We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed was very dirty...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Tulip El Mechtel to your Saves list
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   BP 3 Avenue Ouled Haffouz | El Omrane, Tunis 1005, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Tunis
İstanbul
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bed was very dirty...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Bed was very dirty also around. Be ready for checkout before one hour because only one person work for check out. If you like adventure, of course, you can stay at this hotel. Breakfast not bad not good...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian Q, Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments and remarks about your last stay at the Golden Tulip el Mechtel Tunis.

With regards to your remarks on the room cleanliness and the slow check out, please be assured that we may resolve any carelessness and failures.

We look forward to seeing you again at your Golden Tulip El Mechtel on your next visit to Tunisia

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    49
    25
    23
See reviews for
11
10
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The first time I was there: one week after the revolution. Wao great experience nice staff, great stay !

Since then I went there twice a year and every time could see how it is continuously loosing ground.

In the meantime there are dozens of better hotels in Tunis.

Would need a complete renovation and another revolution to realize that their past is gone . Obviously the troubles in Libya brought easy money ...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian Q, Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your last stay at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis

We regret learning that we unfortunately could not meet your expectations with regards to your remarks on the evoked services, please be assured that we truly take your comments seriously and share them with our associates and we thank you again for your constructive comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

We look forward to seeing you again at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel on your next visit to Tunisia.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tunis hotels

Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel used to be much better. My last stay was somehow terrible. The rooms were not very clean. I had issues with internet and the staff is surely less friendly compared to couple of years ago. Serious concerns about a hotel managed by an international chain

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here for one night as a group of 7.

The exterior of the hotel is pretty impressive, and sticks out like a sore thumb compared to the other buildings around the area. Once inside it was a slightly different story though.

My room, bathroom, the reception, restaurant, bar, communal areas and gardens were all a bit of a swing and a miss (not to mention incredibly dated) - and is why I feel a little bad about writing this review as you can tell the staff are trying, they're just misguided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had stayed in the other Golden Tulip which was good but far from downtown. This branch has the same standards and is central. The price is really competitive and the hotel is nice. Breakfast and WiFi included in the cost of the room. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. I recommend this hotel. Only problem, the open-air swimming pool was closed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian Q, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Sir,

We sincerely would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your stay at the Golden Tulip el Mechtel Tunis.

We are highly delighted to read all the positive comments you mentioned, and please be assured that we truly take your remark regarding the Swimming pool seriously, so we will certainly share your points with the respective team members.

We look forward to seeing you again at your Golden Tulip El Mechtel on your next visit to Tunisia

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was invited to this hotel for a conference. Not to mention the bad service, I arrived back home with a stolen valuable item in my luggage. when I called the management, this took few weeks and emails for the them to conclude that they are not able to elucidate what happened- staff said they did not steel it- and they can not compensate me as this would require... a letter from the police. conclusion: Simply avoid it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian Q, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments ;

We are very sorry for your loss (Chanel 5 as in your email I believe). We done everything we could to retrieve you good , but considering you contacted us only 3 days after check out and traveling back to England, it was not possible to find it or any clue that it was lost in our property.

In the other hand, according to the regulation, a complaint is receivable by our insurance only after a formal complaint have been made to the police station.

Again sorry for any inconvenience and we look forward to seeing you again at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel on your next visit to Tunisia ,

The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I think I was in one of the not-full-updated rooms, but it was still quite roomy and perfectly clean. As with all of Tunis, the concept of non-smoking areas is a bit fuzzier than you might be used to. The breakfast options were great, if a bit chaotic at times, and the Lebanese food at the Afandi restaurant in the hotel grounds is quite good.

Very nicely done outdoors and lobby areas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip El Mechtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Address: BP 3 Avenue Ouled Haffouz | El Omrane, Tunis 1005, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip El Mechtel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip proudly opens its new doors in previous Hotel El Mechtel.Situated on the perimeter of the Belvedere Park, Hotel El Mechtel, now under the management of the Golden Tulip chain, combines the ideal world of both business and relaxation. Having gone under extreme renovation of it's rooms, reception and conference facilities, with a focus on service upgrade, the Golden Tulip El Mechtel is now prepared to welcome international and local guests, while still offering international service standards. Relax and recline in the luscious greenery that surrounds this pacifying hotel, where service is ready at the ring of a bell.Please let us know your feedbackPaul Z. DiabGeneral Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip El Mechtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel El Mechtel
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip El Mechtel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.