We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de France

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tunis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel de France
Save
You added Grand Hotel de France to your Saves list
8, Rue Mustapha M'Barek, Tunis 1000 , Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Tunis
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quirky but charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This lovely old hotel in a narrow street was one of the hits of our travels in Tunisia. The staff are friendly but as another reviewer has said, a little French goes a long way. Having said that, when I rang to check they had rooms, the receptionist's English was very good. They don't take online bookings and aren't even that keen on taking phone bookings, just said "call back when you are closer to Tunis". But it worked out fine and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel has an old colonial charm, with a lovely central courtyard garden. Our rooms had balconies overlooking the garden and were spotlessly clean. The croissants and coffee at breakfast were amazing. There was free wifi and reception can explain to you where the laundromat is. It is near the bazaar and other attractions. I would feel comfortable staying here as a solo woman traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
22
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a charming, friendly hotel in the centre of Tunis. The staff are friendly and helpful (a little French goes a long way!) Our room was clean and tidy. The room was serviced every day and we were provided with clean towels everyday. Breakfast was tea, coffee or hot chocolate served with 2 lovely fresh croissants each - some with chocolate or almond paste! Yum yum. Quite adequate to set you up for the morning. The hotel is situated in a prime location for exploring the souks, medina and fresh food market; all literally on your doorstep. Definitely good value for money. I highly recommend if you are on a budget and want to feel a part of Tunis. If you prefer 5 star luxury, this is probably not for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as it will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself has a beautiful, old French architecture which made it quite charming. Everything was clean and well kept. With the low price, this was one of the best bargains I've received on a hotel. I stayed 3 nights and I really enjoyed my stay. The only negative I had with this hotel is the size of the shower. The shower was very small and difficult to move around in. But this was not bad enough to deter me from staying there in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I loved getting my morning coffee as I would be served by the delightful charming man asking if I wanted a croissant or bread, The service at the front desk is first rate. All the other comments are true. It is nice to have access to free WiFi. The Wifi is sometimes a bit spotty, but it is good enough to check emails and do basic research. It has a great location. It is close enough to the tram station, the souk and the large avenue.

Room Tip: The inside rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Looking for a great value budget place to stay in Tunis? This may not be the super cheapest but well worth the price, the standards well above those of the youth hostel (Auberge de Jeunesse) which is also in a slightly dodgy place within the medina. This was obviously once a very grand hotel, it's charm remains, full of pretty tiled walls, high ceilings, pillars & 40's furniture. We paid 53 Dinar, approx 32 Euros for a double room with bathroom attached and aircon (necessary in August) & little balcony facing the inner, open, peaceful leafy courtyard (where breakfast is served). Breakfast inc. in price, fresh bread (not always the case in Tunisia, even at pricier places) & the best coffee ever. The hotel is safe, extremely clean, towels included, free wifi, computers available in lobby, lovely friendly staff. A couple speak a few words of English but they're used to foreigner's bad French). It's down a little street just off Place de la Victoire (local taxi drivers know it as 'Bab Bhar'), don't get in a taxi until it's clear they will use the meter, should cost about 5 -7 Dinar from the airport during daytime hours. Very safe for single women!!, no annoying tiresome wannabe gigolos hanging around which is very refreshing! excellent location, right next to the medina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a little balcony overlooking the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I paid 37 dinar (about 24 USD) for a single with breakfast - if you want a clean, simple, place in tunis (with pretty good wifi for free in the lobby), in a fantastic location right by the souq, you can't beat the Grand Hotel de France. You will likely need to call to make a reservation, and I don't think they have a website.
The folks that work there spoke a little English, but all were extremely friendly. Also, they had the best coffee I had my entire time in Tunisia. I can see why this is Lonely Planet's pick for best budget hotel in Tunis.
Also, I felt perfectly comfortable as a woman traveling alone. I would recommend taking ear plugs just in case you are near a snorer..the walls are thin but it got very quiet around 11pm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hotel de France for a few weeks while I worked in Tunis. Great hotel with character. I think you cannot find a hotel anywhere in Tunis that is such a good value. I stayed in a single room without a toilet/shower that overlooked the hotel courtyard for 25 dinars per night. Breakfast is included in the price.

The room was always spotless and staff cleaned it every day. The location is great: you'll be a minute walk from the medina and just a few minutes from Avenue Bourguiba. There are two big grocery stores within 2-3 minutes of the hotel on foot. Also, the central food market is just around the corner. It bears mentioning, though, that the streets near the hotel are not very charming at night (though they are safe). There is a small cafe in the hotel. They don't stock much in the way of food, but you can get coffee, tea, water, or juice.

There is free wifi in the lobby and courtyard. As for the courtyard - it's pretty sizable, has a few trees in it and also an old printing press. It's a great place to relax. If you don't bring your own laptop with you, you can pay a few dinars to get online using one of the hotel's two computers.

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

You might try asking for a room that overlooks the courtyard. Some of them have balconies.

Great hotel. I highly recommend it if you're looking for a great value hotel in downtown Tunis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de France

Address: 8, Rue Mustapha M'Barek, Tunis 1000 , Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Tunis
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel De France Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.