We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de France

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tunis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel de France
8, Rue Mustapha M'Barek, Tunis 1000 , Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 54 hotels in Tunis
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Looking for a great value budget place to stay in Tunis? This may not be the super cheapest but well worth the price, the standards well above those of the youth hostel (Auberge de Jeunesse) which is also in a slightly dodgy place within the medina. This was obviously once a very grand hotel, it's charm remains, full of pretty tiled walls, high ceilings, pillars & 40's furniture. We paid 53 Dinar, approx 32 Euros for a double room with bathroom attached and aircon (necessary in August) & little balcony facing the inner, open, peaceful leafy courtyard (where breakfast is served). Breakfast inc. in price, fresh bread (not always the case in Tunisia, even at pricier places) & the best coffee ever. The hotel is safe, extremely clean, towels included, free wifi, computers available in lobby, lovely friendly staff. A couple speak a few words of English but they're used to foreigner's bad French). It's down a little street just off Place de la Victoire (local taxi drivers know it as 'Bab Bhar'), don't get in a taxi until it's clear they will use the meter, should cost about 5 -7 Dinar from the airport during daytime hours. Very safe for single women!!, no annoying tiresome wannabe gigolos hanging around which is very refreshing! excellent location, right next to the medina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a little balcony overlooking the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    21
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
18
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I paid 37 dinar (about 24 USD) for a single with breakfast - if you want a clean, simple, place in tunis (with pretty good wifi for free in the lobby), in a fantastic location right by the souq, you can't beat the Grand Hotel de France. You will likely need to call to make a reservation, and I don't think they have a website.
The folks that work there spoke a little English, but all were extremely friendly. Also, they had the best coffee I had my entire time in Tunisia. I can see why this is Lonely Planet's pick for best budget hotel in Tunis.
Also, I felt perfectly comfortable as a woman traveling alone. I would recommend taking ear plugs just in case you are near a snorer..the walls are thin but it got very quiet around 11pm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Hotel de France for a few weeks while I worked in Tunis. Great hotel with character. I think you cannot find a hotel anywhere in Tunis that is such a good value. I stayed in a single room without a toilet/shower that overlooked the hotel courtyard for 25 dinars per night. Breakfast is included in the price.

The room was always spotless and staff cleaned it every day. The location is great: you'll be a minute walk from the medina and just a few minutes from Avenue Bourguiba. There are two big grocery stores within 2-3 minutes of the hotel on foot. Also, the central food market is just around the corner. It bears mentioning, though, that the streets near the hotel are not very charming at night (though they are safe). There is a small cafe in the hotel. They don't stock much in the way of food, but you can get coffee, tea, water, or juice.

There is free wifi in the lobby and courtyard. As for the courtyard - it's pretty sizable, has a few trees in it and also an old printing press. It's a great place to relax. If you don't bring your own laptop with you, you can pay a few dinars to get online using one of the hotel's two computers.

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

You might try asking for a room that overlooks the courtyard. Some of them have balconies.

Great hotel. I highly recommend it if you're looking for a great value hotel in downtown Tunis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

A little difficult to find when the taxi driver lets you off several blocks away in the middle of Avenue Habib Bourguiba. But with the help of friendly locals and an excellent Lonely Planet map, I found it OK on foot. (Not happy with the taxi driver, though, whose meter registered 37 dinar for what I found out later was a 4-dinar ride and that one normally pays 10 to 15 dinar for.) I got a very nice double room with ensuite bath, facing a charming courtyard with doors that opened onto a small balcony. No staff member I found spoke English, so I got along with my really elemenary French. They were all very nice and helpful. I especially liked the gentlemen who served breakfast to a large group every morning in the dining room just off the lobby. The location puts you about three minutes from the medina, three minutes from the public market, maybe a 10-minute walk to the train station, same to the post office, same to the major sidewalk restaurants and cafes on Habib Bourguiba. It's a 20-min. brisk walk or a short taxi ride to the other end of Bourguiba, where you get the commuter train to Carthage and other points east.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever the road goes...
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Excellent value for money, and a good location - but also plenty of atmosphere and charm. The streets immediately around the hotel might be a bit scruffy and grubby, but you are literally a minute away from Ave Bourguiba, the main entrance to the Medina and the main central food market. It's difficult to think how it could be better placed.

The staff were wonderful - helpful and friendly at all times. We had a courtyard view room, so no road noise - but some noise from the corridors and other rooms.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing. Definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

this hotel has great location by the medina and the main avenue of the ville nouvelle. our room and bathroom were clean and had an old charm. breakfast was tasty and all the staff very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Courtyard & friendly staff give bonus points. You can walk to Medina, train station, plenty of shops around close to eateries. When i visited Tunis, there were few riots/curfew et al. I felt very safe & comfortable in staying there. Breakfast could have been better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de France

Address: 8, Rue Mustapha M'Barek, Tunis 1000 , Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 hotels in Tunis
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel De France Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel de France to your Saves list