We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very confortable stay in the most central hotel in Tunis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Africa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Africa Hotel to your Saves list
Africa Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Av Habib Bourguiba BP 73, Tunis 1001, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Tunis
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very confortable stay in the most central hotel in Tunis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had stayed in this hotel 4 years ago, so I had already forgotten on how good this hotel is. Anyway, the service at the reception is good; the rooms although soon needing a modernization upgrade, are functional and confortable.The views of the city are splendid, particularly if you are in the top floors. The location could not be more central. The price is reasonable. The only thing I did not like was the service at breakfast-- the cook could not understand me,(neither my french or english), and could not make an omelette. The price of the breakfast is excessive.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floors facing the central square. Avoid breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    77
    56
    19
    11
See reviews for
13
30
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Depending on the purpose of your visit, the location of this hotel may be important to you, but that is about it's only positive featurae. It is very outdated and the rooms and hallways smell. Bathrooms also very outdated, as are the beds and bed linen. The buffet lunch is overpriced. Good service from the dining room staff however. If I had a choice, under no circumstances would I stay here.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your attention. Your opinion will certainly help us to improve our services and guest experience.

We are indeed working on an upcoming renovation and the room decoration will be completely reviewed.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon with better service.

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tunis hotels

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I had mixed feelings when I read some of the reviews on this site but when I arrived at the hotel everything changed.
The service was great, the location fantastic, the breakfast buffet was ok, the a la carte restaurant on the fifth floor was excellent, the room was large (as well as the bed) and the room cleaning service was great.
Most importantly, the price for it was excellent.
What else can I ask for?
Yes, the hotel could use some renovations but it is nonetheless a great hotel for what Tunis has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

What a glorious feed-back on Tripadvisor ! Thank you very much.
We are quite thrilled that you have enjoyed the hotel and that our services were up to your high expectations. Your return is a wonderful source of motivation for the entire team.

We hope that you will find the time to come back to Tunis any time soon and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Good old times could be better. This hotel reflects in my opinion, the decadence of the Tunisian society, always bureaucratic and used to be the most modern among northafrican countries. Hotel is nice, internet is reasonable good. However, a few mishaps; you are required to pay upon arrival, you are required to go thru cashier again upon check out. Watching the maitre of the restaurant in the morning in a corner playing with his cell phone is just symptomatic of the service. Lots of waiters, few are professional. Management pretty poor. They just live of good old times. I would not go again, with the hope to find better alternatives somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
We sincerely regret the unfortunate experience you had in the reception and the restaurant of the hotel. We have immediately brought your comments to the attention of the concerned managers. Special actions will be taken to improve the staff attitude and also the quality of service.
Your opinion will certainly help us to improve our services and guest experience.
We hope to have much more occasions to welcome you back.
Best Regards
Sales Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

The hotel has central location which is very handy and easy to get around, eventhough the street is too busy and traffic can be real bad, the rooms are spacious, room service available 24hrs but the hotel needs urgent renovation. Old property, rooms etc.. requires much more attention to housekeeping and cleanliness. service in Tunis in general is not the best receptionists need to be more helpful as they lack this. Security will only help you get a cab if you tip them so remember that. guests are treated as colleagues or people they know so anything and everything is normal for them dont expect attention to details or to be treated as a paying guest

if you are on a business trip could be an ok choice

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you found the location of the hotel convenient.

We are indeed working on an upcoming renovation and the room decoration will be completely reviewed

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused to you by the reception and security staff. Your comments and opinion will certainly help us to improve our services and guest experience.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

i visit this hotel the last april 2014... they give to me one room in the floor n11 with very very low class with one view to the bolding back the hotel... after the staff in the reception they make them touch in my maenad (very low service like they work in one police station)... is the first and the last tame i bean in this hotels...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely regret your unfortunate experience with the reception staff . Our executive team is taking the necessary steps to prevent reoccurrence in the future.

We hope that you will not be deterred from returning as we would very much welcome you with better service and reserve for you a superior room with a nice city view.

Kindest regards

Sales Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I have been staying at Africa hotel for so many years with my family , to me it's not just a hotel it's my second home the hospitality that I receive from the staff is five star service .
They are very friendly excellent food , location , safety and view looking as far as the see .
Nice bar cafe inside and out side of the hotel .
Excellent for families because they can provide you with connect rooms .

Room Tip: If you just a couple than take rooms at the 22 floor With a family take the executive in the 3rd o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your enthusiastic comment on Tripadvisor and for sharing your impressions with us.

It is a great pleasure to recieve such a wonderful return on the service and on the team.

We hope to have much more occasions to welcome you back and to make all your satys enjoyable.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Hotel

Address: 50 Av Habib Bourguiba BP 73, Tunis 1001, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Africa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Africa Tunis
Africa Hotel Tunis, Tunisia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Africa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.