We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single women, beware!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Diplomat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Diplomat to your Saves list
Le Diplomat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 AvenueHedi Chaker, Tunis 1002, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 48 Hotels in Tunis
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Single women, beware!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

I came to Tunis for work, and spent my first night in Tunisia at this hotel. It was memorable, mostly for the wrong reasons. In fact, it was crazy as hell.

While the hotel was clean, there were some problems with electricity and with the plumbing. I had to change rooms because the toilet was not working. The cleaning staff left the toilet scrubber out in plain view, which was unpleasant.

The worst part of my stay was the extremely unprofessional and creepy male receptionist who apparently took a liking to me and continued to call my room and knock on my door until midnight to "check" on me and offer me cakes. He even knocked on the door to tell me that he would be sleeping across the hall from me in the room that I had vacated. Single women, beware of this place. The fact that he thought he could get away with this implies that he has done it before with impunity. Push a chair against your door and double lock it.

Never again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    22
    14
    5
See reviews for
10
16
16
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

attractuve lobby area and bedroom large and clean although it did smell of smoke.
walls paper thin but we had a god night's sleep.

breakfast was very poor - croissants, cereal or egg but this is standard in tunisia.
impressive bar area on the mezzanine but very smoky!

excellent free wifi.
we will return!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Very Run down hotel but clean. Also free and fast wifi. But entire hotel needs a lot of renovation and also to improve food. Ok place for a couple of nights if on business.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tunis hotels

N/A
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

The room is great. Marble floor, nice comfortable bed, and clean.
I will stay in that hotel again with my baby and my husband.
THE BREAKFAST IS INCLUDED IN THE PRICE but it is a very poor, cheap boring breakfast. I paid $633 for 2,5 weeks for 2 people regular room.
Watch out for the young arab (35/ 40 year old) who is viciously hitting on woman.
I will not want him to accompany me to my room.
Watch out if you have a baby and are staying in Tunisia because they will rob your baby. It happend to one woman. DO NOT TRUST ANY ONE WITH YOUR BABY OR KIDS.

oUR ROOM was on the street side at RAMADAN times. Not very noisy at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

I thought this hotel would be rather good as it had no terrible ratings well I was wrong the staff were really not nice they were really nasty to our younger members of the family they actually swore at her because she took more then 1 plate one was for the bones from the meal The toilets were leaking onto the floor it was very dusty not good for people with asthma i tried to charge my phone and the whole socket fell out, the lights went on and off the shower also gave out brown water for the first 15 mins I wish to never go back worst place ever needs to be refurbished. Then agin the area was really colourful. not that far from medina.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

I stayed in this hotel just for 1 night, included in a package that contained a circuit to the south of Tunisia and a beach stay in Yasmine Hammamet. I consider it a good hotel for 1 night before starting a circuit through Tunisia. In a leisure trip I don't see the reason why you should stay more than 1 night in Tunis. Diogo Costa - Portugal

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

i will stay at this hotel and i will recomend it to my freinds and family the only thing is quite far from the city center the services was very good

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Diplomat

Address: 44 AvenueHedi Chaker, Tunis 1002, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Diplomat 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Diplomat Hotel Tunis
Le Diplomat Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Diplomat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.