We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but a long way out of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mouradi Tozeur

Save Saved
You added El Mouradi Tozeur to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Mouradi Tozeur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone Touristique, Tozeur 2200, Tunisia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Tozeur
Hampshire
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but a long way out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

A pleasant hotel, with large, light rooms and a good pool.

Good buffet dinner and breakfast

No water in the taps on arrival but this was quickly remedied.

A long way from town, making it more difficult to explore this interesting city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    48
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
25
35
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South East England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a tour. The hotel is in the tourist area of Tozeur and it’s a bit of a hike into the town itself, taxis are available.

Very large rooms. Tiled floors. The room looked good on the surface but little things hadn’t been attended to regarding maintenance & cleanliness. A bare screw projecting across the bathroom entry where once a doorstop had been fitted. The pillow was lumpy. Hairs on bedding. Floor had bits on. TV chunky and old looking but wasn’t tested. Fridge (mini bar?) not checked but could hear the fridge working. Used probably for transient clients hence short timescale for cleaners. They were still cleaning our room when we arrived. Bath with shower over. Lunch and breakfast buffet pretty good. Bar, two restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bizerte, Tunisia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Hotel is good, located in the touristic area of Tozeur, near to the center of the town and to the golf. It's a big, nice hotel, the room are clean, the service is good. In the restaurant there is a buffet with a quiet good variety of meals and where you can try also some tunisian specialities. It's a good accomadation if you want to visit the desert and oasis of Tunisia.
You have a beautiful view on the Golf directly from the swimmig pool or from the balconies of part of the romms.
You can manage directly with the hotel staff to organize visits to the wonderful mountain oasis around Tozeur like chebika and tamarza canyon or a SUV trip in the dunes near the decors of the movie "STAR WARS"
You can also visit the wonderful Chott el Jerid specially at sunset or sunrise where you can feel a unique experience of calm.
Near the hotel you can also try the Chakwak Park or Sahara Lounge int the Oasis.
Make sure to visit Tozeur in Spring or Autumn far from the hot summer and the tunisian school holidays.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was there by end of 2012.First what is impressive is the entrance to the hotel.The service was very ideal.Looking the ratio quality/price I recommend all travelers to visit this charming Hotel.
El Mouradi is located near the golf, the palm, the center of the city.This is a good location for exploring the Desert

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I went with our two small kids to this hotel to use it as a base to explore the South a bit. So we had altogether four nights at the hotel. It wasn't exactly high season, so it was a bit quiet, yet not as quiet as I had expected. Which is good! I also found the food surprisingly good. I generally don't have any great expectations when I check in at a place where dinner buffet is included, but as it turned out I found the food quite good, and the menu changed more or less every day - thus there was always something new to enjoy on the table...

Another thing I liked about the hotel was the staff. Generally I must say staff was very friendly and much more professional than I've seen in most other places in Tunis. Sole exception was ne of the guys in the bar - but one time dorsen't count I guess...

So to the downsides - well, although the place is not run down in any way, you can start to see that it probably has a good 15-20 years on its neck. It's also a fairly big hotel and doesn't have much of an ambiance. Our room was away from the pool area, and the view from there was really not much to write home about. TV set and variety of channels was passable, but not great. One thing I didn't appreciate was that it seems to have been many months since anyone took out the carpets on the balcony to give them a proper shake. I did it myself for in of them...

All in all, I would probably give the hotel a 3,5 if such a rating existed, but as it doesn't it's closer to 3 than to 4...

Room Tip: Try to get a room that is facing the pool. Although I didn't stay in any of them, I'd sugges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

OVERALL - 7/10

3 star Hotel

not bad at all. Stayed during the time of Tunisian revolution so many tourists were put off from visiting - so was able to get a good price - half board - I think around 34 Euro - £40 / $60 night.
Good sized room, view and very good value buffet dinner.
I did have a run in with one of the barman one evening - staff can be a bit moody - reminded me of Soviet style hotels
Popular with tour groups
70's Style

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The Mouradi in Tozeur follows the format of Mouradis in other places in Tunisia - nice lobby prominent pool, serious pool bar service, dated design and furniture, confusing room numbering system, wifi for a fee, etc.

The layout of this mouradi is well-executed - the lobby leads outside to staircases that lead down to the pool. But they advertised a fitness center when in fact, they only had a spa. As with the Douz Mouradi, the hotel caters to the one-night safari crowd which explains why the fridge is locked out. And why their breakfast opens at 4 am, because this crowd leaves the hotel very early.

The rooms have balconies which is nice and the hotel is environment-friendly since the corridors lights are motion-sensitive so they only turn on when there are people. And the room AC turns off when you open the balcony. Nice touch.

They offer free breakfast and dinner buffets - quite serviceable with decent variety but mostly forgettable. The wine list - all Tunisian varieties - are all reasonably priced. Again, the headwaiters look too burly and unrefined - more like bouncers than maitre'd. The toilets are spacious and the TV has two English channels - yehey - amid the copious french fare. As in all the Mouradis, they charge for wifi - and having stayed in other hotels in Djerba, they may be the exception here.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Mouradi Tozeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mouradi Tozeur

Also Known As:
El Mouradi Tozeur Hotel
El Mouradi Tozeur Hotel Tozeur
El Mouradi Hotel Tozeur
Address: Zone Touristique, Tozeur 2200, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tozeur Governorate > Tozeur
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 hotels in Tozeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — El Mouradi Tozeur 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your El Mouradi Tozeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mouradi Tozeur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.