We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balcony Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Tozeur

Save Saved
You added El Mouradi Tozeur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Mouradi Tozeur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique, Tozeur 2200, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Tozeur
North of Sydney
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Balcony Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Nice rooms, ours overlooked the pool and was sun filled and warm. Hotel is a reasonable standard and the food acceptable. Some good Tunisian style meals available. Some of the guests complained about the isolation of the hotel and the distance to town.
Tourist groups use this place and it can get busy at meal times.
Our room had a lovely balcony and it was good sleeping with the door open at night.

Room Tip: Try to get aroom with a balcony 1st or 2nd floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    55
    37
    15
    6
See reviews for
34
42
11
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A pleasant hotel, with large, light rooms and a good pool.

Good buffet dinner and breakfast

No water in the taps on arrival but this was quickly remedied.

A long way from town, making it more difficult to explore this interesting city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour. The hotel is in the tourist area of Tozeur and it’s a bit of a hike into the town itself, taxis are available.

Very large rooms. Tiled floors. The room looked good on the surface but little things hadn’t been attended to regarding maintenance & cleanliness. A bare screw projecting across the bathroom entry where once a doorstop had been fitted. The pillow was lumpy. Hairs on bedding. Floor had bits on. TV chunky and old looking but wasn’t tested. Fridge (mini bar?) not checked but could hear the fridge working. Used probably for transient clients hence short timescale for cleaners. They were still cleaning our room when we arrived. Bath with shower over. Lunch and breakfast buffet pretty good. Bar, two restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bizerte, Tunisia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Hotel is good, located in the touristic area of Tozeur, near to the center of the town and to the golf. It's a big, nice hotel, the room are clean, the service is good. In the restaurant there is a buffet with a quiet good variety of meals and where you can try also some tunisian specialities. It's a good accomadation if you want to visit the desert and oasis of Tunisia.
You have a beautiful view on the Golf directly from the swimmig pool or from the balconies of part of the romms.
You can manage directly with the hotel staff to organize visits to the wonderful mountain oasis around Tozeur like chebika and tamarza canyon or a SUV trip in the dunes near the decors of the movie "STAR WARS"
You can also visit the wonderful Chott el Jerid specially at sunset or sunrise where you can feel a unique experience of calm.
Near the hotel you can also try the Chakwak Park or Sahara Lounge int the Oasis.
Make sure to visit Tozeur in Spring or Autumn far from the hot summer and the tunisian school holidays.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was there by end of 2012.First what is impressive is the entrance to the hotel.The service was very ideal.Looking the ratio quality/price I recommend all travelers to visit this charming Hotel.
El Mouradi is located near the golf, the palm, the center of the city.This is a good location for exploring the Desert

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I went with our two small kids to this hotel to use it as a base to explore the South a bit. So we had altogether four nights at the hotel. It wasn't exactly high season, so it was a bit quiet, yet not as quiet as I had expected. Which is good! I also found the food surprisingly good. I generally don't have any great expectations when I check in at a place where dinner buffet is included, but as it turned out I found the food quite good, and the menu changed more or less every day - thus there was always something new to enjoy on the table...

Another thing I liked about the hotel was the staff. Generally I must say staff was very friendly and much more professional than I've seen in most other places in Tunis. Sole exception was ne of the guys in the bar - but one time dorsen't count I guess...

So to the downsides - well, although the place is not run down in any way, you can start to see that it probably has a good 15-20 years on its neck. It's also a fairly big hotel and doesn't have much of an ambiance. Our room was away from the pool area, and the view from there was really not much to write home about. TV set and variety of channels was passable, but not great. One thing I didn't appreciate was that it seems to have been many months since anyone took out the carpets on the balcony to give them a proper shake. I did it myself for in of them...

All in all, I would probably give the hotel a 3,5 if such a rating existed, but as it doesn't it's closer to 3 than to 4...

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is facing the pool. Although I didn't stay in any of them, I'd sugges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

OVERALL - 7/10

3 star Hotel

not bad at all. Stayed during the time of Tunisian revolution so many tourists were put off from visiting - so was able to get a good price - half board - I think around 34 Euro - £40 / $60 night.
Good sized room, view and very good value buffet dinner.
I did have a run in with one of the barman one evening - staff can be a bit moody - reminded me of Soviet style hotels
Popular with tour groups
70's Style

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Mouradi Tozeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Tozeur

Address: Zone Touristique, Tozeur 2200, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tozeur Governorate > Tozeur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tozeur
#2 Spa Hotel in Tozeur
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tozeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Tozeur 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Expedia, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your El Mouradi Tozeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mouradi Tozeur Hotel Tozeur
El Mouradi Hotel Tozeur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi Tozeur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.