We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great splurge on a long trip and some great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nungwi Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Zanzibar Archipelago
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nungwi Inn
Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 148 hotels in Zanzibar Archipelago
Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great splurge on a long trip and some great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I am surprised at the negative reviews of the Nungwi Inn. Maybe it was people on a short holiday and it wasn't what they had hoped. My wife and I stayed here after being on the road in Africa for about 7 months and it was a very welcomed break. The first place in months with air conditioning and it worked so well that it would get too cold. I thought the room was great. New mosquito netting over windows and a big bed with a mosquito net that was actually big enough for the bed, a rare thing in africa. The bathroom was spacious and there was usaully plenty of hot water. The power went out a few time but that's not their fault and at the $45 night we paid I can't expect them to have a generator as people would run the AC and that wouldn't go well. We were quoted $60 a night on arrival and we paid that for two nights in advance. When we decided we wanted to make this our long recovery break in a 10 month trip they agreed to $45 a night if we spent 10 nights, well we enjoyed it so much we ending up staying 12 nights. This was my third time to nungwi, first in 2000 I stayed at paradise bungalows which then was a great budget option but after the big fire that took out most of nungwi they rebuilt and it's not longer budget, amaan bungalows is a long standing tradition here but they are getting over priced for not being on the water nungwi inn is right on the main beach of nungwi the only place that is. Their restuarant however is THE best part of the place. We tried eating at a few other places like amaan a few time but they were more expensive and not as good. It's easy to see why so many people from the other hotels eat at nungwi inn. Sitting with your feet in the sand and eating a great meal, doesn't get much better. The menu was greatly varied lots of seafood dishes, lots of curries, burgers, great pizzas and the drinks were cheaper than the other options. There was a octopus in curry sauce dishe that was the best thing I ate on a month on zanzibar island and that is saying a lot as the food on zanzibar is of a very high standard. Being right on the main beach was great for many reasons, the touts can be overwhelming and are constantly looking to get something from you. The nungwi inn however has a security guard on the beach whose only job is to make sure they leave you the hell alone. The Nungwi area has changed so much over the past few years with many luxury places going in and nungwi inn is a great addition, would stay there for sure again. So relaxing!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    10
    4
    10
See reviews for
2
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

A freind and I arrived at this hotel, checked in and realised after an hour at the beach that we had not discussed price (a massive error on our part!) We approached the reception again, and were told that a night at the hotel would be DOUBLE the original price, that the tourist info office had quotedl!! They told us that we looked like we could afford it, despite that fact that we had been volunteers in Kenya, with no income for the previous 3 months! They were unwilling to bargain down, so unable to pay we decided to check out. We got ur luggage and returned the key to the reception on our departure. But the staff were furious and decided to follow us. The insisted that we pay $30 for leaving our bags in their room for an hour!! The tried to take our luggage and got their security man (who they said was the Police!) to escort back into the hotel. When we refused they assaulted us. Loacl tradesmen came to our assistance and told the two men and their security man to stop intimidating us. We were terrfied as we were both young females and the men were very forcefull. We would have left Nungwi only it was late evening. The locals escorted us to another hotel were we had an amazing time. They joked with us en route, of our misfortune being the entertainment at Nungwi Inn for the evening and that this hotel has an awful reputation of conning tourists. Go to Nungwi, but DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Bathroom was dirty and shower had almost no water pressure. (When you flushed the toilet, the shower stopped working entirely for 5 minutes.) Grimy and not well maintained. The restaurant serves excellent food, but it's painfully slow and the flies at the tables are unbearable. The location right on the beach is superb, but I think you can do better.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens gr
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

The rooms are basic, somehow clean but old...the breakfast basic (eggs, fruits and bread)...but the restaurant is the best in Nungwi

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at three places in Zanzibar and this was the most expensive one. It was also the one we were the least happy with.

We had a double room with sea-view, and the surroundings where really cute.
However, we where supposed to have AC and there was an AC in the room but it never worked during our stay. We were also told that we would have hot water but we did not. (Not that you really need it, but you don't want to pay for something you don't get). Sometimes we actually didn't have any water at all, but it was not for long. We were also told that the generator would run from 6pm until 6am, but it was less time than that.

The floor, toilet and beed sheets were clean. The towels were shabby and not really clean. The shelf in the bathroom was downright dirty with dead bugs and dust. It was not clean when we got there and it was not cleaned during our one week stay.

The staff did not feel very trustworthy and we had to hassle about the price and pickup time when we asked them to get us a taxi. They weren´t unfriendly, but they weren´t nice either. We also got the feeling that they were a bit annoyed with us when we spend a lot of time on other beaches and ate at other restaurants. But since there was no shade anywhere on our beach, we had to go elsewhere to find shade and sunbeds.

However, the safe-keeping of our valuables was good. We asked the management to store our money and passports in a safe, which they did. Everything was counted and written down before and after safekeeping.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

The worst hotel we have been to in Zanzibar.
The hotel is located near a beach, and this is the reason we chose it.
The room is small and the double bed is tiny. I am 185cm (6 feet), but the bed was too small for me.
The beach on which the hotel is located on is very disappointing. It is very small, and has no shade, nor beds.
The worst thing about the hotel was that some one entered our room and STOLE $150 dollars from our bag. The hotel has a safe at the reception, so we put most of our money there. But, we left $150 dollars in our room (we expected to go snorkling the next day). During the day, some one entered our room (someone who had a key) and stole the money.
The management at the hotel just claimed that they don't know anything about it.
We left the hotel after one night.
I personally recommend the Kendwa beach which is a 10 minutes ride from Nungwi. This beach is cleaner and has very good hotels which are cheaper and better equiped (a safe inside the room, for example).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

This hotel lies on a small strech of beach to the south of Nungwi - southern part of "South beach". There is not much to do there but lie and relax on the beach. There are no sunbeds or shade on the beach so do bring your own beachtowel and lots of sunscreen. Nearby there is some tour operators and a dive center so if you have had enough relaxation or too much sun you can book a tour with them.
The room we got was a pretty basic double room with private bathroom - a Gardenview with A/C. At 60$ per night it is one of the cheaper hotels in the area. The room was clean and had mosquitonet, a table with chair and a small veranda with a view of the next block. It was okay as we had planned on spending our time on the beach or on snorkeling tours. Mentioning views it looked to us like the so called seaview rooms had no/very little seaview as the Spanish Dancer dive center lay on the beach just in front of them.
One of the best things about this hotel is restaurant. Every morning we had our breakfast right on the beach and we had our dinner there every night of our stay. The fish dishes were very good and it wasn't too expensive to eat there. One night we ordered crab and got a very large plate of crabclaws for only 18.000 Tsh (about 15$). The restaurant staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nungwi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nungwi Inn

Address: Nungwi village beach | P.O.Box: 1496, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 148 hotels in Zanzibar Archipelago
Also Known As:
Nungwi Hotel Zanzibar Archipelago
Nungwi Inn Tanzania/Zanzibar Archipelago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nungwi Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nungwi Inn to your Saves list