then I recommend you to pay for one. There is so much to see and the printed descriptions accompanying exhibits are often too brief. Our itinerary allowed just under two hours - we could have spent twice as long.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    120
    30
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Roman Mosaics - with a guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I believe the museum had just complete an expansion. Visited as part of a day tour from a cruise ship..
Wouldn't normally visit a mosaics museum but would recommend. A great collection of roman and geek mosaics which were bought to life and explained by our knowledgeable guide. I would recommend going around with a guide. Some of the mosaics were on the floor and you could walk over them but you wear covers over your shoes. Toilets on ground floor.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“How could I not have know about this amazing museum before?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Extraordinary Roman mosaics - so many of them and unbelievably well preserved. The building is also wonderful, great mixture of modern and 19th Century palace combine into flowing whole

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Best Roman Mosaics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Expect the most and you will be excelled. This museum is a must see. The biggest and best preserved roman mosaics I´ve ever seen. One can't miss it!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Priceless an irreplaceable mosaics.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were fortunate enough to visit the museum just after the expansion project which has created a massive museum perfectly blending old with new from the original palace that housed the collection of Roman and Greek mosaics. The standard of the mosaics are absolutely perfect examples and possibly the best collection in the world.
Some of the mosaics are on the floor which you are able to walk on although to be honest I found it a little uncomfortable walking over such ancient relics. Many of the mosaics have been wall mounted in vast rooms the colours and details are magnificent. For me they were the best examples of mosaics I have ever seen anywhere.
The museum is on the outskirts of Tunis and is served by a good bus service from the town centre. I would definitely recommend a visit here and you should allow a couple of hours for your visit. Admission fees are currently 4 dinars and 1 dinar for a ticket so you can take photos throughout the museum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bardo Museum also viewed

Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 

Been to Bardo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bardo Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.