We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night stay in the junior suite africa hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Tunis

Medina of Tunis
Tunis, Tunisia
70 69 81 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 Attractions in Tunis
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Flea/ Street Markets, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city’s old quarter hearkens back to the opulence once prevalent from the 12th to the 16th century.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4 night stay in the junior suite africa hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

morocco is much better..and tunisian merchants are not friendly at all they have no idea what customer service is and only want to grab your money, even as they do that they dont thank you. i will never go back to tunisia

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    264
    142
    42
    28
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love the Medina of Tunis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I live in Tunis and visit the Medina two or three times a month. I Love the shops and love the crowds. The Medina is not just for tourists; many Tunisians shop in the Medina and the neighborhoods around the Medina where clothing and household goods are inexpensive. I love the carpet and jewelry shops, and I visit a couple of antique shops though I don't know anything about local antiques. I found two jewelry shops where I can usually find silver bracelets and earrings. You have to be ready to bargain in the Medina. Don't pay the first price. Most vendors have enough words in several languages to bargain, but I do think that the higher the quality of the item the less discount you should expect. You could bargain harder for a newly made carpet than an antique silver or gold bracelet. Everyone is just trying to make a living and the economy of Tunisia has been hit hard. So, give the vendors a break. If you see something you love and the price is reasonable, buy it. I met someone once who would buy something and then ask the next shop owner if the price was good! Let it be.
Take home something useful and fun and beautiful.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Typical tourist medina”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The vendors are very aggressive and seem to all sell the same merchandise. One member of our party had her necklace literally ripped off her neck in the medina by a young man.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Love talking to the shopkeepers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Tunis Medina souk is definitely a place to spend some time. Although I have been there a few times on other trips, this morning I went with a friend just to wander and 'get lost' on purpose. As we wandered off of the main path, a few shop keepers gently told us that we were going the 'wrong direction', but did not bother us as we thanked them for the information and kept going.

It was a delightful morning of discovering more of the historic doors of Tunis.

As we wandered through the market, a few shop keepers took time to talk with us (even when we said we weren't buying) and had lots to say about the revolution. They are excited and hopeful for the future of Tunisia and want to see people come back as tourists and as investors.

My experience in the souk was that shop keepers were friendly and fine with a conversation that ended with 'Perhaps another time' or 'Maybe tomorrow'. Overall - one of my favourite markets that I have been to in the world.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but not my favorite middle east medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is HUGE. I was traveling alone though, and the hassle factor was really low compared to what I have encountered elsewhere. Shopkeepers were friendly, and were fun to haggle with. Get a good map (I think my lonely planet was pretty good) as easy to get lost! I think it would be a mistake to skip this if you are in Tunis.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Tunis also viewed

Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 

Been to Medina of Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina of Tunis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.