We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A descent hotel in the heart of Tunis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Hotel Tunis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Hotel Tunis to your Saves list
Carlton Hotel Tunis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Av Habib Bourguiba, Tunis 1000, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Tunis
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A descent hotel in the heart of Tunis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel offers quite a lot for its reasonable price. The location is perfect facing the main street and the Medina as well as other attractions, including cafes and restaurants, are easily accessible by foot. The breakfast was pretty nice with abundant choices. Rooms were well-maintained and clean and comfortable,
Of course, there are drawbacks such as the lack of amenity such as bathrobes etc and the property seemed a little bit old. Well, but if you are looking for luxury you could just stay in the Africa Hotel just across the street. For a middle of a road individual traveler like me, the hotel offered quite a lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    130
    72
    24
    13
See reviews for
24
60
90
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed two nights there immediately as we arrived to Tunis. In comparison with Tunisian standards the Carlton look very good. It is very clean and all is working in rooms. Location is very central and only 5 minutes walking from Medina and 15 driving from airport. (For first travelers to Tunisia: daytime the usual price to/from airport is 5-7 dinars, nighttime around 10 dinars.) Our room was well furnished and tried to look alike European standards but doesn’t. The differences are about small, trivia things: missing phone number list on phone, less connectors as necessary, lurching shelves, etc. Staff is so helpful and friendly and they are speaking English – isn’t so common in Tunisia. I was very satisfied about hotel Hotel Carlton only one ting disappointed me: the price. Due European standards I feel it very overpriced.
Finally I recommend warm full this hotel for everybody.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night. It's right in the city centre which is about 15 to 20 min from the airport. Check in was smooth and staff very helpful. Breakfast was very basic and wifi was very slow. I also booked a taxi back from the hotel to the airport which cost around €10. I rated this hotel average as there is room for improvement. My room was was recently refurbished but some parts of the hotel still need refurbishment. Overall this hotel is good when you consider the location and the cleanliness

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After recent experience of staying in El Hana International earlier inthis trip, I decided to stay at Carlton instead, AGAIN ! I am glad I did. Hotel retains all the good features mentioned before, but renovation seems to be nearing completion & more renovated rooms now available and less noise. But big improvement in WIFI connection, excellent & speedy. Yes, if you need good centrally located hotel at reasonable rates, Carlton is good choice.

Room Tip: ASK for renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlt0n_management, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Tunis, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear SureshG1

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your impressions after your stay with us. We are happy that you mentioned our new high bandwidth wifi! We are still working on new improvements on our customers journey in Tunis, I hope you will have a chance to come back and enjoy them.

Again thank you for your kind words we appreciate.

Carlton Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangere Bridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Carlton is a heritage hotel from the early French colonial days. The rooms are superb, spacious, simply furnished with a Scandinavian influence, excellent bed, spacious well equipped shower and wide corridors.
Wi fi was OK for most of the week we were there but for one outage. Likewise the lift was OK except for one day but there was an alternative lift available. Breakfast was the only meal offered but it met all requirements. This is a 3 star hotel so we didn't expect a fitness centre nor room service which may or may not have been available. The central position and modest price made this an excellent choice for us. In relation to the rest of the hotel the lobby was was quite small.

Room Tip: If you want an interesting view go for a room facing Ave Bourgiba. There may be some street noise. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed two nights in this hotel last September.

I got one of the new rooms. It was clean, with just enough space. The bathroom was all new and good.

The window opened on an alley. The quietness made up for the lack of view.

The bed was comfortable. On my first day, some tools noise started at 9 am. That is not too early for many, but I was tired and planned on sleeping late.

The service was great. I had some drinks brought to my room, that spared me the quest for a shop at a late hour.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Excellent location on the main street of Tunis. Hotel is right across the street from Hotel Africia and half the price. Same quality of accommodations without the visible security and blaring jazz music. Breakfast was far more basic but excellent selection of cereals, yogurt, boiled eggs, breads, sweet breads and such.

Staff were kind and excellent and did lots of little extras like call to confirm flights, recommend restaurants, arrange for airport transfer.

The only downside was that the internet was down during my stay, then internet can be down at times anywhere.

Room Tip: Rooms on back of the hotel would like be much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlt0n_management, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Tunis, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for your review. We apologize for the internet problem. It happened during the weekend, and it took us several hours to get it back. We have just switched to a much higher bandwidth (20Mb), I wish you will enjoy it flawlessly on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Hotel Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Tunis

Address: 31 Av Habib Bourguiba, Tunis 1000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel Tunis 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Tunis: In the center of the Tunis city center! Perfectly located on the main street of Tunis city center, Avenue Habib Bourguiba, the Carlton Hotel offers its guests a totally renovated setting close to all destinations. On foot, by car or in public transportation, the majority of business or leisure destinations are just 5 to 20 minutes away from the Carlton including The Tunis-Carthage International Airport, the médina of Tunis and the Harbor of Tunis-La Goulette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carlton Hotel Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunis Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Tunis Tunisia, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Hotel Tunis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.