We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ksar Djerid

Save Saved
You added Ksar Djerid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ksar Djerid
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Av Aboulkacem Echebbi | Route de Nefta, Tozeur 02200, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Tozeur B&B and Inns
Tunis, Tunisia
2 reviews
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Near to the center of the town the hotel was well positioned, i like the service, the many things that we can do near to the hotel, but there wasn't enought choice of food.
the hotel is a little bit small

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    24
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
13
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We loved this hotel and its ambiance. The rooms were more than comfortable, the staff were welcoming, the pool was lovely and the bar was great for providing drinks around the pool, in the bar or in the restaurant.

The breakfast was a buffet, with all you can eat pastries, meats, cheeses and boiled eggs.

For those with cars, there is gated and guarded parking, for those without, there are frequent taxis on the road outside for less than a 1D into the centre of Tozeur/the medina/bus station. (note, at time of visiting there are no trains to or from Tozeur).

Room Tip: Poolside room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had booked it for 5 nights, because the reviews seemed pretty good and price was good (100 dt per night per room) but turned away at the entrance already as the whole place stank of old stuffy cigarette smoke. The location was also a disappointment, it is right next to the main road that goes through the town, nothing pretty around and no view to the oasis. Maybe if you arrive late in the evening and leave to the next place again early in the morning, it could be bearable for just one night, but I cannot recommend to plan to spend a holiday here. If you want to stay longer in the area, I recommend staying in Tamerza Palace.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The hotel is located on the outskirts of Tozeur, but is not far from the town center. There is a free private parking and a nice and clean swimming pool. The restaurant is good (dinner costs 20 dinars pp + drinks). Breakfast is extremely poor. Room is big, clean and comfortable. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Paul de Vence
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The first impression was welcoming as the hotel architecture is nice and typical, looking like a real ksar (fortified castle/village). The lobby overlooks an inner yard with a swimming pool surrounded by rooms like attached houses of the Berber villages.

We started asking ourselves questions when, after filling in the registration cards, the receptionist insisted to know whether or not we would have diner here. After a day of driving we decided to stay in. We inquired on terms to use the internet bar next to the reception to be told that it was disconnected for the time being. Thanks to the receptionist we were allowed to use the hotel computer behind his desk.

Our room was one of those opening on the swimming pool (a delightful refreshing dive after a day on the road in the desert). A correct room with a simple bathroom with some surprises : no thermostat for the air-con but a on/off switch, a tumbledown bed, snowy screen and inaudible sound on non-Arabic tv channels.

At diner we understood the receptionist's query: we were seven of us in a large dining-room. Menu was fixed: salad, 3 choices for the main course but only the grilled chicken recommended (the other two were a bony fish and a strongly discouraged liver), fruits or ice-cream. The food was rather good and we were quite happy to get a decent red wine. After all this was not too bad and it was part of the adventure. To be complete I would add that it was a real delight to have a drink at the pool after diner while the temperature was cooling down. Breakfast in the morning was frugal: coffee, a boiled egg, a juice (rather a syrup), some jam and bread.

Let's hope for the Ksar Jerid that the situation in Tunisia will clear up and that tourists will flock again to Tozeur, its surprising Medina and its palm grove. It can become again a very good hotel when it can afford to have enough personnel and to correct deficiencies.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I arrived very early in the morning from Tunis after an overnight train. The staff were great & although my checkin time wasn't for another 4 hours, the staff gave me a room which was extremely comfortable. The hotel has a great swimming pool & the staff are extremely friendly & helpful. The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the centre of town & this suited me perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

Excelent!!!
The interior yard and the pool is absolute gorgeous and beside this the service is excelent.The room is clean and confortable.
The food and the personell from the restaurant were outstanding.

  • Liked — the oasis atmosphere and the service
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ksar Djerid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ksar Djerid

Also Known As:
Ksar Djerid Tozeur
Address: Av Aboulkacem Echebbi | Route de Nefta, Tozeur 02200, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tozeur Governorate > Tozeur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tozeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ksar Djerid 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Ksar Djerid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ksar Djerid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.