We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel le Consul

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tunis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel le Consul
Save
You added Hotel le Consul to your Saves list
84 rue de Palestine, Tunis 1002, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Tunis
Tripoli, Libya
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is a pleasant, small hotel, mainly frequented by business travellers. The staff are helpful and friendly, rooms are nothing spectacular but they are clean and functional. I used the small gym every evening and never had to share the facilities, which is lucky as there are only four machines.

After my first night I asked to change rooms, as the air con was pumping in what smelt like second-hand smoke. This was no trouble at all, and the reception staff organised it immediately. Only complaint is the thin walls, meaning you can hear your neighbours and those above you.

Breakfast is basic but does the job; the restaurant is good if you don’t have the energy to wander far.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the first floor you can still access the lobby’s wi-fi. Otherwise the internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
12
23
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Small business hotel. Very unfussy hotel. Clean and presentably furnushed Reasonably efficient staff. Clientele mainly male business travelers. Serviceable mini gym and ok restaurant. Don't lose your key card!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

First I need to mention that this is not a 4-star hotel although they claim so; 3-stars would be appropriate. Second, the service in the hotel, whether reception, check-in, luggage, or restaurant needs significant improvement. Housekeeping deserves a big compliment though and 5 stars! Generally, staff are lazy and slow, and guests are more of a nuisance than revenue bringing customers. The bathrooms are very nice, but the rooms are at a 3-star level and do not even have a safe. The so-called "restaurant" is a total disgrace both in terms of comfort and service, and breakfast is awful.
Overall, if you are on a business trip, do not have breakfast and only need a good place to sleep, then this hotel will be fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

I visited Tunis for a four day stay after 6 weeks on the road travelling through parts of Europe and North Africa. Based on Trip Advisor reviews I booked Hotel le Consul and this turned out to be a great hotel experience and a real haven for those four days. My room was spotlessly clean, comfortable, very quiet and a good size. The bathroom was well set out with wonderful shower with instant hot, hot water. The staff were all very friendly and responsive, particularly the Directeur, Monsieur Kefi. He was there most mornings to greet me for breakfast and welcome me back after my daily excursions. I felt there was nothing he would not be able to arrange if I needed it, very comforting for a female solo traveller.

Transfers to and from the hotel went as planned and M. Kefi was even able to arrange drivers for day tours to Sid Bu Said, Carthage, the Bardo museum, Dougga and the Tunis Medina. The drivers were very courteous and the prices extremely reasonable. I experienced no hassles at all in Tunis apart from the usual hard sell from vendors in the Medina which is common in all medinas.

There is free wifi in the restaurant and reception area and free wired Internet in the room.

The restaurant was excellent. All meals were of a high standard with fresh, homemade ingredients, mostly French style although some lovely local dishes too and indeed much better than a certain 5 star restaurant in Luxor Egypt which I'll be reviewing shortly. Even the wine was good. Breakfast was also good but a little more variety in the hot dishes over the four days would have been appreciated although what was provided was delicious.

Overall I was very impressed with the room, service, food and value and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Hotel le Consul provided much of what I needed during my stay in Tunis. The hotel has recently been refurbished, and the result is a clean, modern hotel with good service. The hotel restaurant also provides good food during dinner and better than average breakfast, which was free for my stay. The room I had was quiet and with tasteful decor and comfortable furniture and layout. Even the internet connection was good. The location of the hotel is not ideal for tourists looking to save money by walking. Taxis are probably the most convenient way to get to and from the hotel if visiting the sites of Tunis. That being said, Hotel le Consul seems like it would be a very good hotel for business travelers (my visit was for recreation).

The overwhelming majority of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only exception was the "gentleman" working the desk when I first arrived to check-in. Attitude made it seem that he was very annoyed that I chose to stay there. His attitude may have been related to the fact that arrived at the hotel directly after an excursion to some the ancient sites in the interior of Tunisia. I was a little dirty in my trekking shoes, excursion clothing, and large backpack in tow. I'm sure I did not match the clientele the hotel is trying to attract :o) But I guess I cleaned up well..I had a good experience from the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: Don't arrive at the hotel sweaty and dirty after an excursion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Stayed here on business for a week in Sept 2011. Hotel doesn't have great kerb-side appeal, however the interior is much better. Rooms are clean and service throughout the hotel is good. Hotel is conveniently located, however I did find a few taxi drivers who did not where it was located when I tried to return here after a day out. Overall a good clean hotel, probably around 3* in Europe equivalent, great service inside and a good location for Tunis.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel le Consul for business with a large group and the hotel was very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are clean and the service was good. The location was fine for this trip, though you must take a taxi to the Souk or La Borgita. Most of the taxi drivers did not know the hotel, so if you don't speak Arabic (some of our drivers didn't speak French) it's a good idea of keep the card with hotel contact information with you. Overall we were very happy with le Consul and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel le Consul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Consul

Address: 84 rue de Palestine, Tunis 1002, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tunis
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown business hotel, 43 rooms, 1 suite, free internet connection in all rooms, 1 conference room, 1 fitness centre, 1 restaurant, 1 private parking. 10mn from the airport, 20mn from Carthage and Sidi Bou Said. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Consul Hotel
Hotel Le Consul Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel le Consul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.